We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend Getaway!”
Review of La Villa Bethany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Villa Bethany
Ranked #1 of 98 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Perfect weekend getaway

My Husband and I visited La Villa Bethany last weekend and enjoyed the scenic drive to Landour (took just under 6 hours, having left early), little knowing that we were to discover the perfect weekend getaway. We travel extensively, however had run out of options for weekend drivable places around Delhi and were delighted with what we found in Landour.

La Villa Bethany is a home style resort, run beautifully by Suneeta and Amarjeet Kudle, in able assistance of their adorable 4 year old, Srushti, who played the role of the perfect hostess. The rooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable, overlooking the beautiful valley. We had a variety of cuisines, during our stay there – from a hearty full English breakfast, to Indian to Continental, Thai and Tibetan! Our sweet tooth was catered to by homemade Banana cake and delicious walnut brownies! It boasts to easy accessibility to Mussoorie…..but if sipping tea at leisure, heading for a walk on the many beautiful walking trails, breathing fresh mountain air is your scene, La Villa Bethany is the answer. For those who need to stay connected, the free wifi service was fantastic and I could have spent hours in the wonderfully stocked library, catering to everyone’s reading desires! The Family promotes local artisans and that was evident from the lovely quilts that adorned the beds, to the herbal supply of toiletries on display. They would be glad to direct you to the shops, should you wish to purchase these items for home, so make sure you get set for some exclusive shopping too!

There were lovely little touches all over that made our trip ever so much more special – the home made rhododendron welcome drink, de humidifier in the rooms, a car for the Mussoorie trip, brilliant conversation with Amarjeet, Suneeta and child prodigy, Srushti and the helpful team members....

The perfect place for team bonding activities as well as for Family Members to spend quality time away from the chaos to city life, La Villa Bethany has made a permanent entry into our holiday getaway list!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharma21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillabethany, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you so much for your lovely review and rest assured that it has spurred us to make your next stay even more beautiful and comfortable. We are very happy to know that you found LVB to be so refreshing and soothing. We are looking forward to your next visit. Thank you and warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for La Villa Bethany
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 528 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Mussoorie beckoned, serendipitiously coinciding with a rare, once in a century week long break that my unimaginably busy husband got. The landour , long beloved and coveted in my imagination and dreams, the fire of mystery stoked by the masterful strokes of Ruskin Bond’s pen. The proximity to Lucknow was a godsend, having boarded the overnight Doon Express ( after an interminable struggle with tatkal tickets ). A hectic 3 days of winding up pre holiday work hassles, and 3 nights on my part spent reading up and living mussoorie- landour in my thoughts.
The journey began with a meticulous Doon Express which arrived at Dehradun prompt at 7 in the morning. The coach was studded with smart, zipping Doscos ( Doon School boys ) noisily back from their summer break. Dehradun at 7 in the morning was pristine, misty in the monsoons, and inspiring with its regal raj aura. The inevitable haggling with the taxiwallah ensued, but we cordially boarded a regal Ambassador, and having tanked up with grilled sandwiches and an unexpectedly delicious apple pie from a bakery en route, allowed ourselves to be seduced by the romance which is the Dehradun – Mussoorie road.
The drive took about an hour and half, but it was sheer poetry, moistened with the fresh green of the rains. St. George college, Barlowgunj, Bhatta, Jaripani – the names were matched by the sights. Having arrived at the crowded, noisy entrance to mussoorie ( the Picture Palace end of the torrid mall), we looked into atleast 3-4 stay options , that too zeroed down after research that would make the grouchiest scholar envious.
We finally succumbed to the lures of Landour – a quaint, picturesque, serene, elegant, enigmatic sequel to the sprawling, bawling, noisy hubbub that Mussoorie proper has now been reduced to. And Landour serenades you with its gorgeous paved and cobbled Upper Chukkar, the staple bun omelettes and droolworthy cinnamon pancakes of Char Dukaan, the fragrance and the stance of mighty pines and deodars, the reclusive, enticing dwellings and Raj – era cottages with names equally evocative – the parsonage, oakville, lyndalle etc being examples.
We surrendered our hearts to Bethany – La Villa Bethany. It had tough competition, as without naming names, we had scoured the finest that both Mussoorie and Landour had to offer in terms of elegant, classy abodes that were alient to the marauding mobs of “ tourists “. Tourists you see, not lovers, not the ones shackled by city stresses who humbly prostrated before the grandeur and beauty of this misty vale, and considered themselves lucky to have partaken of a slice of heaven.
La Villa Bethany is ensconced amidst acres of verdant Himalayan foliage, perched atop the elite and much envied Upper Chukkar, situated right at the knot if the Chukkar were visualized as a very simple 8, as the owner Amarjeet, charmingly explained to us. What drew us to La Villa Bethany was in a single word- peace. We just stood for a second on the balcony outside one of their amazing and expansive suites, and time stood still. . We could see the mists swirling and floating by as if on some divine agenda , the stately trees framing the huge expanse of the Doon valley, the vista unbroken as far as your thirsty eyes could care to feast…
We had no doubt that this is where we would find our week long solace. And we never regretted the impulse that our hearts followed. The owners are charm personified – Amarjeet is debonair, well read, well bred , extremely polite, professional and a treasure trove of other qualities – calligraphy and world class baking being just two of them ! Suneeta is friendly, warm , efficient and always ready with her nectar of masala chai that warms up the cockles of your heart. Their daughter Srushti is an amazingly intelligent and insightful 4 year old, who is the proverbial icing on the cake. We had many unforgettable moments chatting nineteen to the dozen with her, that we will cherish for many more years.
We were greeted with warmth, simplicity and yet tasteful hospitality. Dinner was a sumptuous affair of chicken coupled with a very enjoyable pav bhaji, piping hot phulkas and steamed rice , a very eminently enjoyable dal. But the zenith of this culinary rhapsody was home baked walnut brownie with ice cream. We had no option but to surrender to heavenly sleep and rest in their heritage suites, which have been so very aestheticallly and comfortably done up.
La villa bethany is not for the jostling hordes of noisy tourists who look forward to recreating the mess of their cities in this serene landscape. It is for the souls who take a well deserved hiatus from the stress and grind of professions. For the itinerant traveller who wants to explore nature and its myriad manifestations in his own way. It rejuvenates the spirit, helps you connect with yourself and with the bounties of nature in a way that will help you become a better person. It is a home away from home, however cliched it might sound. And hence it overwhelmed us , over and above the resorts, and hotels, and elite destinations that , at the end of the day, lacked soul and heart.
The next morning, birdsongs woke us up and lured us to our own private balcony adjoining the suite. Our voracious appetites were whetted by the mountain air, and were done justice to with a full scale propah english breakfast consisting of sausages, bacon, eggs, toast, butter, jam, tea/coffee and juice. We walked off our full bellies with a ramble around the upper chukkar, that took us past a 200 year old cemetery, where the usually reticent mali unexpectedly opened up and showed us around the place – a gem of history and aura. We walked past stately estates, endless verdure and hastening mists to attend the memorial service of the Rev. Robert Alter, former principal of Woodstock School. The service was a lesson in elegance , and brought us face to face with Landour stalwarts and old towners such as the inimitable Ruskin Bond and the dashing Tom Alter and family.
Walking along Mullingar and the Landour Bazaar, we came across century old craftsmen who turn the finest leather into custom made shoes to die for. Highly recommended by Amarjeet, we were enamoured by the suave suede leather shoes and the delicate roman sandals that we got made to fit our feet to perfection. We strolled along shops selling amazing antique curios, exotic tibetan silver jewellery and then came to the very famous, touristy mall, where we had a sumtpious tibetan dinner at the very flamboyant and dynamic outlet called Kalsang.
Amarjeet was graciousness personified again as he drove our tired feet back to the welcoming hearthside of Bethany, irrespective of the hour. The next day saw us devouring a lovely Indian breakfast of theplas, and upma and walking across to the mall, where we rented a clunky, ramshackle Bajaj ( as bikes were tougher to land than brides ) and drove a magical 10 km to Clouds End, one of the first buildings built in Mussoorie in the 1830s…situated at sheer cliff’s end, the view was unparalleled and the rooms were spacious, elegant and stately. We were awed by the Victorian furniture , furnishings and the memorabilia that saluted an age gone by – an age of grace, grandeur and understated elegance. We left with memories that would sweeten a lifetime and an ache in the joints and muscles that only a heady steaming hot shower courtesy Bethany would cure.
Next day morning, we accompanied our gracious hosts as they dropped off their cherub, Shrushti to Woodstock School, one of the premier international boarding schools in the world, established in 1854. The sprawling campus spread over 250 acres, state of the art amenities coupled with an old world charm and presence bowled us over. It was niche teaching as each grade consisted of hardly 10 students , each one being honed to perfection and individuality by dedicated teachers. We sped home to consume a hearty luncheon that was a free for all as everybody cooked a dish after their own heart. Evening saw us strolling along the Upper Chukkar again, picking up a chocolate bar and conversing with the amiable locals before heading home to dinner.
We were decked up in all our paraphernelia the following day to walk up to the Company Baug and the Everest Housee ( yes, it was the residence and laboratory of the illustrious Sir George Everest ), but the hearty breakfast lulled us back to our rooms for a siesta, which was interminable ! We had our indulgence in the hills, where we woke up at 4 in the afternoon to the sound of incessant rains lashing at the roof. Had steaming Maggi and the yummiest sandwiches at the sit out outside our suite. A languorous detour of the Upper Chukkar ensued – where just for a couple of hours, the elusive queen of the hills parted her fair veils for us – the mists lifted after a heavy downpour – and we glimpsed the famed Himalayan peaks, resplendent in their snow capped golden crests, as the sunset transformed them into molten gold. That night, as we stood out on the balcony outside our suite, we were stunned to silence, as we beheld one of the most beautiful sights of our lives – the entire stretch of Dehradun lay out beneath us, almost at our feet, where we had daily sighted the clouds, glittering and shining like a priceless jewel .. reminding us that we had been fortunate enough to stay at a property that was perched like a mountain eyrie..
We shook off our ennui and marched forth on the day next, and took in the Company Baug, the IAS cadet training academy and the Happy Valley ( a quaint, peaceful Tibetal settlement ) in a huge walkathon. We returned past the Camel’s Back road – again a walk etched forever in our memory with its scenic views and the gentle pattering of the rain. Dinner was a sumptuous Gujarati thali at the Padmini Niwas, erstwhile summer palace of Rajpipla State, where the regal host and owner enthralled us with her timeless grace.
Amarjeet was now more of a friend than host, and we called on him to take us back to anchor. The night today was tinged with nostalgia and a twinge of sadness, as we experienced the pangs of parting with beauty and peace in the form of La Villa Bethany and Landour – Mussoorie. My mind stumbles back , and its as if the week has just flown past. Our first cup of masala chai as we were welcomed into this gracious household, the long chats that ran into the wee hours of the nights, the delicate attention to detail, be it in the laying down of our breakfast table, or the perfectly cut fruit platter, or the steaming hot dinner plates, or the organic toiletries, the ever present smiles and joie de vivre that would greet us whenever we trudged back home – oops ! It finally hits me – La Villa Bethany is home now, and the Kudles are family and friends, for a very long time ahead to come. La Villa Bethany will forever stay etched in our hearts and souls as a sentinel of peace and grace, a talisman of warm, genuine hospitality coupled with a location to die for and an aura that inspires prayer and thankfulness to my Maker for making me worthy enough to have experienced it. And thank you, Amarjeet, for your fine workmanship as you carved and engraved a special memento for us to take back – a souvenir that occupies pride of place in our home and reminds us of the friends we have left behind – till next time !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ABRAHAMAARTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillabethany, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words of appreciation. We are really touched by your review and endeavour to make it even special when you come and stay with us the next time. We must add that a lot of small additions have taken place in the room that will make your stay even more comfortable and memorable. We are awaiting your next visit. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

And a stay at Bethany is a pleasure forever....What more can you ask for, when you want to move away from the Shor in the city...when you want to just while away in the lap of nature...when you want to just rock in the rocking chair and simply do nothing....when you want to sip your morning tea while enjoying the drizzle...when you want to fall in love all over again!!!!

La Villa Bethany happened to us, just by chance...or we can say our LUCK BY CHANCE!!! We were welcomed by the suave Amarjeet who took us for a breathtaking tour of the property. We saw the Shaw suite and instantly fell in love with it. The room was cozy....the night was comfortable...the sleep peaceful. The morning received us with tip tapping of the rains...Our delhi belly got the perfect treat as Amarjeet personally sauteed the sausages and tossed the cheese omelette...Served with golden toasts, baked beans and earl grey twinnings tea....we felt pampered by our hosts. Sunita took care of our comfort...made us feel at home...and advised our itinerary. Srushti's fully baked English speech was surprise to our ears. And not to forget the attendants whose hospitality gave that silver touch to our stay.

The ambience was English....the furniture was antique...the cutlery was sparkling...and the overall feel was....ELITE!!!

Take our advice...Bethany gives you...what your soul looks for.... Go...have a getaway...in your home at Himalayas....

Room Tip: Shaw suite and all on the first floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantoAnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillabethany, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your home in the Himalayas. We are very glad that you did take the brave decision of walking down to LVB in the dark of the night. We are very happy that you stayed with us and are looking forward to host you and your dear ones soon. All the team at LVB remember you fondly and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

An amazing place with equally amazing hosts or should we call them our extended family members. This is not a "HOTEL". It's a "HOME". We are pampered with great love and affection. A Must Visit Place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigamanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillabethany, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are absolutely touched by your love and affection. Your home in the Himalayas awaits your return......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We were looking for a 'non hotel' with all the comforts of a hotel in the Himalayas for our 11th anniversary . This place scored a big tick in all aspects with ease..

Our hyper active 4 year old found the space he wanted enabling us to have a blast

Food was delicious and non greasy... Helpful staff a super advantage..... All requests were facilitated

The complimentary drop and pick up from mussoourie mall road was another well thought of gesture... We just didn't have to take our car once we reached

The spectacular views are one of the best kept secrets

Hope to make it there when it snows!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mathewvivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillabethany, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. May we say that your home in the himalayas has undergone a lot of improvement from the time of your last stay. The Little Tikes childrens gym inaugurated by your son Ankit is a monster hit with all the children who've come and stayed here. We look forward to hosting you, your family and friends once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Loved the first floor balcony looking out over a gorgeous Himalayan view. Morning tea, with the mountain breeze, a cup of gently steaming tea. We had an amazing weekend vacation, with efficient back-end help by the affable hosts. My best wishes to them, and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarika20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavillabethany, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. May we say that the first floor balcony awaits you and your family to come and enjoy a wide selection of teas. And may we also add that the weather is getting spectacular by the day and you will enjoy the awesome valley views and the fabled winter line soon. Looking forward to hosting you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunitakudle, Owner at La Villa Bethany, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.2 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
341 reviews
2.2 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
635 reviews
3.5 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#18 of 74 in Mussoorie
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
1.8 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#4 of 74 in Mussoorie
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Bethany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Bethany

Address: Near Kellogg Memorial Church | Landour, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range: $139 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Bethany is a multi award winning, socially & environmentally responsible, boutique homestay at an old English Cottage which has been renovated & restored to its former glory. We are committed to maintaining the pristine environment of Landour at the same time offer our guests, old world hospitality, warmth of a home and joys of a simple country life away from the madness of city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your La Villa Bethany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing