We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rokeby”
Review of Rokeby Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rokeby Manor
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a wedding reception and later in the week a meal in the restaurant. Environment was warm, friendly, comfortable - just as well because there was a heavy snow fall! Food excellent and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. We didn't sleep there was we were staying elsewhere on the mountain. Convenient location for Mussoorie etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review and recommendation. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have appreciated and enjoyed themselves up here.
We look forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 350 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

What can I say! Rokeby Manor was truly exceptional. Congratulations to the entire staff for taking so much care of us. We (family of 12 with 4 kids less than 8 yrs) rented the Log Cabin at Rokeby. Awesome 3 bedroom bungalow plus the Rhododendron Suite. Rokeby Manor is in Landour (around 1000 feet higher than Mussourie) Landour is situated on a ridge so the views on both sides are amazing. On one side you see the town of Mussourie & the Dehradun Valley and on the other side the beautiful Himalayas. There are 2-3 amazing walks around the Hotel. Food was excellent. Special thanks to Monish & the ever helpful Rokeby staff for taking good care of us. To sum it up, our 4 days at Rokeby consisted of - Awesome Views, cozy rooms, friendly staff, guitars, music, great food, drinks, walks, treks, shopping, nice days, chilly nights, happy kids, happy parents, etc.

Room Tip: If you are a big family, the Log Cabin is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Cleanliness and hygiene of the hotel are top-class. It is located close to char dukan(very good street shops for food). There is a restaurant called emily's, which is very expensive but the food is good. There is also a parlour and a library in the hotel. There are jacuzzis in the hotel. Overall it was a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vatsaljain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Warm regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is well done. Decor & the charm of the place is great.
Awesome food, breakfast / Lunch & dinner.. Absolutely great.

Helpful staff, however I did not get the room I had asked for, made bookings more then 3 months ago, yet they gave it to someone else, apologized a lot, but that doesn't help.

Anyways since the place was beautiful , the surroundings are breath taking, I refuse to let that dampen our trip.

Room Tip: Book the rooms near the garden, I think it's called rustic : sunset room We stayed at the moonl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pals22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to apologize once again for not being able to give you the room of your choice. Being a small property with few rooms may sometimes lead to such a situation. We sincerely hope that this mishap will not prevent visiting us again.
Warm regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Rokby MANOR had a old Manor house charm to it ! as soon as you enter the property then the British colonial architecture comes to light !
The lobby has a wonderful caption of Ruskin Bond"s poetry written !
The Fireplace is warmly decored with Bright colored red couches for ideal honeymooners though our boys group also liked it !
As we climbed up the old chesnut wooden stairs to EMILY , we were greeted by a warm hospitable service !
Those who love books , can take the far end of the EMILY where there is a sofa cum book shelf !

Must visit , can text me for more inputs around Landour !
Dr.Banerjee
9718421088 !

Room Tip: Visit the property even if your not staying Take a European delicacy from the Resturant Good pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Dr. Banerjee,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

People have been visiting Mussoorie for decades, but I doubt if even half of them have experienced it the way we did, in Feb this year. Rokeby Manor is like a magical English mansion straight out of a fairytale. The stone walls of the manor, quaint tea garden, the exquisite view of the valleys and mountains, the food at Emily's, well planned and cozy rooms, all make up the charm of Rokeby. You may argue that you can get all that at any hotel in the world,... but what you cannot get anywhere else, are the Staff. They are the people who made this the most wonderful holiday ever!! Monish the Guest services Manager was a delight! Right from telling us exciting stories of the surroundings and history of Landour, to organizing day trips to nearby places, he went out of his way to make this trip awesome. Did i mention the food? it was mouthwatering! Try the Apple pie, the shepherds pie, spaghetti carbonara and their excellent hot chocolate. Breakfast is also a really good spread.
We stayed in the Rose Suite, which was beautiful and comfortable. There is a warm Den with a fireplace and boardgames just outside, where we could mingle with the other guests or just relax in the evening.
Rokeby is a little away from the Mall road, but the hotel has cars you can book to take you to and fro. Manjeet is an excellent driver. Walking around can be quite adventurous too, with all the monkeys and forests around.But its safe. City slickers, the walk around the mountain is longer than you are probably used to, so dont go in the evening. Forest+ darkness is not for the faint hearted, believe me.
Best Cinnamon waffles are to be had at Char Dukan - the first shop. Epic!

Final Word:
The prices are high but totally worth every penny. Great place for a romantic getaway (they have a jacuzzi folks! oh yeaah!!), holiday with a baby, or even with a big group of friends/family. Will definitely recommend it to all and hope to go back when its snowing next time. (Have you seen their facebook pics?? omg spectacular!)

Room Tip: The Rhodendron suite has a little private terrace which is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priyanka r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful and elaborate review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serve you again.
Best regards from the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Small but maintained heritage property with only 12 rooms ,for old world charm lovers.Food quality and taste exceptionally good. Room tariffs high according to the property. No parking available and there should be facilities for drivers as well at the prices charged.

Room Tip: Away from the main lobby avoid room no 1 as it's too close
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicky2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thanks, your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you with us again in the near future. Yes. sometimes parking is an issue because of space constraints, however, we do make arrangements for Driver accommodation at nearby locations and also allow them use of available staff facilities at the property.
Warm regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.0 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
670 reviews
3.3 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
2.9 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokeby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokeby Manor

Address: Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: $151 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rokeby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rokeby was built in 1840 by Captain G.N. Cauthy and is one of the landmarks of Landour. The house and two acre estate are situated slightly above and to the east of St. Paul's Church and the old cantonment parade ground, which is now Char Dukan. Like many houses in Mussoorie, its name is taken from the writings of Sir Walter Scott, whose book-length poem describes heroic battles near the original Rokeby Castle in England. Methodist missionaries continued to operate the property as a guest house throughout the rest of the 20th century. Today, Rokeby has been carefully restored to its original glory. This heritage building is resplendent with character in its elaborate brick arches and niches, intricate stone walls, real wood floors and beams, and cosy fireplaces. Nestled in the foothills of the Himalayas, the traditions of bygone years – where colonial officers, renegade soldiers of fortune and pious miss saibs lived under one roof – can still be felt. An air of mystery beckons visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rokeby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing