We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Orchid Fort Resort
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a good hotel in Mussoorie. It is a good property and they have good rooms. The food is excellent and both breakfast and dinner meals have abundant options. The hotel is also large with lots of small pockets to just sit and enjoy the weather. They also have a lot of activities on the property which is good (TT, pool, badminton, carrom, X-box etc.) Additionally, they also have a decent gym with steam, sauna and jacuzzi.

The best feature about the hotel is its staff - the waiters / room service / housekeeping people. They are very nice and friendly and cater to all your needs.

Our overall stay with a family of 5 was good. The only sour point what that we had booked the jacuzzi for use and at that time we were not told that using the jacuzzi is chargeable. We were informed about the charge only at the time of checkout. Not that we had an issue paying for it, but usually the jacuzzi is not charged extra in hotels and the fact that they did not inform us about it when we used it was not appreciated.

Apart from that one blip - the overall stay was good

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akshits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I took this hotel after reading reviews on Trip advisor, but I guess I have made a big mistake. Highly disappointed with the service, cleanliness and room service.
Not recommended if you are looking for a peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ankur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

While travelling to mussorie one should always remember that there is hardly any place to visit there and for that matter your hotel stay should be comfortable, Scenic, with all luxary and amenities and royal orchid is the best property i have ever visited in mussorie. My stay was so comfortable that i would cherish to stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Rohit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went there as a group of 5 couples with kids. We made advance payment to there delhi office but when we reached there,....oh ! my god....they said that they have no confirmation for same. After travelling for 8-9 hours from delhi with kids along....when you find such a mess....it was a great blunder....to top over...the food was pathetic and repetitions daily. The chef i guess had no options but to serve same food daily without any changes.
The only good thing about the property is its location and the newly constructed rooms.
I will suggest you that first you should confirm your booking and never ever take meals package.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friendashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our trip was in June 2013. On hearing the reviews of this hotel we shifted from another 5 star hotel to this one. We got the premium suite as other rooms were not available and we were 5 adults. The check in was smooth although they did take some time.
When we got to the room the doorbell didn't work. We asked for an extra bed which was provided 3 hours after check in after repeated calls to housekeeping and the front desk. In fact more than half the times the phone wasn't picked up at the front desk. You had to call 3-4 times in order to get a response. They came and pulled out the sofa cum bed which was to springy so we asked for an extra mattress which took them another hour to get. On complaining to the front office manager he said he would get things done properly and also provide butler service and gave me his phone number. But when we called him up there was no answer despite repeated calls.
Called up room service and the guy started arguing rudely about which room we were staying in because apparently his system was showing the wrong room number.
The hair dryer in one of the rooms was not working. The hot water kettle's lid could not be closed and so we couldn't use it.
We ordered room service which took about an hour top reach us and when it did the omelette was raw and stinking so much that we had to leave it outside the room. The mango smoothie that we ordered was extremely sour.
Went for a shower and there was no shower gel. It took them about half an hour to get the shower gel to us after (guess what???) numerous calls.
By mistake we left the window open in the evening and when we got back to the room it was full of insects so we had to sleep in the living room.
We then discovered that the fridge was not working and the kid's milk got spoiled.
At night the people in the room across from us kept on making noise and listening to loud music despite repeated requests and finally after 2:30 AM the hotel staff succeeded in getting them to be quiet.
The only bright spot was the morning breakfast and the cool misty open air setting with beautiful scenery.
So I would say excellent scenery but substandard services.
They kept apologizing for everything and giving us freebies but still couldn't provide service according to the charges.
I sincerely hope this was just a series of unfortunate events rather than a trend based on the other reviews that I've seen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NytynAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was the summer time so decided to goto mussoorie our fav hill station. So we zeroed on royal orchid and yes we were really happy on r decision. It was a hude n well mantained property with almost everything u need in a resort. The food spl mention was amazing. Lots of variety n the staff was very polite n always smiling while addressing u. The spa session was also very affective.
All in all it was a memorable xperience and will definietly wud like to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choconam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Fort Resort, Mussoorie from 25-29 May 2013; a package deal for 4n/5d. Excellent property, well maintained. If you are a family with 2 kids, then opt for executive or premium rooms only. Deluxe rooms are small for a family of 2+2.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddoomra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mussoorie hotels
3.3 mi away
JW Marriott Mussoorie Walnut Grove Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Jaypee Residency Manor
Jaypee Residency Manor
#10 of 77 in Mussoorie
842 reviews
1.6 mi away
WelcomHotel The Savoy
WelcomHotel The Savoy
#2 of 77 in Mussoorie
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Mussoorie
0.9 mi away
Sterling Mussoorie
Sterling Mussoorie
#4 of 77 in Mussoorie
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Amber - Vermont Estate
The Amber - Vermont Estate
#5 of 77 in Mussoorie
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Fort Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Fort Resort

Address: Picture Palace Road | Tara Hall Estate, Mussoorie 248179, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Mussoorie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Mussoorie
Price Range: $71 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Orchid Fort Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Orchid Fort Resort, Mussoorie assures you of royal treatment in The Queen of Hill Stations. Nestled amidst rich, lush green surroundings and boasting of the most exclusive views of the snow capped mountains and the Doon Valley, Fort Resorts is easily accessible from Dehradun by road & is well connected to Delhi by Train/Air. This majestic edifice of grace and grandeur has preserved the natural beauty of the legendary 6-acre Tara Hall Estate and is a tribute to modern architecture. Built like an ancient fort, Royal Orchid Fort Resort guarantees you both the pleasures of Royalty as well as the leisure of Family with its array of facilities like tastefully done rooms, a multi cuisine restaurant, 24-hour room service, satellite television, in room wi-fi, health club, spa, gaming zone, Banquet and Conferencing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid Fort Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing