We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful (but cold)!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Mahindra Mussoorie
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Corvallis, Oregon USA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful (but cold)!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here in Feb., so it was cold outside, especially at night. It's a beautiful area (Mussorie) and Hilltop is a great location, and what a view!!! And the proximity to the shopping area (main streets) is convenient. We have only two complaints: Wireless is only in the lobby and not in the rooms, and the rooms are very cold, as is the lobby, making it difficult to comfortably work on the internet when one is so cold. One of our rooms was so cold because there was a huge crack in the door to the front (a mini-balcony). We called the management to have it fixed with duct tape! That helped a lot to keep the room a bit warmer. Our other room was very cold and the portable heater didn't work well so we had them bring another heater up as well which helped somewhat. Still, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who gets cold easily in the winter months. When it's warmer weather, I think this would be an excellent option. I also don't understand why the lobby is so cold. All of us wore our jackets and scarves and sometimes our hats when we were sitting there working on our laptops. Not meaning to sound grumpy...just want to issue a warning to those who are prone to being cold! Other than that, it's lovely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NamasteJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Judi,

Thank you for your feedback and glad that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort, Mussoorie. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please accept our apologies and be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice will be addressed on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a memorable Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab. Look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,
The Club Mahindra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    66
    33
    26
See reviews for
253
66
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is huge...awesome location, built on a hill. The rooms are big and cozy. There are open areas with seating built everywhere in the hotel to have a good look at the nature. You can sit with your loved ones there for hours, relax and admire the beauty of nature.

Pros:
1. Its very near to the mall road.
2. Huge property and close to nature
3. Close to the Gun Hill point...You can go there on foot for a 5 min walk and have paranthas, maggie and tea in the mussourie chill :)
4. Activity room with free TT, foosball and other games
5. Free wifi in the lobby (not in the rooms)
6. Very good room service
7. Enjoyable events every evening organized by the hotel

Cons:
1.It leaves you breathless if you climb up to your hotel room from the reception. It has a series of stairs to take you to your room. The only resort is the hotel shuttle which will take you to your room taking very steep and scary turns on the hill.
2.You have to take a shuttle from reception till down the hill at Rs 75 per side as the walk is very steep and tiring.

Overall my experience was wonderful with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not that far from the reception so that you don't have to climb up to your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Garima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi Garima,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Massoorie. We hope you liked the ambience and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will start work on your concerns with immediate effect. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice location, although getting there and in general to Mussoorie can be tiring. Great location, on Gun Hill. great views and a short hike to the top of the Gun Hill. Our stay was nice, relaxed and service was prompt. It might be a a little steep hike for some of the rooms, but we were lucky to be close to the restaurant and to the main level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puneriashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you had a great time at Club Mahindra, Mussoorie. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to receive your feedback. We would love to welcome you again at any of the 40 picturesque resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice location, though a little far too high to walk up...the resort authorities do have a pick up service from the Mall, as well as a drop service (On a payable basis) which is a bit disappointing...although the food, the fun activities and the view from our room (32a) was outstanding....good for an extended stay with good activities and great food, especially compliments Mr. Das the chief cook....:)

Room Tip: the rooms number 3A and 3B are really the best for value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHNPareil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Mussoorie. We are glad you liked the view from your rooms. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will start work on your concerns with immediate effect. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The resort is known through its earlier name "Avalon". Its recently acquired by Club Mahindra and they're probably putting their stamp on it albeit slowly. The resort is pretty good although not at par with the ones in Coorg or Munnar. The location is very good, close to Gunhill point where the ropeway goes. So you have an awesome view. We had a 2 bed room apartment which was extremely spacious and well kept with heaters etc. as it was cold in November. Get ready for a little climb as the cottages are spread out. They do have a drop facility to cottages for elders as I am told but didnt see it. The mall road is half a km and while its easy to walk down the slope, the climb up is tiring. The resort charges 75 bucks for a one side pick up from the mall road. The fun zone is small but they have table tennis, pool, carrom, video games, XBOX, etc. along with the usual Club Mahindra activities during the day and evening. Food is good and so is the service. Overall a satisfying experience and stay at the resort. They have a small area for parking if you are driving down but you cannot park your vehicle on the mall road. Make sure if you are driving down, you reach before 4pm or after 10pm as vehicle entry is not permitted during those hours and you will have to take a paddle rickshaw to the pick up point which is about 1 km from the entry point.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morpheuskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mussoorie, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra, Massoorie. We are glad you liked our rooms and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will start work on your concerns with immediate effect. Hope to see you at a Club Mahindra resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We, ie me and my husband went to mussoorie in 2010. And let me tell you ,it will go down as one of my best vacations.the place is good, the site perfect and to see himalayan range from the room was priceless.and shopping mind blowing.so all in all a perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the himalayas obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saddy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Mahindra properties are great to visit with kids and this place is also good for kids.
We stayed in one bedroom cottage which has bedroom, living area with sofa-bed and a kitchen area with fridge and microwave.
Try to take a room near to reception as some of the rooms are very high up and there are too many stairs to climb. It can be tiresome if you are returning after a long walk. The food is kind of OK, not too good and not too bad.
The fun zone was the best place and my kids loved it. They spent a whole lot of time and they enjoyed immensely.
The hotel offers picks and drops to mall for Rs 75 and it is very well worth it.
The service is good and the people at reception are very helpful.

Room Tip: Take a room near the reception. The rooms up the hill can be extremely tiresome. Do visit it first a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiran_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
0.3 mi away
Mussoorie - Dancing Leaves, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Kasmanda Palace
1.1 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fortune Resort Grace
Fortune Resort Grace
#14 of 74 in Mussoorie
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Mussoorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Mussoorie

Property: Club Mahindra Mussoorie
Address: Rockcliff Estate,Hill Top | Gun Hill, Mussoorie 248179, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort)
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Mussoorie 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Club Mahindra Mussoorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Hilltop Resort, Avalon Hotel Mussoorie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing