We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home, Outstanding !!!”
Review of Ilbert Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilbert Manor
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hi Friends,

We stayed at this place for 3 nights in Oct '12 and expectedly had a wonderful experience. It did not seem like a typical hotel but a home away from home. The pros and cons below :

Pros

1) Service Staff - Always on their toes, ever ready to help, dedicated
2) Hotel location - Just off mall road and still in a very quiet location with great valley views
3) The Room sizes were quite large. Bathrooms are larger in some rooms. Olden style but all modern amenities available
4) Brillant Food
5) Free shuttle to mall road - Very useful. Available through the day
6) Preset room heaters - Was a Must and it made the stay comfortable
7) Lovely view from the rooms. Ice capped mountains visible on a clear day. Loved the peaceful environment

Cons

1) Some people might not like this set-up as it does not give you a "Hotel feel".
2) Not much activities apart from the pool table/library
3) A little pricy given that similar category hotels are quite reasonable

I must highlight the services of Mr.Pyare Singh. Treated us like family members. Has a "Yes" to everything. One of the reasons behind the popularity/success of this hotel.
You have to stay here if in mussorrie.

Happy Travelling,
Gautam

Tip of the Review :

1) Dont miss a meal at Chick Chocolate on mall road (Picture palace end)
2) A long evening walk down Camel's back Road is a must. Nature at its best.

Room Tip: Its a unique hotel as it seems no two rooms are the same. I stayed at Fanny Parks (205) initially wh...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GudduKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Ilbert Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 248 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

bad things first 1. no swimming pool 2. no parking 3. no bar , except these 3 (not a big issue ) things the hotel rocks
amazingly restored , on the mall but complete silence , provide free shuttle for your parking issues , amazing staff (to fail even jaypee, the best hotel there) namely mr pyare singh and the manager there , u have all the 5 str facilities , u have pool , all recreational activities , bon fire to die for , rooms that make u stay for long mainly the colonial suite if u are a group of youngsters ,amazing view in night and then in the morning , 180 degrees panaroma , amazing view , amazing food and dont miss there chicken tikka ,u can take ur beers , ur hookah , ur poker set and just have a blast

Room Tip: take colonial suites and the rooms on first floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohitgarg125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As the other reviewers have noted, this is a wonderful place. Nicely restored, clean, well-located, with an outstanding staff. I used the meal plan and the food is really wonderful. It is a hike up to town but they have a good shuttle service that is always ready. Two notes: 1) Most of these reviewers are from India. But if you have to do this in English, it can hard occasionally but not impossible. The staff try really hard to understand. If you're stuck, ask for the operations mgr. He's fluent and a great help. 2) Ask for a room at the far north end of the hall on the second floor facing the mountains. Avoid 201 (my rm) as it is over the guard house and you'll hear him and the cars on the outside road a lot. I liked Mussoorie a lot. I came for a weekend break from work in Delhi. Walk the Camel Back road every morning after breakfast and skip the kitsch on Mall Road. Stop at the overlook with tiny cafe half way along. Sit and sip coffee, become friends with the couple who own it and look north at the Himalayas. They'll bring out a map and interpret everything to you. They are the best.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilbert M, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is one of the fine heritage hotels in Mussoorie. Staff were very polite and courteous. Approach to the hotel is a bit kind of crazy but other than that everything was perfect. The view from the corner room (don't remember the room number) was awesome...Highly recommended hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayanta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Let me just start off by saying, I really miss the place now that I'm back home. I stayed at the hotel for a total of 4 days and 3 nights with some mates. The service was superb, I enjoyed the food a lot, the chilli chicken will definitely make me go back at least once before I die. The food is not just tasty they have a special healthy-food scenario to their food which was something new but enjoyable at the same time. Apart from the fact that the staff tried their best to fulfil all my requirements and be as hospitable as possible, I got my moneys worth and could perhaps personally guarantee that there is no other hotel quite like it in its vicinity. To all those bookworms out there unlike me, did I mention the Library that the hotel also has, one can always do a little bit of reading whilst relaxing in such a cool place like mussoorie. I would advise anyone travelling there to not even try and search for another hotel. One would not only relax and enjoy the entire atmosphere created by the staff and the place itself, but you will understand why I had such a nice time. If I visit Mussoorie again, hands down I will stay at Ilbert Manor. I would also like to thank everybody, the staff and the very well spoken and understanding manager, at the ilbert Manor hotel for making my stay comfortable, 'I was snug as a bug in a rug' :D. Nothings perfect therefore, the only problem that I had was that I wasnt allowed to smoke inside the rooms, but you can do it on the terrace while staring straight into the valley which was way more amazing then smoking inside my room. this review is getting long so people looking to go to Mussoorie, get booking u wont regret it :D

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiabolikRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Visited the place this weekend with a few of my friends and had an amazing stay there. The service, ambience or food quality, u name it and they were up to the mark. With the weather of mussoorie ilbert manor made my stay very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've been staying for 4 days at the illbert manor. The stay was really nice and so is the staff,
Upon arriving I found myself in a valley of smiles from the very first person I met, the manager. She explained everything I had available and gave me a cable for internet access and the password to use the service very quickly.
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. The shower seems to b quite big
The bed was one thing that if I could take it home, I would have done. Hard in the right places and comfortable....
Very rich and tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs,and I found the best around.The puri Chana also were fantastic. With each breakfast I became more spoiled.

On the Wednesday of the week, when I was in the hotel was a Champions League match. I saw it in the hotel (although I could see it free in the room, I preferred to see it in company). With the sport package and seeker free movies offered by the hotel, you can pretty much stay in the room all day without getting bored, unfortunately I was there for work.
These are the things that made me enjoy my stay at this hotel, but my warmest congratulations to the hotel for their choice of personnel. They know how to really make you feel at home, and if you need anything it is like asking a family member. Congratulations from the heart, you were fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NipunBansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.2 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
637 reviews
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#8 of 74 in Mussoorie
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#3 of 74 in Mussoorie
417 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilbert Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilbert Manor

Address: Library End Duggal Villa Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: $107 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilbert Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilbert Manor is a 180 year old unique heritage boutique hotel nestled amidst oak trees and semi wild forest. The Manor has been painstakingly restored over a period of seven years and offers 14 well appointed and elegant rooms. Each guest room has been named to reflect the original history capturing the nostalgia of the pioneers who discovered the magical hills of Mussoorie. Rudyard Kipling, General Frederick Young and Jim Corbett are a few such names. The Ilbert Manor team focuses to offer personalized services to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ilbert Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing