We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraud......total”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mussoorie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloud End Forest Resort
Ranked #9 of 99 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We went all the way to Cloud end to stay there around thinking we'll check the place first. The way is amazing, the trees, forest, everything...till the eyesore came. We were made to enter a dingy cheap looking cottage (painted in beige blocks and tinned roofs) and paid 50 bucks to go in. There were cigarette stubs everywhere and we ordered two tea and an omelette bread. The lawn had cheap plastic chairs, no grass, dirty messy dingy toilet. Omelette came n a very dhaba type plate and cheap utensils, with a plastic confectionery type plastic sauce bottle. Water was dirty and they sold some cheap packaged water. The rooms were amazing though for the oldest cottage in Mussoorie but very poorly maintained. The photo gallery had repetitive photos and no light. God, what a mess of such a heritage cottage. Someone please buy it from him (aggarwal). Taj group are you listening ??

Room Tip: run !!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GauravBhangoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

A little away from the main town of Mussoorie, this resort is hidden jewel... Stunning views all around, gardens to enjoy the sun in the winter days and bonfires at nights... You can trek around, in the forests and on the top of the mountains... A very cozy and comfortable place to spend your weekend, very peaceful. Not really, if you are looking for a luxurious stay though.. The staff was very courteous and helpful, they went all the way to cook things from outside the menu also. It was a delicious, homely food.. Although you need to tell them in advance, since due to the distance they need to arrange the food...
It was an excellent 2 days we spent... All cousins and spouses... Played cricket, lit a bonfire at night, went trekking, lazed around... And since Mussoorie is just about 30 mins away, did a half day trip there too....
Came back with loads of goood memories.... Worth a visit... You can also go there to spend a day or for a few hours, if not for stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank namitbhalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Resort located around 10 Km from main town. It was month of August , at the top of the hill , almost all the time we felt walking into the cloud .This is a very old property build by British. There is a small museum in the resort. I would recommend if you want to spend few days peacefully too close to the nature, of course dont expect star facility.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Cloud's end is one of the most expensive Hotels in Mussoorie - even in off-season. They have a nice website and we expected a well run facility.
However, the facts did not meet our expectations even slightly. The view is gorgeous, but that is it. Beyond the views, it is a scam. Dirty rooms, dirty & cheap dishes and the bedsheets had to be changed too on our request after we found breadcrumbs and hairs in them. The whole property is not maintained well and the garden a wasteland. Despite being the oldest house in Mussoorie, you will find the cheapest plastic-chairs and plastic tables as interior, the cheapest possible carpets and plastic-curtains. At eight in the morning we had to search for staff who could possibly take some simple breakfast orders. There is no management at all, the owners (Agarwals) are supposedly sitting in Dehra Dun and rarely visiting their facility. On top of this you can only enjoy the silence during night-time, since during daytime large groups of tourists will flock in who have to pay 25 Rs to enter the hotel to view its meagre photo gallery.
The staff is only partly responsible for this mess - it is simply a complete management failure that lets this place go to waste. We stayed one night and then left for the slightly cheaper Kasmanda Palace, which is also quiet and very well maintained and managed, has friendly competent staff and a great view too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank sraosha_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The hotel is a little away from the town of Mussoorie and the 20 mins drive is so worth the effort. The property is nestled away behind mountains & hills, beyond meandering roads & clusters of trees. It’s not a very fancy resort however very comfy & cozy. They have an amazing view of the valley & a breathtaking view of the snow clad mountains.

The staff was incredible & provided all the comforts of home. Hot running water at any time in the day was such a blessing. The food, again not fancy but very tasty & fresh. On one of the nights we had the guys at the hotel arrange for a bonfire along with a charcoal grill, where we grilled Chicken Tikka & Seekh kabab under the starry sky. They have a playground where we played cricket, football (please carry your own equipment). We also trekked (Highly recommended) to the hill top behind the property, it’s a very small & easy trek and once you get to the top, the view down in the valley is worth a million….!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapnaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alexandre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloudendmussoorie, Owner at Cloud End Forest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
3.3 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
668 reviews
2.5 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
349 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
574 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud End Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud End Forest Resort

Address: Hathipaon Area, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range: $185 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cloud End Bungalow, built by Major Edmund Swetenham in 1838, is one of the first four finest buildings of Mussoorie. Four generations of the Swetenham family lived in this estate, which the Major received as dowry for marrying a local village girl "Gulabo nee Rose". Mr D.R Agarwal, a far-sighted visionary, bought the estate in 1965 but visit it a year later after making the access to it motorable. He was the first Indian owner of this private 400 acre forest estate. His youngest son Mr Digvijay Agarwal inherited the estate and registered it as a resort in the early '90s. This resort has undergone major upgrade for over a year now.'It was pay back time!' Says Mr Digvijay Agarwal, the owner of Cloud End. A new chapter has been added to the history of the hill station with creature comforts of our times mingling gently with tradition. Our inventory includes 4 Heritage Deluxe suites in the (Swetenham block), with 6 deluxe rooms in the (annexe block), an independent log cottage with 2 cabins, and 10 huts (still under renovation). We have a forty cover restaurant Rose's Diner offers a breathtaking view of the snow capped Himalayan range to the East; the Doon valley to the south; the Winter Line to the west and the Benog wildlife sanctuary sprawled to the north. Our 400 acre private estate has numerous nature trails of its own as well as hikes all around us. Popular among these are the Benog hill ( a Wildlife Sanctuary), Dudhli village, Bhadraj temple, Everest house and the Wishing Well. Cloud End Forest Resort is a small family run business in a 400 acre private forest estate. It offers solitude, calmness, peace, closeness to nature, adventure and wildlife to its guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing