We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to mussoorie with family and friends”
Review of Mussoorie Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mussoorie Gateway
Ranked #4 of 105 Mussoorie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The place is well located before the busy town and is ideal for the peace loving people still looking for nearness to town. The rooms are well spacious. We were two family and had the luxury of two double beds in one rooms for kids. The rooms are well cleaned and maintained, the toilets are good but not up to the same bench mark of rooms. All rooms open to valley and morning silver line is visible from all rooms.

The staff is very helpful.Service is good. Quality of food is still better from many hotel. I would rate food above average but the complementary breakfast is just average. The Pick up and drop facility to Mall Road is really quick and good.

Cable channels quality was poor, though you hardly get any time to watch TV. Also the rooms does not provide Bed Foot Mats which is must. The bathroom foot mat were also of very inferior quality to bench mark of hotel.

The parking facility at hotel is good but you will not find drivers rooms if you have hired drivers. There is wash room and blanket facility for driver.

Honestly the overall experience was good and is recommended for stay.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the first floor.Stick to basic of paratas/puri in the complementary breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiteshKumarGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 359 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

I visited this Hotel on the 24th to 26th of December 2013, through cleartrip.com.
Firstly the location as shown in the map is false. It is almost a km lower from the Mall road and Padmini niwas. Secondly, except from spacious rooms, nothing was good. Smell of dampness in the rooms, balcony view obstructed by trees, dirty and poor quality cutlery. Though the room service is good, you have to pay for everything extra. Imagine sleeping in the cold rooms, without a heater. They hiked up their price due to christmas, but cant provide as good service.

Not at all worth of the rates. I Strongly recommend not to book this, and also never from cleartrip.com.

Room Tip: Please rely on reviews from people you know personally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank sudipks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

it is not resort it's guest house
staff behaviour is very bad
don't ask qustion to staff because they are always right
toilet bathroom were stinking
all over verry bad experience
we were visited on17th to 19th nov,2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shah_aakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had stayed five days here... Their complimentary pick n drop facility to The Mall Road was very good... Location of hotel is also very good....Rooms are spacious but ambience not utpo the mark..There is no proper cupboard available. The towels were not so clean. Staff is also ok. For Vegetarians limited options available.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jatin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was on family holiday in mussoorie in Feb 2013 & stayed here for 3 days. The hotel has got very good valley view. I have searched on the tripadvisor before booking this hotel and based on the reviews, I contacted the hotel directly. The hotel has offered me very good rate as it was just near the end of off season.
The room was very good & having all basic thigs. The food was also good & staff was excellent. The free pick up & drop servise to mall road is very helpful as for sightseenig, it is the central place.
Only one thing lagging was the payment made. I was informed at checkin that they accept the card for payment. But on the day of the check out it was informed that they will not be able to process cards & I had to pay cash. The ATM centers are very limited in Mussoorie & i had to search for 2-3 locations before I got one working ATM. Thankfully hotel had provided their car to go around.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayuresh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good rooms, good service, average upholstery. Had a nice time. The pick and drop facility for mall road is worth appreciation. The hotel has parking facility and helpful staff. The food is good. Curtains and chair covers need a change. Hot water available.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Amogh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Most of our experiences in the hills with hotels and hotel staff was pleasant. This was no exception. Glad we went there. The food was probably the best we had in a long long time. If we go back to Mussoorie, this is the place we will stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavitrabardia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vishnu Palace
Hotel Vishnu Palace
#11 of 77 in Mussoorie
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Padmini Nivas
Hotel Padmini Nivas
#7 of 77 in Mussoorie
585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#3 of 77 in Mussoorie
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deep
Hotel Deep
#36 of 77 in Mussoorie
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sterling Mussoorie
Sterling Mussoorie
#5 of 77 in Mussoorie
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 77 in Mussoorie
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mussoorie Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mussoorie Gateway

Address: Kenilworth Estate, Library Bazar-Kincraig Road, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Mussoorie
Price Range: $20 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mussoorie Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mussoorie Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing