We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“An excellent hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed hotel Surya for 2 nights in April 2010. I had very good time with their hospitality. This hotel is out of the crowed Varanasi. They have their regular tour to the River and other temples as your interest.Restaurant is the best part of it,swimming pool of course,spa,lovely green garden,balcony room with garden face and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. I will go there again and test their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitchoubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    290
    118
    58
    45
See reviews for
147
218
89
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stay in Hotel Surya at Varanasi has been a memorable experience. We travelled to Varanasi in Feb 2010. I had made an advance booking in its Super Delux room for 4 days. The experience was so good that we extend our stay for one more day. We liked several facts about this hotel and have decided that whenever we go to Varanasi, we will stay there only.

Location:
The hotel is centrally located in the Civil Lines area which is bit away from the madding crowd of the Holy City. Ribonned by River Varuna from one end, the place is surrounded by greenery and luxury all around. The Hotel itself is a Havely of the King of Nepal and house a legacy in itself. There are many major hotels in this area but all of them are located on the road resulting in the disturbance due to traffic and pollution. Surya enjoys being little away from all this. The JHV mall is at the walking distance from the hotel so you can always enjoy movies and shopping while stayig here. It is just half an hour away from the Railway Station. It is little far away from the Ghats but that can compensate itself through the Autorikshaws etc easily available just at the gate.

The Hotel:
This was the Haveli of the King of Nepal so the looks make you get the feel of Royal luxury iced with a modern uplift to come at par with the expectations of the guests coming here. Rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and luxurious. You can always bank on the privacy available. Room service is good but yes you should be ready to wait for the same for some time for them to come once you call them. The conduct of the staff is very good. The rooms face a big garden in the center of the hotel and you can enjoy the nature and the greenery by standing at the private balconies available with the super deluxe rooms. The bathrooms have bath tub and the facility of Hot and Cold water. Our room was quite spacious and was well lit. Color TV was available with all the cable channels catching.

Restaurant and Food:
This is one of the things you must not miss in this hotel. The Restaurant of Hotel Surya treats you with the best of the delicacies from various parts of the world. Everything is prepared fresh on order. You will have to wait for your order to serve and the wait is worth as the fresh and hot food that is served is sure to make your mouth water. Dishes are reasonably priced as per the standard of the hotel and the quality of the food served. The staff is also very courteous and caring. You can find all of them wearing the pride of the place and serving with a welcoming smile. We were even served an excellent Baigan ka Bharta that was otherwise not available on the menu. We ordered it when we started missing the home food. Every time we went to the restaurant the food used to be so good, we ended up overeating.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narendsureka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel is located at a very calm and quite place. It is having a big party lawn and all the facilities like: bar, massage parlour, saloon, and even shops to get some souvenir etc. Staff is very cooperative and understanding. I always stays in this hotel only.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

This must be the best hotel in Varansi, away from the chaos, overcrowding and dirt of this City of Darkness. Quiet with beautiful flowers surrounding the garden restaurant, especially the large Dahlias. The food was good as well and the rooms spacious and clean. But the waiters were a law to themselves. Sometime it took half an hour to get a drink, sometimes everything was fast and prompt. Sometime they refused to let you sit at the table of your choice and then the next day they brought table and chairs when the place was full. And they told you that you had to pay an additional 10% surcharge if charged to the room which was not true. Maybe they kept the cash.
Dieter and Zelda Rossi

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed in a “standard” (ie, the cheapest) double room, with attached Western toilet and (hot) shower, and TV, for 800 Rupees per night. The room was fairly tatty and uninspiring and would not, in my opinion, justify the cost if it weren’t for the fact that it is hidden away from the noise, dirt and bustle of the City. The “resort” has a garden, a bar area, and a nice restaurant, including decent indoor and outdoor communal seating areas, a general supplies shop, a souvenir shop, an internet café with wifi (100 Rupees per day), a travel agency and a lovely swimming pool which is free for guests.

The hotel is located a fair distance away from the ghats and the bulk of the restaurants, but is within about 1km of Varanasi Junction train station.

We stayed here because we needed a break from the hussle and bussle of Indian City streets. It’s very touristy and not really a travellers’ haunt (and not somewhere we’d usually stay) but it did provide us with the opportunity to rest for a couple of days, after some pretty tiring and stressful travelling.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Stay in Hotel Surya at Varanasi has been a memorable experience. We travelled to Varanasi in Feb 2010. I had made an advance booking in its Super Delux room for 4 days. The exeprience was so good that we extend our stay for one more day. We liked several facts about this hotel and have decided that whenever we go to Varanasi, we will stay there only.

Location:
The hotel is centrally located in the Civil Lines area which is bit away from the madding crowd of the Holy City. Ribonned by River Varuna from one end, the place is surrounded by greenery and luxory all around. The Hotel itself is a Havely of the King of Nepal and house a legacy in itself. There are many major hotels in this area but all of them are located on the road resulting in the disturbance due to trafic and polution. Surya enjoys being little away from all this. The JHV mall is at the walking distance from the hotel so you can always enjoy movies and shopping while stayig here. It is just half an hour away from the Railway Station. It is little far away from the ghats but that can compensate itself through the Autorikshaws etc easily available just at the gate.

The Hotel:
This was the Haveli of the King of Nepal so the looks make you get the feel of Royal luxury iced with a modern uplift to come at par with the expectations of the guests coming here. Rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and luxurious. You can always bank on the privacy available. Room service is good but yes you should be ready to wait for the same for some time for them to come once you call them. The conduct of the staff is very good. The rooms face a big garden in the center of the hotel and you can enjoy the nature and the greenery by standing at the private balconies available with the super delux rooms. The bathrooms have bath tub and the facility of Hot and Cold water. Our room was quite spacious and was well lit. Color TV was available with all the cable channels catching.

Resturant and Food:
This is one of the things you must not miss in this hotel. The Resturant of Hotel Surya treats you with the best of the delicacies from various parts of the world. Everything is prepared fresh on order. You will have to wait for your order to serve and the wait is worth as the fresh and hot food that is served is sure to make your mouth water. Dishes are reasonably priced as per the standard of the hotel and the quality of the food served. The staff is also very courteous and caring. You can find all of them wearing the pride of the place and serving with a welcoming smile. We were even served an excelent Baigan ka Bharta that was otherwise not available on the menu. We ordered it when we started missing the home food. Everytime we went to the resturant the food used to be so good, we ended up overeating.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varun_swarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2010

The staff at the reception is very cordial particularly the floor manager who goes an extra mile to make the guest feel at home. The cleaniness of the hotel is quite noticeable .
The open air restaurant is very good and the service provided by the staff is very prompt.
The food at the restaurant is upto the mark.
Travel service provided by the travel desk is prompt and at the reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank govindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,428 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
3.4 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing