We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in massorie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Amber - Vermont Estate
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotels location and food quality is excellent. The rooms on first floor is very good, the view form balcony is very mesmerizing. We visited in last week of July'12, and rainy season added more value to the whole environment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for a quick getaway... could stay only for a night and wish to stay for a longer time in future. This is a sweet surprise tucked away in mussoorie or shall I say "queen of the hills". As they say luxury comes at a price, I can add this luxurious hide out is rightly priced.
Service at best right from the word go when we called them and enquire about availability since it was not a planned trip. Negotiation done and asked if we can check in an hour. Response was quick and room was ready when we reached.
-amazing food
-helpful pick and drop facility
-well maintained rooms and clean washroom

Not to be missed in Mussoorie

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahulzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had chosen this resort based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and I am happy to say that my experience was really great. from the beginning the hotel staff displayed amazing hospitality. The entry to the resort is difficult and very steep, however, the resort had sent someone to fetch us and we reached quite smoothly.
The rooms are beautiful and have lovely views, especially the first floor ones. The landscape has been really done very well and its a joy to explore the property. It is set in a very peaceful spot and is also very close to the Municipal Gardens. The interiors have also been done up very well; the paintings displayed on the walls are very interesting, and they give the resort a truly colonial touch, in addition to the overall Raj era architechture.
The best part about the place is their warm hospitality. No request is too small or too difficult for the staff to manage. And the staff is very prompt in their response too! I especially like their shuttle service to the Mall Road.
We enjoyed all our meals too and overall had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the First Floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apeksha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful forested five-acre estate which has been tastefully modified with comfortable rooms, some of which have wonderful views across the valley to the hills (and if you are lucky to the snowclad peaks beyond). The restaurant has an extensive menu -- some of which require advance ordering -- and the quality is excellent, the portions generous. Ravi at the reception desk was very helpful and the rest of the staff were eager to please. At this price though there needs to be greater professionalism. Our welcome drinks took half-an-hour to arrive. Our rooms were not ready in spite of our arriving beyond the stipulated 12 noon. The dinner bill was charged double (due to a software error) and was not spotted by the staff until after I had paid and then queried the following day why the previous day's bill was double the lunch bill. The owners need to bring in hospitality consultants to put all these glitches right if they intend to cater to upper-segment tourists. If you are arriving in your own car, be warned that the approach past Company Bagh is very crowded and the road quality beyond is pot-holed, uneven, and hazardous.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view across the valley are prettier. In the new annexe, the rooms have decks with a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oracleDehradun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I visited The Amber last weekend and it more than lived up to its No 1 ranking at the Tripadvisor. Its location is picture perfect and if you are looking for a property away from the crowd infested Mall Road, then this is your answer. ( They have a pick up and drop to the Library point which is a well thought of facility). Its a beautiful heritage property, immaculately maintained. The deck overlooking the hills is one where you can spend endless hours. The rooms had a balcony overlooking the hills and are fitted with all modern fittings and amenities. Food is great and the service absolutely fantastic. Overall, a beautiful place where you can unwind and enjoy Nature.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamtaD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I visited this place last month and loved the place , hospitality (Ravi is a great guy), Food, Various small small things which were taken care of.

But the drawbacks are that its overly priced. I have stayed at better/equally good resort at lesser price. Secondly the approach to the resort is terrible. Roads quality is really bad , some are under maintenance though!

Room Tip: We stayed in 304. It has big windows and nice view with small balcony too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Priyanka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have tripadvisor reviews to thank for making it possible to locate this resort / hotel. The property is just awesome. We stayed there for 4 days from 9th. to 12th. April and didn't feel like leaving.

We had two rooms 104 & 104 on the first floor of a cottage which had all modern facilities, including heated matresses, and a lovely bathroom with pressure booster pumps for a great shower. The view from the rooms was just etereal and calm view of the valley and the hills beyond. The rooms and the whole property was absolutely clean.

At the time of our stay we were the only guests on the property but the F&B staff went out of their way to provide a five course meal on ala carte menu for lunch and dinner. Breakfast and Lunch on the Deck was just awesome - good food with a fabulous view. Indian and continental food was good and so was the chinese soup served one night on our request even though it was not on the menu.

The staff was un obstrusive, courteous and helpful through out the stay.

The Amber -Vermount Estate truly deserves the Tripadvisor Traveler's Choice @ 2013 award.

Lookinf forward to spending another few days on the property

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGANG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 77 in Mussoorie
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Mussoorie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sterling Mussoorie
Sterling Mussoorie
#4 of 77 in Mussoorie
636 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#10 of 77 in Mussoorie
842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel SunGrace
Hotel SunGrace
#3 of 77 in Mussoorie
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amber - Vermont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amber - Vermont Estate

Address: Hathi Paon Road, | Near Company Bagh, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: $97 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Amber - Vermont Estate 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amber Vermont Estate is a boutique retreat in the Himalayas. Vermont Estate was originally built in the latter half of the 19th century by a Britisher and is one of the oldest estates in the Himalayan town of Mussoorie. It has been refurbished to retain the atmosphere of a traditional English cottage with the addition of modern amenities. The property is located in one of the most beautiful areas of Mussoorie. The location, and the mix of modern comfort, old English charm and personalized service make The Amber Vermont Estate a treasure in Mussoorie. In the early 1800's, Vermont Estate was part of a grand estate called Logie Estate owned by the well-known Dr. Hugh Falconer. Dr. Falconer was a Scottish geologist, botanist, and paleontologist. He was the first to discover the remains of fossil mammals in the Siwalik Hills of India. In 1832, Falconer became the Superintendent of the Saharanpur Botanical Gardens, one of the oldest existing gardens in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Amber - Vermont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing