We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly priced, comfortable and very helpful and welcoming staff”
Review of Hotel Divya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Divya
Ranked #64 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was a good hotel overall, the appearance on the outside a little unusual but it was clean, cool and the staff were very friendly and only too willing to help and with understandable English. No hassle was received from the staff and no discrepancies on check out. The beds were comfortable and when the power cuts relented, the room was cool with the a/c. It was quiet here and very well situated for the ghats. Shops were right next door for water and nic nacs. The only criticism was that it was a bit of a trek in the rickshaw from the station but we were very pleased we made this choice. The children were girls aged 9 &10 and they enjoyed their stay too so I would recommend this hotel for families. There is a restaurant in the basement which was very slow on one day but the food is good if you can tolerate the wait. You can see the food cooked behind the glass. Definately consider this hotel if you want a reasonably priced, conveniently situated hotel for the ghats in Varanasi.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank g0bha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2009

Nice clean hotel.But the a/c s need to be more powerfull for the size of the rooms.I wanted a change of room as the a/c in the first was not working and they did so atonce

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PB K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Great location, within walking distance to the Ganga, Assi Ghat.
Front office: responsive, responsible, courteous and friendly.
Rooms: clean, well-done but no windows for fresh air. bathroom clean, with good water pressure.
Restaurant: friendly staff who need speeding up. tasty & safe food. restaurant has no windows either, but it has a c-thru kitchen.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

This was our first stop in India for a trip in March. The hotel is at the far north end of Ganges but you can walk down to the more central area in fifteen minutes.

The rooms were quiet enough (two single executive at a price of 1000 rupi each (~ $20). They have internet available and can manage sunrise boat tours on the ghat for cheap. It was enough for me that the place was pretty tranquil and the bathrooms were big enough and the shower was good. I was happy to have a nice bed and quiet room to sleep in after 25 hours of voyage. The room offered no problems in that department.

Don't get me wrong, it's not a four star hotel by any means. But for the price and location it's definitely a good deal for spending a few nights while visiting Varanasi.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forzuto13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The room and hotel are reasonably clean and comfortable - nothing special but we saw much worse in India at similar prices. The basement restaurant was a bit grim and fly infested so we only ate there once - food was below average but at least it didn't make us ill.

The location is good for the Assi Ghat area but with the corridors of the hotel being open to the street it can get noisy with passing traffic and the obligatory stray dogs that like to bark and sing every morning. There is a great shop and cafe called Open Hand very nearby - good spot for breakfast and an oasis in the madness of Varanasi.

The staff in reception were fine - very helpful and friendly and they organised our boat trip, day to Sarnath and train station/airport transfers for us without any fuss. However, there are a couple of waiters from the restaurant that you need to watch out for. One likes to offer to show you around the city but it's just a scam to get you to visit a silk shop owned by his uncle where he'll no doubt get commission. This guy also made advances on a female friend who was travelling with us - visiting her room uninvited and without reason late at night. The other waiter likes to ask to see your own countries currency and asks if he can take it away to show his family who haven't seen any before - not a very subtle scam that needless to say we didn't fall for.

Not such a bad hotel for the price overall with the exception of the dodgy waiters!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jagdish72, owner at Hotel Divya, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2009

Dear Tripadviser manegment,
Greetings from hotel Divya !!!

Thanks for your kind support to us & hope that time to time we have always your kind support through guest review. We are shoked that in the restaurant ,the waiter doing unauthorished activity & across their limits.
we assure that we must be improve our services & other aticates.

Hence be kindfull & morel co-operation to us for avoid further any in convinience give me personal email before show the review


Thanks & Regards
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

i am staying in this most attractive hotel. surprising look outside as well as inside. Reception is much decorative. Hotel staff and management are friendly. Neat and clean hotel with best service.
All most facilities available on reasonable rates. Manager is Good and helping nature. Restaurant is excellent in this locality with Transparent kitchen. Food is higenic and rates are reasonable. Good place for nice ,safe and peacefull stay. I am happy to recomond any one to stay in this property.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank panditNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

very mixed staff...some were friendly and some were downright surly.

the "suite" was grubby...dusty and grimy, with a rug that hadn't been shaken for months.
we had to ask for towels and toilet paper and the room wasn't cleaned every day.

excruciatingly slow breakfast service in the restaurant, so we stopped tipping.
really, how long does it take to make a couple of banana pancakes and a couple of cups of chai masala?
things were on the menu but not ever available.
however, nothing we ate in the restaurant ever actually made us sick, so that has to be a bonus.

nobody ever had the right change for anything so the rupees were slowly leached out of us.

there was internet that worked intermittently, but reasonably fast.

on the whole, for 2000 Rs a night, it was rubbish.
it was a real shock after the beautiful thoughtful service at the places we stayed in rajasthan.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandicoot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 79 in Varanasi
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Haifa
Hotel Haifa
#33 of 79 in Varanasi
246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ajaya Hotel
Ajaya Hotel
#68 of 79 in Varanasi
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#66 of 79 in Varanasi
20 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
436 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#29 of 79 in Varanasi
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Divya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Divya

Address: A-B Assi B.1/101 | Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $11 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Divya 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is very near to ganga ghat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Divya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing