We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful property, right on hill top, and so was our room at Avalon...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Mussoorie
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Mussoorie
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A beautiful property, right on hill top, and so was our room at Avalon...”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was a wonderful experience. the staff was very helpful, polite and supportive. Location is superb and the fun zone has lot of activities for the kids. My kid made lot of friends and enjoyed every activity at the holiday zone, especially the Karaoke evening, which was an opportunity for the guests to unveil their hidden singing talents. Our room was on the top, on the top-most alley! Its a major climb and can be really tiring, especially after a heavy holiday meal! So, hold your breath for a breath-taking view of the pristine town of Mussourie. However, we did get a change of room after repeated requests, since that was the peak season
and the resort was running full! We opted for a change because of the over-powering stench in the kitchenette and water-clogging in the bathroom right from the day of check in.
Like most of the Club Mahindra resorts, the resort staff was quite friendly and try to make your stay a pleasant one.
The resort arranges a pick-up and drop facility to the entrance of the mall road and charges Rs.70 per trip. Its a steep drive, not a dangerous one, and if you are keen you can even walk it. For the local sight-seeing trips, you can hire rickshaws, which charge Rs.400/- for a 1/2-a-day trip and its fun to ride on the cycle. Its a tiring up-hill task for the rickshaw wallah. Haridwar and Hrishikesh are pretty close by to Mussourie and you can plan a daily trip (if you start early), by hiring pre-paid taxis from the Taxi union at the Mall road.
The restaurant is smaller and gets over-crowded during peak seasons. Food is ok, not all that great compared to the other Mahindra restaurants. The restaurant staff were extremely nice and helpful. There are lot of options on the Mall road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnuWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked the view from your room and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    130
    62
    28
    25
See reviews for
237
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days during the long weekend. This resort is best of beauty in Mussorrie in the August month. It is located on the top of the Gun Hill. Either you climb towards the top or take the taxi provided by them. We got the Doon valley facing room - this was amazing room.
The staff is so gentle and warm - hearted. Buffet food is too good - available as veg, non-veg, Jain food, continental, Italian, etc.

All the tourists spots are nearby - not too far. Only Kempty Falls are 15-16 KMs far from this resort.

Overall - the experience for us is the best one !! Highly recommended for the stay in Mussorrie.

Thank-you Club Mahindra, we will come back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genie13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Mussoorie. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

we stayed at club mahindra resort for 20nd and 21st night
first we had two kids one 4 year and one 2 year so we requested them to give us room near ground floor to which they gave us room no. 3-b which was excellent room pictures are attached. there was a microvawe,tea kettle, a mini fridge, lcd, oil heater, nice bed and wash room.
first of all the resort is situated at hieght of 500m from mall road which is such a steep height and road is bad. our driver did his best to reach there with burning smell coming from car tyres.
then we came to know that first pickup and last drop is complimentary by the resort.
then we went to activity room, there were carrom board, slides, one or two more games which were complimentary for kids.
and there was video games, computer and printer with net which was chargeable but there was free wifi available in lobby area
then at one night there was cultural gharwali dance show, singing bhangra dance performance.
staff was very nice, always greeting the guests
the resort location is ideal for people who want silence from the crowd as itsaway from hustle and bustle of mall road
the weather of mussorie was awesome. clouds going through u, amazing.
now the problem is food which is very very costly. we ordered one glass milk for our kid and the rate was rs. 126 and next mornig we ordered one omlet which was of rs. 195.
my advice u rather go to mall road by spending rs. 75 for one side for family rather than eating there.

Room Tip: request for room down as possible otherwise get ready for exercise. room 3B was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aman902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Aman,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation.Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I visited this in Dec 2012 and stayed for 3 days. The location is excellent and on top of all the resorts in Mussoorie, situated on Gun hill it has beautiful view of both the Doon valley and also the snow capped Himalayas. The rooms are spacious and provides beautiful views. The restaurant is also good and provides some decent offers and also good variety in the buffet. I also liked the Funzone evening activities which are different on each day. The only tough part is the walk down and up from the Mall road to the resort as it is on a steep hill, luckily the resort provides pick up and drop at a nominal 75 rupees one way. When i was in the resort in December renovation work was going on which disturbed peace in the report, apart from that my experience was very good

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top levels to get more beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveenv74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Naveen,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My friend who is the member of this Club Mahindra and booked for us there. I'm from Canada and stayed there with my family (my wife and 2 daughters) as per the booking confirmation from July 8th to July 9th and checked out July 10th morning. We landed at Delhi airport on July 8th @11.10am and had booked AC Innova car before. We started around noon and stopped one place for our lunch on our way to Missouri. We reached at the CM Cottage around 9.00pm. It was raining and driving was not very easy on the hill at night. I got 2 to 3 times phone calls from the hotel regarding my stay and car parking. They said rental cars having yellow number plates are not allowed inside. So I have to park at Gandhi Chock somewhere and we have to hire a rickshaw to reach the hotel but I was told that I can bring my car to the hotel, when I called from Canada to confirm the weather and the road condition around that areas. This was something new to me when I was approaching to the hotel and had no choice. It was my very first bad impression about the hotel and how they are selling their business.

We reached the hotel at night hiring rickshaw and hotel has pickup option from mall road to the hotel. Room 26A, was not cleaned properly. Lot of food particles on the floor. They cleaned and did the needful when asked. Every time to go down and coming up, we have to use the hotel car and rickshaw. Hotel car costs Rs.75 for one side and rickshaw costs Rs.20 per person one side.

Hotel has some good shows in the evening. No internet in the room but I saw people are using internet in the lobby. Foods are cheaper in Gandhi chock rather than in the hotel. Things to see in Missouri are Kempty falls, Buddha temple and company garden and some others. I got one list of places to see there from the hotel reception.
.
I got guest charged for our stay when checked out although my friend is a member and 2 days was deducted from his account. They ignored his membership and asked me to pay, which is so ridiculous. I'm not sure how things work here and how do they ran a business like this way. People at the reception and room service guys are very good and talk nicely. This is the hotel policy and management needs to look at these areas to improve.

Overall our experience about this hotel is so poor and will not recommend any one to stay here in future. There are many other hotels around that areas who are offering FREE parking for their guests and better services.

Room Tip: Try to avoid this hotel and look for other hotels in that area. I can't recommend anyone to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller20121226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The resort is a good location though a steep climb from the mall road which can be avoided by availing their shuttle service which is paid service.

The staff is brilliant & if travelling with family, the kids will make many friends there as staff will take care of them in all respects. The service also is wonderful as expected from Club Mahindra. The food quality at most times is very good & if not good sometimes they address the issue well.

However a few issue which needs urgent attention of management:-
1. The 1BR are smaller than studio apartments beside not having any balcony & only available on upper levels hence not as well located as the studios. The management needs to revisit the room classifications & we suggest that either the 1BR be declassified as studios or vice versa.
2. Even though we see up gradation in patches there is still a lot to be done & sofa beds furnishings are very poor with bad stains all over.

Being a different level property one must have sit outs or balconies at all levels & for old aged people with knee problems they must pre book & reserve level 1 rooms. Can also be dangerous for young kids running around, two incidents with one needing stitches witnessed during our 4 night stay.

But must add again that the cons are overtaken by the hospitality of the splendid staff. Kudos to them.

I would love to go back again as am a club Mahindra member & sincerely hope they work on the improvement areas to make this an excellent property.

Room Tip: For families & old aged only take the first level rooms. Avoid at all costs the 1BR rooms as cla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaiSiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Jai,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Mussoorie resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the sports activities our resort offered. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location,awesome view, helpful staff, good breakfast, kitchenette & bathrooms are well equipped. The property is 500 meters from Mall Road on the very steep GunHill road, but they offer Pick-up / drop facility to Mall road at a charge which was useful. Only thing - the towels did not give a fresh feeling. Food is on the costlier side as in all Club Mahindra property - however all meals have a good spread of dishes. We preferred to buy some basics from the market and use the kitchenette for some meals. Must say the staff is very helpful - in all Club Mahindra properties

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Mussoorie. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon.In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
0.3 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#5 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Holiday Resorts
Avalon Holiday Resorts
#32 of 73 in Mussoorie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#13 of 73 in Mussoorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Mussoorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Mussoorie

Property: Club Mahindra Mussoorie
Address: Rockcliff Estate,Hill Top | Gun Hill, Mussoorie 248179, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Mussoorie 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Club Mahindra Mussoorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort, Avalon Hotel Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing