We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aketa
Nearby Hotels
$111
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacific(Dehradun)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Solitaire(Dehradun)
$80
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$42
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel President(Dehradun)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inderlok Hotel(Dehradun)
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madhuban(Dehradun)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
234
215
32
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
234
215
32
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrajpur roadvalue for moneymr bhattthe hotel staffbuffet breakfastroom servicepleasant staynice lawncourteous stafffood qualitynice hotelexcellent stayneeds improvementexcellent hospitalitynice ambiencevisit dehradunrooms are big
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 496 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel Aketa is a very elegant and pleasent hotel to stay the rooms are very comfortable and clean the place has a good location very close to Mussorie , the staf are very courteous and friendly , Mr Rana the head sales especially ensured that our stay was very good .I will definitely recommend this Hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prasad_haldankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aketa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aketa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you very much again for your kind words of praise and encouragement. We are committed to extending even better services, facilities on your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Hotel have nice ambience, good food and service was Impressive. Stayed couple of days with my family enjoyed every day as hotel is in quite area and Mussorie is only 45 min drive. It will provide you comfort of Modern day living and feel of a resort with its garden.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are bigger and more comfy...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neemish s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aketa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aketa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you very much again for your kind words of praise and encouragement. We are committed to extending even better services, facilities on your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed there a couple of days . Friendly , helpful staff. Clean and good food .
Quiet even it lies at a main street but with a garden in front. Center easy to reach (about 4km to the center (clock tower).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aketa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aketa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much again for your kind words of praise and encouragement. We are committed to extending even better services, facilities on your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good place to stay with family. The lawn in front is good place to spent an evening with family.

The speed of service in restaurant needs to be increased. One gets the feeling that there is only one stove as the dishes come out one at a time.

The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: go with the manager's recommendation.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaeldsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aketa, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Aketa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Sir, Thank you very much again for your kind words of praise and encouragement. We are committed to extending even better services, facilities on your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked this hotel for my two day holiday after seeing the details on the hotels site. The room charges of Rs.6300 what I paid for a Deluxe room was more than what I pay for Taj or Le Meridian. Moreover there was a non refundable fee of Rs.900 charged by a company even when the room was booked directly. Still I booked this hotel and looked forward to comfortable stay with five star facilities.

Disappointment started from the moment I checked in. I found two staff at reception with grim faces who refused to even acknowledge our presence. The reception looked like the one in a low class hotel.

The room was the next disappointment, with only basic furniture and lighting. The bathroom was horrible. It didn’t have a bath tub and plastic bucket was provided.

Next day morning more shocks were in store for us. The breakfast spread was such that we could eat only cereals and tea. There was hardly anything which could be called as breakfast spread.

This is the first hotel I have seen in my last 35 years of traveling, who charges for items for making tea coffee.

Our stay for two days and three nights was the most horrible holiday. During our stay we couldn’t find any hotel staff with smiling face. The only exception was Mr.Priyavardhan Bhat who was helpful and smiling.

I wanted to give our feed back to the General Manager and requested for a meeting. But Mr.Ravi prakash Goel the GM of the hotel preferred not to meet us.

the hotel parking is having a board saying "Parking at owner's risk" that means, if you car is stolen from parking, the hotel is not responsible

This is not a hotel but a glorified lodging house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epsreekumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aketa, General Manager at Hotel Aketa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Sir,We are Grateful for your review of our property and services. However, we beg to differ with your opinion on certain counts and would like to mention a few things as clarification for other visitors who may be reading this review.

1. Our Hotel does not claim any star rating on website/brochures/ media. Hence, it is completely out of context to compare/rate our facilities with any 5 star deluxe property - Le Meridien. We also do not offer nor guarantee services at par with services our guests may command at tariffs being paid by them else where/ 5 star hotels.

2. Definitely, our front desk staff should be more welcoming and we would 'seriously' look into it and be more cheerful to greet.

3. We have not charged any thing over and above the printed rack rates and do not understand what you mean by non-refundable amount of Rs.900.00 charged by 'a company'.

4. We do not charge for Complimentary Tea making facility placed in the rooms. However, we have placed a card informing that there will be charges for extra Beverage Kits ordered - just to deter certain guests who make unreasonable 'refilling' requests at times. I feel the transparency shown here should be appreciated.

5. Our bathrooms are again simple and clean,compact units. Jaguar Cp fittings and Parry ware vitreous fixtures are the present standard. We have not advertised bath tubs and provide Clean Showers and buckets for one and all. In fact a number of our guests compliment us for having done away with these major water-guzzlers - more Eco friendly to have showers.

6. Our tariff is on Continental Plan basis and our daily spread at the coffee shop includes, just to name a few items, One North Indian main dish, one south Indian main dish, fresh fruits, live omelets/eggs to order, Falafel, Two types of breads, Cake slices, Fresh Juice, Three variety in cereals, Belgian Waffles, Grilled Sandwiches,etc.. We are surprised to hear from you about there being no choice. Moreover, if you had made known items of your personal choice, we'd definitely have done our best to make them available. Again, if one starts comparing our modest coffee-shop set up with a Le Brassiere at the Le Meridien - we admit to be caught wanting every day.

7. The GM did not decline to meet with the Guests, in fact when he asked Mr Priyavardhan Bhatt to seek a time from the Guest, he was told that the Guest's grievance(mineral water in the tea kit) has been resolved, and that they were no longer keen on a meeting.

8. Our Hotel is the only one in Dehardun providing covered parking and AC dormitory to chauffeurs for Free. It is the standard norm across the world that, the hotels do engage security to safe guard the property of their guests, however, no responsibility is accepted/owned by the hotel/lodge, simply there being a possibility that the Guest may be careless and forget to lock his/her vehicle. Even five star hotels do not provide Guaranteed/Theft-proof parking.

Lastly, while it is expected and demanded of the Hotel staff to be at their best and smiling always, I think it will help somewhat if our guests also keep their cool, and not go about tearing up bills for things which 'they' feel ought to be provided Complimentary, or were provided complimentary at a certain 5 star hotel.

We never close our doors on any of our Guests and its very rare that some vow never to return.

With Best Wishes,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews