We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasent stay in Varansi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“Pleasent stay in Varansi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I went to the hotel in February 2014
Spacious and confortable rooms, friendly staff good location.
Restaurant is very good. Excellent facilites, however, they charge for internet access.
Overall, a great and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JHD2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are very happy you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to see you again you return to Varanasi. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    282
    116
    56
    44
See reviews for
142
213
87
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Totally good hotel iam mention only - points to improve phone maintence and only one plug point is is room should provide one more to charfge the cell Like food.but to add south indian dishes.totally good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank ratho4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your suggestions and will look into making the changes. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place is dirty, dingy, depressing. Dirt everywhere and stained sheets made this an appalling two days. Thank goodness we were only there to sleep. The front desk staff was glum and unfriendly (with the exception of one nice woman). The cleaning and bell staff were very nice and friendly. The main argument against this place is that it appears to be crumbling. We spent three weeks in India and accepted that there would be some issues wherever we stayed, but Hotel Surya was a complete disappointment:

1. Dirty
2. No hot water
3. No safe
4. Stained sheets and towels
5. Chipped and dented furniture.

We were supposedly in a premium room, which is a deceptive phrase. I'd hate to see what the lower quality rooms were that we were upgraded from.

The restaurant and its staff was quite good. The grounds were pretty, as was the pool.

With over 100 reviews on Trip Advisor, I take the responsibility to review fairly (if you look at my other postings, you'll notice that I am fairly generous). This hotel is a bad choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themajortraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
I am very surprised and disappointed to read your review about your stay with us. If there is anything I can do to personally assist you, I would appreciate the chance. Please feel free to contact me at director@hotelsuryavns.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

As included in our Buddhist Pilgrimage tour, we stayed in Hotel Surya for two nights in rainy January weather. While dismal outside, the room was comfortable although an update would be in order. While mostly foggy, the view from our room of the courtyard was quite nice. The food served buffet style in the restaurant was very good and was our first exposure in country to Indian food. The staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and accommodating. Service at the front desk was good although we did have trouble with the chargeable WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkirkatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us at Hotel Surya. We are especially happy to hear your positive comments about our staff. We hope you will visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The experience of staying in Hotel Surya was delightful. The staff is very helpful and addressed to our needs immediately. We wanted a room with balcony and courtyard view and were accommodated on second day when we mentioned about our preference. The restaurant staff were always pleasant and catered to our needs quickly (decent tips help and that is not surprising). The buffet breakfast was excellent. The hotel is away from the din and bustle of Varanasi Ghats and that was refreshing to us. Autorickshaws and taxis are available at the hotel doorstep for your travel needs in the city.

The layout of the hotel and the flower gardens are pleasing. The room tariff is about INR 4000 (USD $65 or so) per room per night, which seemed to us quite reasonable, considering the amenities that were provided. I shall be be happy to recommend the hotel to anyone who might be thinking about visiting Varanasi.

Room Tip: I would prefer third or fourth floor room with balcony that faces the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_Worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hotel Surya is just a great experience , perfect location, service is perfect, staff was attentive and friendly, Manager Mr. Singh is very supportive.
i recommend all to all my friends and relative when visiting Varanasi must check in Hotel Surya.


Thumbs UP !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad_ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for reviewing us. We are very happy to share your feedback with Mr. Singh. We hope you will stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel thru travel agent. The buildings are impressive and the grounds are also lovely, All the people were very helpful and friendly, although the front desk had a couple of men who need retraining. The spa offered wonderful services and the staff was delightful.The restaurant was just ok. We did not get sick but I cannot say that we had a memorable meal there. The rooms are ok , if spartan and could use some upgrading. The nicest wing of the hotel is reserved for the absentee owner and comprises about 1/3 of the hotel.What a waste! Still,the hotel is outside the city center yet convenient to all points of interest.The hotel's manager was very helpful and friendly and takes his guests' satisfaction seriously. If there is a problem seek him out rather than get frustrated dealing with an underling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mitalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful. Hotel Surya has been family owned and operated for over 30 years. Our family has always lived on the property and is rarely 'absent'. If we are not in our house, it is only because we are working with guests in the hotel. I hope that we may meet with you when you visit us in Varanasi again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
3.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing