We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property with Very Good Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amber - Vermont Estate
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Property with Very Good Staff”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed in November 2013. Stayed for three nights. This was our third trip to the queen of hills " Mussoorie" and first at this property. The property is located away from the loud crowd of the city and yet is at a comfortable distance by car to the Mall road. The pick up and drop facility was prompt in the off season at least. Breakfast spread is limited and is average. Ala cart dinner is very good and one must try the Garlic Chicken Tikka and the Dal. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Even with we as the only guest on one of the nights they gave tandoori items for dinner. Rooms are neat and clean and the view (weather permitting) is nice. The deck next to the reception is a good place to relax. We stayed in the new block. Need to increase the breakfast variety soon. All in all a peaceful place and if in Mussoorie then worth staying again.

Room Tip: Room number 204 and 205 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    80
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
192
122
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kullu, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were recently on a 4 day trip to Mussoorie and I extremely glad we chose to stay at The Amber Vermont. The rooms & bathrooms are nicely done up and the ones on the 1st floor have a fabulous view of the valley in front. We also spent many afternoons and evenings in bliss on the amazing deck overlooking the deep valleys. Ravi, Jasbir and each one of the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Right from providing extra heaters to arranging a midnight cake party on the deck for my husband's birthday, they were all just wonderfully hospitable and ready to assist us with anything we required. The property is a few kms away from mall road, but the hotel thoughtfully provides free pickup and drop facility whenever you need it. Easily one of the best locations around Mussoorie, given the proximity to Company garden, Happy valley, George Everest point & not too far away from the mall either. Would definitely be back soon. Thank you team Amber Vermont!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms in the 1st Block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya_Manore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here in October'13. Nice friendly staff. Take a valley facing room, it has stunning view. Nice place to relax, away from hustle bustle of main road. Rooms were fresh and clean
Take care, road leading from the hotel is a bit narrow. Variety served in breakfast is average.
Beautiful Company garden is at a walking distance from the hotel.
Overall thumbs up!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Away from the busy roads of Mussorie. The View is excellent and very peaceful place. Staff were very courteous and service was excellent. The manager was very kind and helped me with various details . I guess this is the best place to stay in Mussorie. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: The New Rooms are good. Chose the 1st floor rooms which gives you good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adonis3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited Amber Vermont for a quick weekend break from Delhi. The property is in a quiet corner of town fantastic for a day or two of peace and quiet. The rooms are tastefully done and really cozy. The sun deck beside the lobby is fantastic as well. The food is average, but the ambience makes up for it. The staff was very accomodating and arranged for a special candlelight dinner for us at no additional cost! They also arranged for us to have lunch on the deck the next day.
Fantastic property made better by great staff. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pick the room above the reception with a view of the hills. Even the bathroom has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Being a avid follower of TripAdvisor ratings, I was compelled to book this property for our vacation for 3 nights.And almost everything on as expected.

Beautiful property, superb rooms exuding royalty in its wooden finish. Bathrooms and toiletries that are good enough to die for!! And amazing view of the Himalayas(weather relenting). well-mannered staff with prompt service.

We were feeling on top of the world till we were served breakfast the next day. The breakfast was totally horrible. No buffet, we had to order from the extremely limited menu. This was a shocker to us as a-la-carte are no comparison to buffets. But what was even more shocking was the quality of the food. Bread was stale, tasteless and so was the tea and poori-bhaji. On asking for a fruits platter, we were served some apples, tasteless papayas and bananas. Who serves bananas in a 5-Star fruits platter? Moreover, there was a single waiter in attendance, who was often not available when required. I had to get up from the table just to call him from the kitchen, when we wanted water for 15 minutes.

We were offered the explanation that this was due to extremely low occupancy level at the hotel on the day of our stay. So anyone interested in this hotel , please ensure to ask for occupancy level before you make the bookings. We had to truncate our 3-day stay to a single day. But we must appreciate their gesture of returning our excess advance money without any hassle. Cheers to that!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strider025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights service was excellent staff were extremely polite and food was decent. Internet access in rooms needs to be improved otherwise a great hotel, has beautiful views and is quiet. Rooms are comfortable decent size and room service was prompt. The staff anticipate needs and are happy to assist in any way they can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ag42854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
0.8 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#1 of 74 in Mussoorie
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#6 of 74 in Mussoorie
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rokeby Manor
Rokeby Manor
#9 of 74 in Mussoorie
326 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Claridges Nabha Residence, Mussoorie
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amber - Vermont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - Vermont Estate

Property: The Amber - Vermont Estate
Address: Hathi Paon Road, | Near Company Bagh, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Amber - Vermont Estate 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber Vermont Estate is a boutique retreat in the Himalayas. Vermont Estate was originally built in the latter half of the 19th century by a Britisher and is one of the oldest estates in the Himalayan town of Mussoorie. It has been refurbished to retain the atmosphere of a traditional English cottage with the addition of modern amenities. The property is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Mussoorie. The location, and the mix of modern comfort, old English charm and personalized service make The Amber Vermont Estate a treasure in Mussoorie. In the early 1800's, Vermont Estate was part of a grand estate called Logie Estate owned by the well-known Dr. Hugh Falconer. Dr. Falconer was a Scottish geologist, botanist, and paleontologist. He was the first to discover the remains of fossil mammals in the Siwalik Hills of India. In 1832, Falconer became the Superintendent of the Saharanpur Botanical Gardens, one of the oldest existing gardens in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Amber - Vermont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing