We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in Dehradun”
Review of The Solitaire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Solitaire
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dehradun
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was visited The Solitaire Dehradun hotel in April 2013 for two nights.
From my experience it is the best hotel in Dehradun and I have already visited a few of them looking for good hotel as a business man which have good budget for it.
However it is all issue of alternatives, It is the best alternative for good hotel in Dehradun only, price are fair, you don't pay for Taj or Hilton and you don't get 5 stars level, but you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami6515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Solitaire, Owner at The Solitaire, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Solitaire Dehradun. We are highly thankful for your warm words of appreciation. It is our constant endeavor to provide you a pleasant stay at The Solitaire DehraDun.

We thank you and look forward to have you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 272 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

During my family visit to dehradun i stayed in solitaire hotel. It was an awesome and unforgettable experience. the service was too good and the staff was polite and courteous. I also used the spa facility which was a mind blowing experience. rooms were neat and clean and the ambience was too good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoojaBisht24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Solitaire, Owner at The Solitaire, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Solitaire Dehradun. We are highly thankful for your warm words of appreciation. It is our constant endeavor to provide you a pleasant stay at The Solitaire DehraDun.

We thank you and look forward to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I during my official visit to town had stayed in Solitaire, I found the hotel same as shown in pictures. the Manager who was very warm, courteous, polite & helpful & had personally attended me & on my request changed my room to a better view room. Food quality is good. room are very neat & clean.staff is also good & courteous. only thing is: the hotel is little away from city centre & should offer a pick & drop facility. I strongly recommend the Hotel for a comfortable & enjoyable stay. All my praise for the young Manager.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny" & make transport arrangement as it is located out of cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaviDua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Solitaire, Owner at The Solitaire, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Solitaire Dehradun. We are highly thankful for your warm words of appreciation. It is our constant endeavor to provide you a pleasant stay at The Solitaire DehraDun.

We thank you and look forward to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had organized my son's birthday party in The Solitaire.
This was the 7th birthday party i had thrown but this time it turned out to be the best experience ever due to the excellent food and ambiance, service and decoration themes we were shown and provided. Right from the beginning the young staff was keen to do some new themes for the party. It was not very expensive and worth every penny spent. The hotel took the whole responsibility of the decor, food, cake and even a perfect slideshow and left me without any hassle at all. I appreciate the personal effort taken by the hotel in the party and taking care of everything in a highly professional and flawless manner. This was a celebration with the highest level of finesse i have ever seen in my life. looking forward to many more parties at The Solitaire.
Highly recommended for celebration of party.

Room Tip: prefer a room which is either front facing so as to have a nice view of the drive-way and the founta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sonal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Solitaire, Owner at The Solitaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

It was indeed a pleasure to have your celebration with us at The Solitaire.
It is our constant endeavor to make every event successful by personal attention from the management as well as the managers.
We would be honored to host your parties in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My Sangeet was organised in one of The Solitaire's halls. The hall was booked almost 2 months in advance of the ceremony.

I can not begin to describe how badly the management had organized the event. We were not allowed a DJ because the glass walls were apparently very sensitive - which is understandable. However, we were promised a perfect music system (which is the entire point of a Sangeet/Music ceremony anyway). The music and sound system was awful and the mike and the speakers kept going off all the time so that any announcements or dance performances were badly interrupted.

My husband and I had prepared our first dance. We started dancing and the speakers just stopped working in the middle of the song leading to massive embarrassment.

The manager who was present there (whose name I cant remember but would definitely like to name when I do remember) completely failed to help us despite our complaints and requests that the music/sound system was not working properly. How is one supposed to hold a Sangeet function when the music/sound system is not working properly. There was nobody to assist with the sound system - although we had been promised that somebody would be around to handle the sound system in case anything went wrong.

For a hotel that boasts superiority to all hotels in Dehradun, this is the worst place one could organize a wedding event. Thanks to the hotel my entire Sangeet/Music ceremony was ruined.

Im amazed that the management did nothing to help us. Further, instead of offering an apology they were more concerned about collecting their payment from us. This hotel has the worst management ever and I can assure you that there were a lot of people from Dehradun present at the event and they will definitely not be hosting any event at this hotel.

Most people would call this defrauding because we were not provided the services that we were promised for the payment we made. And despite such a shoddy job, the hotel pressed us for the full payment. Therefore, please avoid this hotel for any functions/events.

My experience at the hotel has been nothing short of terrible. Just posing a hotel as a fancy hotel is not what makes it good - it is also the quality of service provided combined with amenities that makes a hotel a good one.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
7  Thank prachiharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Solitaire, Owner at The Solitaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

The Solitaire insists that sangeet and any events that need music and DJ system s be held in our wide choice of banquet and party venues, and not the conference hall. The conference hall, though supported by JBL speakers and sennheiser mikes is dedicated to support speech and debates but not dance and music.
The Solitaire assures all guests of high quality amenities, food, services and dedicated infrastructure for any kind of event.
Any dissatisfaction due to wrong instructions given by organizer is deeply regretted. We wish to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great location and even better food. This was my first visit to Dehradun and i was not disappointed with the services in this hotel. I am always skeptical about booking hotels online when I visit smaller cities but this one turned out to be really good. Well maintained, great service and this place was very well connected to most popular places i visited during my stay. Above all I would highly recommend trying food here as that was one of the best part of my stay here. Staff is courteous and well behaved.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank somrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Solitaire, Owner at The Solitaire, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Solitaire Dehradun. We are highly thankful for your warm words of appreciation. It is our constant endeavor to provide you a pleasant stay at The Solitaire DehraDun.

We thank you and look forward to have you with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

had the opportunity to stay at this wonderful hotel. It was a pleasant experience to spend time at this hotel with family, prompt service and clean rooms and washrooms.cheerful staff, quality matched the five star standards. the best part is that its situated in a peaceful environment, away from the bustle of the city but has good connectivity.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Komal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Solitaire, Owner at The Solitaire, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Solitaire Dehradun. It is our constant endeavor to provide you pleasant stay at The Solitaire DehraDun.

We thank you and look forward to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dehradun
4.3 mi away
Hotel Aketa
Hotel Aketa
#1 of 9 in Dehradun
473 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Dehradun Chakrata Road
7.2 mi away
Regenta LP Vilas Dehradun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seyfert Sarovar Portico, Dehradun
3.4 mi away
Hotel Shiva Residency,Dehradun
5.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Dehradun
Lemon Tree Hotel, Dehradun
#8 of 209 in Dehradun District
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Solitaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Solitaire

Address: Haridwar By-Pass Road | Kedar Puram, Dehradun 248001, India (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Dehradun District > Dehradun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dehradun
Price Range: $58 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Solitaire 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solitaire is the finest property in the picturesque city of Dehradun, offering a blend of elegance and luxury, comfort and style, professional dedication and care to make sure that all our guests get total satisfaction and their value for money. We specialize in caring for not just our guests, but also our environment - being a green hotel equipped with complete LED lighting, solar heating system, solid waste management, recycling of waste water, rain water harvesting and 5 star energy-saving air conditioning systems. Luxurious and well-appointed rooms welcome our guests with comfortable mattresses, high quality linen, electronic safe, cabinets, study tables, 40" LCD televisions, tea/coffee maker, well stocked mini bar, weather control system, DTH receivers, separate glass cubicles with rain showers and high speed Wi-Fi connectivity. All rooms have beautiful views of lush green landscape and hills. Step outside to rejuvenate oneself at the spa with facilities such as American hot tub, steam, sauna, chill, swimming pool and therapies by our highly trained personnel. The Solitaire has the following dining options: Emerald Court - multi cuisine fine dining, Amethyst - the only 24-hour coffee shop in town, Retro Pub - the beautiful poolside pub with exquisite music and a wide range of drinks to unwind. The Solitaire offers a plethora of customized wedding packages with a wide choice of styles, menus, themes, decor and venues - to cater to perfect destination weddings and make every event memorable. Our dedicated conference hall is fully equipped with JBL(R) speakers, Sennheiser(R) mikes, plasma televisions, projector and PA system which make it a perfect choice for business travelers and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Solitaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing