We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Place Warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rokeby Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rokeby Manor
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Dehradun
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool Place Warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Visited Rokeby Manor recently. The place has a typical 'old-world' charm.....the management has tried to re-create the British aura, what with its interiors as well as its exteriors....the tea garden, the living room, the open bonfireplace, etc. The restaurant is very good and food, snacks and coffee really good and well-priced. The Rooms are well appointed and done-up individually, instead of a 'mirror-image' decor most hotels have. However the room tariff is steep.........still a place worth visiting, especially for those who want to discover the 'real' Mussoorie that exists beyond the cacophony of its Mall Road!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DushyantGaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and it makes us proud to know that we have gained your admiration. It is our precious guests who truly pass on what Rokeby is all about from what they experience during their stay.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to host you again.
Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    77
    21
    1
    5
See reviews for
135
60
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me, my wife and kids had heard a lot of good things about this place, so we went there for dinner. I was surprised to see the finesse and standard of the whole property, right from the location, decor, courteous staff and that real home like feeling.
Zzzzzz Zzzzzz Zzzzzzz
Oh sorry I think I just dosed off n started dreaming of that cute little terrace where we had our one best meals. Food was of international standards and my compliments to the chef and the owners who managed to provide these recipes in so far fetched location, which many good restaurants in Delhi only dream of serving.
Well I was not able to get any reservations to stay so I wont be able to help you on that. But yes for sure its vintage and classy.

Room Tip: Check out pics on website to choose a room. All the rooms are unique in its own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumitBanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and meal and we look forward to accommodate you next time you visit us.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I highly recommend staying at Rokeby Manor. I traveled to Mussoorie to meet up with friends. The hotel itself is beautiful, staff is friendly, and it is outside the chaos of the city. I use a manual wheelchair and the first floor Rose Suite worked out well (though not perfect). There are 1 to 2 inch bumps into the front entrance, the front door must be held open (not pushed through), the bed is about 30" high, and the hill leading up to the entrance would be a bear for the strongest chair user. But this is India, so you can't expect ADA facilities. The restaurant, Emily's, is on the second floor, but they were willing to deliver to the garden or the room (I was also also carried up the stairs three times). The food is wonderful and very reasonably priced. The roads in the area are paved, so pushing in the area is do-able. But Mussoorie is called a "hill station" for a reason. Taking a taxi is a must to go into town. Overall, I highly recommend staying at Rokeby Manor. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay wonderful!

Room Tip: Rose Suite is fairly wheelchair accessible, although more expensive than the other rooms on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will work on making at least one room wheelchair friendly.
We hope to see yo again soon.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the cabin with family as part of a larger group attending a wedding in the Highlands. Rooms were large,clean and beautiful. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Emily's was a great place to eat and the wait staff were attentive. Had a great barbecue in the courtyard of the cabin one evening with about 25 of the wedding guests. Food was great and it was a great place to have a party. Wedding and reception were beautiful. Kudos to the garden staff for helping us transform the wedding area into a flower garden. Thanks to all of the staff for being so helpful, especially Santhomjy (hope I spelled his name correctly) and making our stay in the mountains a once in a lifetime experience!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We were delighted to have you all stay with us and we are so glad that the wedding went so well and everyone enjoyed the event. We assure you that it was our duty and aim to attend to everyone's needs and comfort.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our trip, attending our daughters graduation from the Woodstock school. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the quality is excellent and the restaurant is fantastic. The staff work hard and the location is stunning. The ONLY gripe is how loud it is. Our room is right off the lobby, and we hear everything. There is a sitting area with a tv in the lobby and it is so loud. We have earplugs but despite that I have repeatedly had to ask both the staff and other guests to be more considerate late at night as we are trying to sleep. Perhaps at a less busy time if year or a different room, but I would have trouble staying here again because of the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Congratulations to your daughter on her graduation!

We appreciate your review and comments. You stayed with us when the manor was completely full and it tends to get loud sometimes, although it sounds like it was much louder than usual from your description. We shall look into how we can control this aspect and make it less noisy.

Warm regards from all of us here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Fantastic aesthetics, felt as if I was in Europe. The trip to mussorie can't be complete without visiting Rokeby Manor. Must be the best hotel I visited in India, no useless extravangance... just perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
So glad you enjoyed Rokeby as much as we do. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for a day at Rokeby Manor. I can summarize my experience as follows:

Good Points:
1. Peaceful place with some great views of the valley below
2. The ambience was great and staff was helpful
3. The rooms were cozy
4. Breakfast was a feast. The person who served breakfast carried a smile all the time and that is always comforting for a tourist.

Improvements:
1. The rooms were a little stale
2. Price was higher than what I have seen in similar places around the world. We were planning to extend our trip but did not because of the price

Room Tip: We stayed in Rustic cabins. Room no. 8 was better than the one adjacent to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM - Rokeby M, General Manager at Rokeby Manor, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your honesty. In the future, we can always work out a more affordable deal for your stay.

Best wishes till we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
3.3 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
2.9 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#7 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rokeby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rokeby Manor

Property: Rokeby Manor
Address: Landour Cantonment, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rokeby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rokeby was built in 1840 by Captain G.N. Cauthy and is one of the landmarks of Landour. The house and two acre estate are situated slightly above and to the east of St. Paul's Church and the old cantonment parade ground, which is now Char Dukan. Like many houses in Mussoorie, its name is taken from the writings of Sir Walter Scott, whose book-length poem describes heroic battles near the original Rokeby Castle in England. Methodist missionaries continued to operate the property as a guest house throughout the rest of the 20th century. Today, Rokeby has been carefully restored to its original glory. This heritage building is resplendent with character in its elaborate brick arches and niches, intricate stone walls, real wood floors and beams, and cosy fireplaces. Nestled in the foothills of the Himalayas, the traditions of bygone years – where colonial officers, renegade soldiers of fortune and pious miss saibs lived under one roof – can still be felt. An air of mystery beckons visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rokeby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing