We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Amber - Vermont Estate
Nearby Hotels
$128
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$127
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rokeby Manor(Mussoorie)
$173
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
339
88
13
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
339
88
13
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric blanketscompany baghmr ravibadminton courtpool tablehustle bustlett tablebeautiful propertyboutique hoteloverlooking the valleyboard gamesfirst floormussoorie hillspick up and dropfree shuttle servicemaddening crowdfamily suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 447 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

just back after a 2 nights 3 day stay in the hotel, its a nice property located among hills with lovely mountain and valley views, staff are courteous and polite , managers Mr Rakesh and Ravi were very helpful and gave good advice on local sightseeing, the pick up and drop from mall road is well coordinated , the hotel is 2 mins from company garden and that is a plus since one can walk to it , we stayed in amber room which is not too big but cozy, heating system is good and food is tasty, only the breakfast may have some more variety, overall a very good hotel and i would love to come back and stay here for my next trip

Room Tip: we were in room 304 above reception in the old block which was nice
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manimantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

we want to say only one word for hotel is " awesome" & " Thanks". we are visited in off season but staff provided us what we demanded such as room service, food, transportation etc. they guide us for site Sean , Transportation , shopping etc. Room, bathroom & passage was clean & neat. excellent location, big free space good all staff ( Mr. Rakesh & Mr. Ravi thanks for guide us) food was good

our suggestion to all TripAdvisor riders, don't hesitate for book this hotel...................

Room Tip: suite ( specious & comfortable)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Mussoorie can get cold in the winter months. Many hotels in India do not seem prepared for such cold, much in the way that a lot of Hotels in England are not prepared for heat waves.
Just as many English hotels have no air conditioning, The Amber has NO central Heating. Tripper beware - Mussoorie is within view of the snow caped Himalayas. One of the charm of this hotel but also one of it's shortcomings. The Building is also on the shady side of the mountains and so gets no direct sun during the winter months.
On the night of our stay the temperature dropped to 5 degree C. This seems slightly below average for time of year yet the fan heaters provided were not adequate. We stayed in a suite but could only use one room due to the temperature. The beds had heated under blankets which were great and extra blankets were provided by the helpful stay, but bathrooms and communal areas were bleak and cold.
After discussion with the manager, there was a promise of installing central heating in the future - this would make what is probably a great Summer hotel and great Winter one too. I would advise that you check before you book.

Room Tip: Check what the heating situation is if you plan to stay in the winter months.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BRIAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews & thank fully so. Our experience was made all the more amazing by the attention to details and the immaculate courtesy of the staff . It's a very nice overall experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drpankajdwivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was my first visit to Mussoorie. My family and I stayed in one of the first floor rooms in The Amber in early December 2013. I recommend the first room on the first floor as you walk towards the building. It is smaller than the one further up but the views are better. The other one has a tree in front which blocks out the views.

The food was also great with good variety of Indian items on the menu and the service was excellent. Even the breakfast had numerous items to order from and it was all freshly prepared, from fresh bread to fresh parathas.

The weather was a little cold during the night and early mornings but with oil and fan heaters and electric blanket heated beds, the rooms remained warm and pleasant enough during the stay.

The airport pick-up and drop-off was arranged as per our request. The hotel management were kind enough to let us use the hotel car to go to the Buddhist Temple across the valley. The car service is also excellent if one wants to go to Mall Road for shopping. The drop-off and pick-up is very good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking at staying in Mussoorie. Being on the shady side of the mountain, it would be cooler in summer, I am assuming.

Room Tip: First room on first floor as you walk towards the building from the reception area. It has good views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews