We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloud End Forest Resort
Ranked #9 of 98 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very beautiful palce.. in the mid of mist and clouds. Feels heavenly. We stayed in Room no 1. Deluxe heritage room. The best room with best view. Very well maintained old world feeling with spacious room , huge bathroom and a nice fire place. This all comes at a pocket friendly tariff.

Staff were very caring and helpful. We all liked this place so much that my son wants to visit this place again.

Room Tip: Room no:1 , the deluxe room in heritage building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ranreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you very much, we have not upgraded the old bungalow rooms and the resort. Do visit us again.
Many Thanks
Team Cloud End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Cloud End Forest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have visited this resort several times in past 3 years for relaxation after hectic few months at my office. I have always found the resort very peaceful. Staff is quite helpful. Food can do a makeover but still can be eaten. It is not a luxury resort but is homely sort of resort. It is good to try. All you need is some books. Or if you love hiking, there is a 14 km trail to a near by temple. Guides are easily available.

Overall, I would love to visit this resort again just to relax, sit under a tree and read a book while sipping some tea.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhigyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you staying with us, we have now upgraded and renovated the entire resort, keeping in mind the old British charm of the bungalow. We now also have a restaurant "Rose's Diner" which serves Indian and Chinese food, prepared with all most everything made at home.
Do visit us again and share your experience with others.
Many Thanks
Team Cloud End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Other than the breathtaking location of Cloud end, there's nothing to write home about. Reaching the place is a challenge in itself as it involves a very steep, but very picturesque uphill climb. You must check with the owners about the vehicle you are driving there as not every car can manage that sort of a climb with luggage & passengers.

The resorts is quite shabby, no maintenance of lawns & walkways. The rooms are just not up to the mark with seepage & strange smell. The food & staff are a saving grace though. It's a real pity as it's one of those old colonial bungalows & if only the owners invest in redoing the place, it can really be a lovely property.

I've stayed at cheap hotels & I've stayed at expensive hotels. This place is absolutely not in line with what they charge. I'm sure you can get much better options in and around Mussourie at this price or even lower.

i won't be revisiting this!

Room Tip: Avoid this resort!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cshekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you so much for your review, rightly mentioned the place in the past had been unkempt, however that has been resolved. We had closed the entire resort for all most 2 years to reopen it in October 2014.
We have upgraded the rooms and the over all landscaping around the bungalow and also taken up the management ourselves now. Do visit us again to see the change and enjoy your experience even better than the last one.
Many Thanks
Team Cloud End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

One of the best places to visit in mussoorie. Away from the hassales of the city life and into the wild forest with yourself , trees , and the misty surrounding ... A fantastic getaway. Zip line is good to try .. Just go with some of your books and have a laid back time with tea and nothing to do . Night bonfire is a good arrangement form the owners .

Room Tip: Do plan for hiking and trekking trips around the property
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinamra_Yamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you for staying with us then and coming back after the renovation yet again. We are glad yo came back and enjoyed yourself as much as last time.
Many Thanks
Team Cloud End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The best part of this resort is nature and huge space around the resort. It is at a cliff surrounded by jungle on three sides.

It is ahead of Mussorie - concrete hill station and is pretty much the only resort in the vicinity once you enter the unmetteled road from Hathipaon.

It was british summer home, passed on to the current generation and then converted into boutique hotel. It was not built to serve as a luxury resort and thank god for that.

You need to get away from hustle bustle of city life at times n just be with nature :)

While people have their own opinions about this place - I particularly liked the peace n non-hotel like atmosphere. Bonfires, Barbeque and elaborate options on menu suited us well.

Expensive - may be but not really, if you consider that last major human habitation was many kilometers back.

Staying Facilities are decent and they anyways, do not claim to be Luxury Resort. It is a forest resort and as such have limitations. Of the many forest resorts I have stayed like Binsar etc. it has better facilities.

I am surprised no one mentioned the trek to Durga Mandir. It is a 3-4 km trek thru dense jungles that leads you to a nice quaint hill top mandir and offers some excellent views from there.

There are some visitors from outside during daytime but we were a huge group ourselves n hardly got bothered.

We did not face any water problems during our stay n staff was more than helpful in arranging hot water.

We also ventured out of the resort in the evening and had a look at Beautiful Doon Valley. It is just mesmerizing view :) n you could sit there for some time.

They could do well by utilizing workforce in better upkeep of the garden i.e. beautifying the gardens but again for some it may look like an eyesore but for us - it looked like jungle n we did not consider it a put off.

Divvijay Agarwal the owner took our call at 11:00 pm in the night and was really helpful in getting few things done for us including arranging medicines and other few non-negotiable items :)

The main resort is good - log huts are little far from the main building.

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly at Cloud End n would recommend die hard nature fans to visit them.

Room Tip: Chose rooms in the main building
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MohitSharma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we have now upgraded and renovated the resort immensely. To ensure our in house guests full privacy we have made a new restaurant " Rose's Diner" where the day guests can enjoy their meals without disturbing guests staying with us. We hope you will come back and spend another few holidays with us and share your experience with the others.
Many Thanks
Team Cloud End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is to all nature lovers...... this place is a must visit. The hotel does disappoint at the first look because of lack of maintenance and scarce man made beautification but the rustic look slowly grows on the visitor. It is also close to benog wildlife sanctuary and the forest effect can be seen all around. it is a paradise for birders and Mr Agarwal, the owner has profound knowledge of the birds in the area. The hotel also does some adventure activity like rope climbing etc which I thought was a misfit with the ambience. The staff is courteous and helpful and always ready to put in that little bit extra to keep visitors happy. Special mention for Sudip Singh, a hardworking young boy working as a waitor who knows how to win hearts. However there is a lot of scope for improvement like
1) External beautification of the resort by flowers, creeper plants and quality grass
2) The pool/pond can be utilised for lotus plantations. They look excellent.(Eg- Ramakrishna Mission Ashrama- Dehradun, Binsar Retreat- Binsar)
3) Two rooms of log cabin can be merged into suite with kitchen facilities ( Eg Monal Cottage in Chail---HPTDC)
4) A small watch tower at hill top where the guard stays.

USP is location and helpful staff. Quality of rooms and bedding is good. Food is a negative for me.

Room Tip: All rooms have similar view. Log cabins have better view but no TV.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust_birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you very much for all your fantastic ideas and views. We from Cloud End would love to share with you that we have over the last 2 -3 years upgraded and renovated the entire resort area. We would love for you to plan a holiday and stay with us, so you can compare your past experience.
Many Thanks
Team Cloud End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have been to could end during last monsoon season.. It is just like heaven.. Its a place where clouds are ending indeed.. If you love nature and just want to escape from the city, than its a must visit place.. And yes, zip lining at the resort was like cherry on the cake! It has made my holidays.

Room Tip: If you do not mind compromising day-to-day luxuries of your bedroom and really wants to enjoy the na...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayz8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2015

Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have now upgraded the resort. Please do visit us again and share your experience with others.
Many Thanks
Team Cloud End

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#4 of 74 in Mussoorie
570 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
341 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud End Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud End Forest Resort

Address: Hathipaon Area, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range: $116 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cloud End Bungalow, built by Major Edmund Swetenham in 1838, is one of the first four finest buildings of Mussoorie. Four generations of the Swetenham family lived in this estate, which the Major received as dowry for marrying a local village girl "Gulabo nee Rose". Mr D.R Agarwal, a far-sighted visionary, bought the estate in 1965 but visit it a year later after making the access to it motorable. He was the first Indian owner of this private 400 acre forest estate. His youngest son Mr Digvijay Agarwal inherited the estate and registered it as a resort in the early '90s. This resort has undergone major upgrade for over a year now.'It was pay back time!' Says Mr Digvijay Agarwal, the owner of Cloud End. A new chapter has been added to the history of the hill station with creature comforts of our times mingling gently with tradition. Our inventory includes 4 Heritage Deluxe suites in the (Swetenham block), with 6 deluxe rooms in the (annexe block), an independent log cottage with 2 cabins, and 10 huts (still under renovation). We have a forty cover restaurant Rose's Diner offers a breathtaking view of the snow capped Himalayan range to the East; the Doon valley to the south; the Winter Line to the west and the Benog wildlife sanctuary sprawled to the north. Our 400 acre private estate has numerous nature trails of its own as well as hikes all around us. Popular among these are the Benog hill ( a Wildlife Sanctuary), Dudhli village, Bhadraj temple, Everest house and the Wishing Well. Cloud End Forest Resort is a small family run business in a 400 acre private forest estate. It offers solitude, calmness, peace, closeness to nature, adventure and wildlife to its guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing