We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD HOTEL WITH HOMELY ATMOSPHERE”
Review of Hotel Divya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Divya
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
New Delhi
1 review
“GOOD HOTEL WITH HOMELY ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

i am staying in this most attractive hotel. surprising look outside as well as inside. Reception is much decorative. Hotel staff and management are friendly. Neat and clean hotel with best service.
All most facilities available on reasonable rates. Manager is Good and helping nature. Restaurant is excellent in this locality with Transparent kitchen. Food is higenic and rates are reasonable. Good place for nice ,safe and peacefull stay. I am happy to recomond any one to stay in this property.

  • Liked — Comfortable and peacefull Room with Good attending staff
  • Disliked — no provision of lift at all
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank panditNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
14
22
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

very mixed staff...some were friendly and some were downright surly.

the "suite" was grubby...dusty and grimy, with a rug that hadn't been shaken for months.
we had to ask for towels and toilet paper and the room wasn't cleaned every day.

excruciatingly slow breakfast service in the restaurant, so we stopped tipping.
really, how long does it take to make a couple of banana pancakes and a couple of cups of chai masala?
things were on the menu but not ever available.
however, nothing we ate in the restaurant ever actually made us sick, so that has to be a bonus.

nobody ever had the right change for anything so the rupees were slowly leached out of us.

there was internet that worked intermittently, but reasonably fast.

on the whole, for 2000 Rs a night, it was rubbish.
it was a real shock after the beautiful thoughtful service at the places we stayed in rajasthan.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandicoot66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hotels in Varanasi seem to be a bit hit and miss - we felt we hit the jackpot with this one. Nice and quiet, everything worked, and a great little restaurant as well. The rooms are fairly small, but we were only there to sleep so weren't worried about that. Friendly and helpful staff too. HIghly recommended.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

I would highly recommend this hotel from the moment i saw its exterior i felt a calm pass over me its a hidden oasis in the madness of India. management were fantastic and its one of few hotels in varanassi that dont was there cloths in the ganges. had the nicest shower to rooms are cozy but super clean

  • Liked — the decore
  • Disliked — leaving it
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank keoghIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We were 5 girls staynig at Divya, small but good rooms, cheap 500 rupies for doble with bath, hot water 24 hours, internet acces, excelent restaurant (The transparent kitchen rest.). Lovely quiet area at Assi Ghat. Manager very helpful and honest. Really enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — decoration
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sucazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Near Assi Ghat, a much cleaner part of town than Old Varanasi. Close enough to Old Varanasi.
Very clean rooms although not very large. Showers with very hot water and tons of pressure! Very friendly and reliable staff. We would stay there again. Ask for a room that doesn't face the street, it'll be quieter.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness (and water pressure in shower which was great for India)
  • Disliked — Relatively small rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lonelyplanettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sonmony
Hotel Sonmony
#56 of 73 in Varanasi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#40 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ajaya Hotel
Ajaya Hotel
#65 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#29 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Divya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Divya

Property: Hotel Divya
Address: A-B Assi B.1/101 | Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Divya 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is very near to ganga ghat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Divya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing