We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel away from the chaos and incessant honking of the Mall....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ilbert Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ilbert Manor
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel away from the chaos and incessant honking of the Mall....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting Dehradun for the weekend.

After the braving the chaotic long queue to enter the hill station, we were delighted to drive into Ilbert Manor. It was tucked away from the main thoroughfare so it was blissfully peaceful.

The owner personally welcomed us (she appears to do that for all guests) and it was like coming to visit someone's home. She had also upgraded us and showed us to our room. We would have had an amazing view of the mountains if they had not been shrouded in clouds but I guess that's what happens when you visit in the summer.

The staff were polite and eager to please. We had an enjoyable stay here. Now, if only Mussoorie itself had been as pleasant as the hotel but it was dirty with horses and their droppings everywhere while drivers pressed their horns non-stop as they drove up and down the Mall. They really should learn from Shimla and ban all cars from the mall stretch.

Room Tip: If you're staying in their annex suites, choose the one upstairs as it's more private and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    53
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
93
65
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Well I was referred to the hotel by a friend. I went with a girlfriend for a 3 day "all girl's vacation". The hotel could not be more aptly situated. It is only a 2 min drive or a 5 min walk from the mall, at the same time it is far enough to achieve the quiet serenity one looks for on a vacation to the hills. My room had a 180 degree view of the hills. On the clearer mornings, one could see the snow capped peaks. The hotel staff is exceptionally hospitable, and they make the best "masala chai"!! The hotel arranged very scenic walks for us in the afternoons. They even pack some small picnic lunches to take along, so you could just sit under a tree or something and eat sandwiches.

Evenings were spent watching sunsets on the terrace, eating dinner in the restaurant and dessert in bed!!You cant ask for anything better. Also the food is very fresh and good quality as it is a very small boutique hotel and they don't do a lot of prep before.

All in all, it really is one of the best places to stay in mussoorie. The staff is willing to help with everything, from packing lunch/dinner for the way back to Delhi or arranging a local guide for walks or treks. We had a memorable trip!!! thanks to Ilbert Manor!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saumya17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I was in India Last week to attend a family wedding. I wanted to take some time off before heading back to london. Last week, My grandparents and my family stayed at the Ilbert Manor in mussourie. I had booked the hotel online and at first was a little apprehensive about how it was going to turn out to be. When we reached mussourie, the hotel cab came to fetch us from the Library chowk. the entrance made me question my decision to have booked this hotel online. But the moment we entered the property, it teleported us to another time. The boutique hotel is restored beautifully. It reminded me of a similar boutique hotle i stayed at in scotland. I was surprised with quality of their services , considering how poor the hotels in hill stations are. The view from my room was amazing. We stayed there for 3 nights . I enjoyed sitting on the terrace in the morning enjoying my cup of tea with my family. This unique property is nested in a calm and serence spot. This was a much needed break for me. I enjoyed relaxing there. If you want a relaxing and calm holiday in the hills , I would recommend this hotel to you

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms, All of them had a beautiful view. Ask for the rooms with an attached mini- balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

We heard about this property from some friends and then I checked it up on trip advisor. The reviews made me and my wife want to book a room for 3 nights 4 days. We spoke to Dinesh at the front office and found him very polite and pleasant. When we reached the hotel we felt as if we have reached a second home. Each one at the hotel was sweeter than the other. They all made our stay sooooo comfortable. We felt that it was a right choice and the best in Musoorie hills. Earlier we read about the road to the hotel from mall in the reviews. We had already made our minds that it might be an uncomfortable road as we had been to simla and manali in our previous holidays and knew how tricky hills driving is. But, it was a ok!!!! The location is actually very strategic. It takes 2 minutes to go up and down from mall road. The hotel is very peaceful and right for an intimate holiday. The hotel parked our car for us and even helped us in taking it up and down if we them to do so. The room we were in was the best room we had ever stayed in the hills so far! The combination of wood , warmth and all modern facilities made us extremely happy. We hardly got out of the room! Room service was a blessing. The service was quite good and they don’t even charge extra for room service which was good for our pocket
Right hotel and right place at the right time with the right people to take care of us = Great experience, wonderful memories for the rest of our lives.
My wife says that I should book for new years in advance as later on we might not get a room….and she is surely right! Wives are always right!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

the good bit first. The property is nicely restored and the two rooms at the end of the corridor have lovely views. tha staff is trying hard and attentive. however, the problem is the lack of a lawn. Also charging extra for providing water bottles in the room is a bit too much....paying Rs 50 for water in a fancy restaurant maybe fine but is not acceptable in a small 10 room hotel suite. The road access too is poor and we found it difficult to drive our car to and from the property.

Room Tip: only two rooms have a lovely view at the end of first floor corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhishekswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and me travel a lot and decided to spend time in mussoorie for 2n/3d. We put up at Ilbert Manor. We loved the location of the hotel. Its right in the heart of Mussoorie and a quick walk down from the mall road. The Hotel offered a pick up and drop facility from 10 am to 6 pm which is quite convenient. The view of the hills early in the morning and in the evening is something....

We loved the staff. They made us feel at home and took care of all that we needed. They even set up the rooms with flowers as i had told them that its like our second honeymoon. It was quite sweet of them to do this complimentary for us. The food was delicious!

we recommend this place a 100%. Its the best boutique property in mussoorie.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

my wife and myself were exhausted after closing financial year 2012. We wanted to take a short break and not to far from new Delhi where we live. We decided to book our self at the ilbert manor Mussoorie as we had heard that its a cosy little place appropriate for a couples. After booking in advance we drove early morning reaching the hotel in the afternoon. The hotel driver picked us up from the mall and we went down the mall for about 100 meters in the car. We were so happy when we reached the hotel. It was an actual jewel in Mussoorie hills. We could not have imagined such a cute set up in the hills. We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days. We ate in their restaurant and even ordered room service. The food was very good.
We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and spent quality time in a quality hotel. We have already asked them to book us for August weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paritoshdhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlbertManor, General Manager at Ilbert Manor, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ilbert Manor Mussoorie. First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay and giving us your honest feedback. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday at the Ilbert Manor. It will be our pleasure to continue providing you with our personalized services in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Ilbert Manor Mussoorie.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Ilbert Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#4 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
1.0 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#5 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
Dunsvirk Court Mussoorie
#19 of 74 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilbert Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilbert Manor

Property: Ilbert Manor
Address: Library End Duggal Villa Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ilbert Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ilbert Manor is a 180 year old unique heritage boutique hotel nestled amidst oak trees and semi wild forest. The Manor has been painstakingly restored over a period of seven years and offers 14 well appointed and elegant rooms. Each guest room has been named to reflect the original history capturing the nostalgia of the pioneers who discovered the magical hills of Mussoorie. Rudyard Kipling, General Frederick Young and Jim Corbett are a few such names. The Ilbert Manor team focuses to offer personalized services to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ilbert Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing