We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little Tibet in Landour, Mussoorie...”
Review of Doma's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doma's Inn
Ranked #5 of 97 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“a little Tibet in Landour, Mussoorie...”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

though I didn't stay with this property, but had two lunches at the restaurant. Till date the best Momos/dim sum n' Thukpa/noodle soup in Northern India. The owner, Tenzing was very kind to show me around the well-appointed rooms and a small lounge. Will be a great hit with groups/young travellers/trekkers. Value for money, and extremely well-located. Go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aruntrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    43
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
26
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was part of a group that stayed at Doma's for several weeks, and when I return to Mussoorie/Landour, I will absolutely return to Doma's! The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and relaxing, with all amenities you'd ever want or need. The topmost room has the most breathtaking views I've ever enjoyed from a hotel - Dehradun and the Jamuna river are visible on a clear day. The staff, however, is the real selling point for me - they are always attentive, friendly, helpful and several times during our visit went above and beyond the call of duty to make our trip easier. As other reviewers have noted, it's far enough from the madding weekend crowd in the bazaars below, but it's only a 15-minute walk downhill to the shops in Landour/Kulri. Uphill you'll find the spectacular vistas and, if you are studying at the Landour Language School, it's also a convenient 25-minute walk up the road. And finally - try the steamed momos!

Room Tip: The topmost room has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atombhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well!!!! could not write more than it`s own beauty, nice rooms very neat bathrooms, no water problem fantastic tibetan food, 98% internet connectivity friendly staff and a relaxed manager makes the services very smooth and good. Decorated with fabulous paintings all over which gives you the feel of staying in Ladakh and Tibet. We stayed here for 3 days and felt like staying at home. Every thing was perfect throughout. They have a tradition of putting a Khatak around your neck with the best wishes at the time of the check out.
Alaso the lounge is a very nice place to relax with a cup of cofee and through which you enjoy a beautiful view.
It is located in the Landour ( old mussoorie) away from the crowded area of Mussoorie.
I highly recommend this place if any one is looking to stay in a quiet and a nature loving place.

Room Tip: Room no.1 on the first floor with a nice view and an attached lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayant_Bakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had the privilege of staying at Domas in for 6 weeks with my university's study abroad program. Domas Inn is run by a wonderful family with wonderful workers who are willing to help you no matter what. The atmosphere is energetic yet relaxing at the same time. Order anything on the menu- it's all delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Doma's Inn for 2 nights and 3 days in April 2013. This was my 1st visit to Mussoorie and I picked Doma's Inn just out of curiosity as I was intrigued by the reviews on TripAdvisor as well as the description on their website. While I was a bit skeptical about the kind of experience and service I would receive, I must say that I was really wonderfully impressed with the overall experience!

Location - For the regular traveler, the location may seem a bit off from the mainstream Mussoorie attraction of Mall Road. It is definitely not walking distance to and from the Mall Road. You will need to either have a vehicle or engage a taxi. However, I thought the location in Landour was ideal given that I wanted to include some leisure walks around the hills during my stay. The inn is about a brisk (and steep!) 10 min walk from the quaint Char Dukan in Landour. The round trip walk around Char Dukan through Lal Tibba is a wonderful 2-2.5 hour stroll through a conifer forest, rhododendron blooms, stunning views of the Uttarakhand Himalayan snow caps and peeks into some celebrity homes!

Reservation Experience - The reservation experience was pretty smooth. Sunil, the manager, was always very helpful and forthcoming in responding to emails or providing information over the phone. Unlike most other hotels in the Mussoorie area that demand 100% advance payment, all they asked of me was a token payment for reserving my room. I had specifically requested for a particular room and I got exactly that.

Rooms - The rooms at Doma's are tasetfully decorated with quaint and colorful Tibetian and North Indian decorations. The cleanliness of the rooms was up to the mark and the rooms included all tthe standard amenities. The only issue I thought was that the basin plumbing in my room appeared to be a bit makeshift but it was nothing too bad. The shower area also had a slightly low roof. However, all this was made up by the fact that the rest of the room was awesome. My room also afforded an excellent view of the Doon valley and the view was specially wonderful in the evening with the valley all lit up in the distance.

Service and Housekeeping - The overall service was pretty good and the staff were very courteous for any requests that we made. Housekeeping though is provided only if deposit the key with them before moving out for sightseeing etc.

Restaurant - Doma's includes a restaurant that serves a medley of Tibetian, Chinese and bit of Indian cuisine. The food quality was pretty decent and so was the pricing. They would customize the food as per any special request that we had. While there aren't much food options close to the inn, I would recommend Char Dukan for breakfast and/or lunch.

All-in-all, my stay at Doma's was absolutely wonderful and I would recommend the place without any qualms. The service provided by the team left us feeling that it was almost like home to us. At the end of our stay, Sunil presented us (including my toddler son) with Tibetian white prayer shawls which topped off our stay with a very personal touch indeed!

Room Tip: I would recommend room 101 which is very spacious and has excellent views of the Doon valley. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APP_GOI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights, 3rd & 4th May'13. The place is simply great. If you want to spend some time in peace with great food,relax and just enjoy the cool breeze, you will love this place.With the total capacity to accommodate 18 people, this place is filled with international tourist most of the time. Little away from typical Mall road, so you can enjoy yourself in cute, cozy and comfortable rooms. Rooms are pretty clean, the staff is very helpful. Specially the guy Sunil is very polite and cooperative. We needed a Doc, which got arranged on call in 20 mins. A great place for young couples. Don't miss on Dhanaulti, much better scenic view than mussoorie. All rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi, hot water, LCD's, DTH. A different experience in Tibet style.

Room Tip: Choose front view rooms with the sitting lounge next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineet2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auli, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Away from the crowed city center, the place is ideal for visitors looking for a quality holiday in Mussoorie. The Inn is located at one of the remaining places of the original Mussoorie. Probably the only place where you can add jogging, hiking and bird watching in your schedule apart from the routine visit to the crowed Mall road.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountain_Shepherds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.2 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#10 of 74 in Mussoorie
332 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ilbert Manor
Ilbert Manor
#17 of 74 in Mussoorie
246 reviews
1.8 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villa Bethany
La Villa Bethany
#1 of 97 in Mussoorie
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doma's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doma's Inn

Property: Doma's Inn
Address: Ivy Cottage Landour Cantt, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 hours power back up We have 24 hours free 1 mb wifi Free breakfast with each room for up to two persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Doma's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing