We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloud End Forest Resort
Ranked #12 of 105 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

An amazing experience. We stayed at one of the family suits, complete with the fire place and the works! The best part was to be able to sit inside the room and gaze out of the window and get a perfect view. I had a just pleasant experience just sitting at the window sill, with a hot cup of tea and staring out at the view, it was misty and magical. The food is great too, as simple as it can get. The dining table in the eating area is actually a log piece of a huge tree and may be a few hundred years old. Lovely lovely place.

Room Tip: the family suits works the best if you are in a group of 4 or 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shareshtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

this jungle resort is a perfect getaway from the noise and clutter of city life. situated in the middle of jungle and as the name suggests is covered by cloud most of the times, espicially monsoon is an excellent choice to spent 2 nights here.
the jungle trek around the resort is also a nice activity one can try.
early morning breakfast in the middle of cloud and mist is heart pleasing.
try out log cabins or tents if you love adventure...
food is ok here.
dont have very high expectation but i am sure you wont be disappointed if you love nature and you dont nag much about specifics...
just go and enjoy nature..

Room Tip: Try taking Log Cabins or tents if u r adventurous...or else other rooms are also nice ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pushpamsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The fact that its one of the oldest buildings in the area and is 6 km away (a beautiful and densely wooded drive/walk) from the hustle and bustle of the main town are reasons enough to explore the place. The reasons for my revisit, apart from these were the nice service, the lovely log huts and the free and constant supply of scenic beauty!
However, its not for the impatient traveler who needs quick and jazzy services, since the place tends to get a bit isolated and is meant for the non commercial traveler.

Room Tip: The log huts are lovely and cozy wooden structures with a super view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruchikajohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A perfect place to recharge your batteries. The location is perfect- very near to mussorie,yet tucked away in a corner. The resort also provides an opportunity to indulge in adventure activities. This is the place for people who want to be close to nature, yet not completely isolated(especially if one is travelling with kids). The owner Mr Digvijay Aggarwal and his wife are always there to help. You get a feeling that you are guest at some uncle and aunt of yours, who help you, gives useful tips,but at the same time respect your privacy.
The staff too is very helpful. Do not to miss is the opportunity to indulge in bar-be que. One is provided with the stuff one needs and then you can prepare your own meal,under the twinkling stars with the bonfire blazing next to you! My kids just loved it!
Early morning walks and the adventure sports are not to be missed! A piece of caution- stick to the trek recommended by Mr. Aggarwal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miglani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Thomas Hardy couldn't have asked for more. A British era bungalow, beautifully preserved and in the middle of nowhere in the Mussoorie hills. Mussoorie by itself is a pathetic caricature of a hill station with crowded streets, seedy hotels and bumper to bumper traffic. But just a few miles out of Mussoorie is the quaint Cloud End, run with a quiet efficiency by Mr. Digvijay Agarwal. He makes it a point to look after his guests and makes it a truly home in the hills experience.

Room Tip: There is a newly constructed annexe building in the resort. Subject to availability the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narayanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 days at Clouds end, very scenic and peacful place to spend your weekend. The food was good ( similar to home made), staff was nice and well behaved. The sport activities are wonderful experience. Mr Digvijay the owner takes special care of his visitor, he has done an awsome job to develop a place away from the mad rush of the mall road.

It is a must visit ....if you plan to go to Musoorie. Early morning walks are great time to c the flora and fauna around the hill side.

not to forget there are all basic amenities available ..and 24 hr electricity coutesy a new genset.

Cheers..

Room Tip: cottage huts are good value fr money..though for a luxury time ...you can book the heritage rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malhotra1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I asked one of my friend as to where I should stay at Mussoorie, as i had to spend 3 days there, His question was do you want to get relax in the lap of nature, enjoy some breathtaking activities and adventure. A Place where melodious chirping of birds Panoramic scene of mountains, cool breeze, where you can clearly hear the rustling of leaves, You can yourself pick almonds , plums, litchis and peaches from the trees and relish them, nice view from every room, Ample parking space, Delicious food and water Than go to CLOUD END RESORT or You wish to stay at a place which is in the town, very near to markets, crowd and noise of horns, polluted air form the vehicles, water crisis. My answer was CEFR, We stayed for 3 days, I really enjoyed every moment I spent there, We were completely relaxed, The management of that resort was very Helpful They have A Big Genset, so we did not faced any water or electric crisis, The food they serve was very delicious, My mother is a heart patient, they provided special food as per her health. We did a lot of activities like Zip line Valley crossing, Run down, and many other activities, morning and evening walk in the terrains & watching birds was very energizing, The staff was very polite and helpful, They gave us fresh plums and Almonds when we were checking out as a gift. It was a memorable stay. Thanks CEFR ( Cloud end forest resort ) and Thanks To my friend who suggested me.

Room Tip: Go for the family room if u r with a family, U will have a good view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funwithall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
2.6 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#4 of 77 in Mussoorie
433 reviews
3.3 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 77 in Mussoorie
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Sterling Mussoorie
Sterling Mussoorie
#5 of 77 in Mussoorie
623 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#7 of 77 in Mussoorie
585 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud End Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud End Forest Resort

Address: Hathipaon Area, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range: $93 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cloud End Bungalow, built by Major Edmund Swetenham in 1838, is one of the first four finest buildings of Mussoorie. Four generations of the Swetenham family lived in this estate, which the Major received as dowry for marrying a local village girl "Gulabo nee Rose". Mr D.R Agarwal, a far-sighted visionary, bought the estate in 1965 but visit it a year later after making the access to it motorable. He was the first Indian owner of this private 400 acre forest estate. His youngest son Mr Digvijay Agarwal inherited the estate and registered it as a resort in the early '90s. This resort has undergone major upgrade for over a year now.'It was pay back time!' Says Mr Digvijay Agarwal, the owner of Cloud End. A new chapter has been added to the history of the hill station with creature comforts of our times mingling gently with tradition. Our inventory includes 4 Heritage Deluxe suites in the (Swetenham block), with 6 deluxe rooms in the (annexe block), an independent log cottage with 2 cabins, and 10 huts (still under renovation). We have a forty cover restaurant Rose's Diner offers a breathtaking view of the snow capped Himalayan range to the East; the Doon valley to the south; the Winter Line to the west and the Benog wildlife sanctuary sprawled to the north. Our 400 acre private estate has numerous nature trails of its own as well as hikes all around us. Popular among these are the Benog hill ( a Wildlife Sanctuary), Dudhli village, Bhadraj temple, Everest house and the Wishing Well. Cloud End Forest Resort is a small family run business in a 400 acre private forest estate. It offers solitude, calmness, peace, closeness to nature, adventure and wildlife to its guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing