We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Explorer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #11 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Explorer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hotel in the middle of the city. Not so in Varanasi. Even if the city's most interesting spots are along the river, it is worth travelling 20-30 minutes by taxi from Hotel Surya to the narrow streets and paths close to the river. The hotel arranged a tour including a boat to the river for Arti/Pooja.
Excellent Staff.
Though it was 30 Dec, the room was cold, Heating unit take long while to heat up.
Only stayed for 1 night, would visit again.

Room Tip: Location very good. Good enough for few days. Helpfull staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments about our staff. It is wonderful for them to hear such feedback from guests. We hope you were also able to see Sarnath, the Buddhist holy site, which is also close to our hotel. We look forward having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    278
    116
    56
    44
See reviews for
141
210
87
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We often prefer a hotel in the middle of the city. Not so in Varanasi. Even if the city's most interesting spots are along the river, it is worth travelling 20-30 minutes by taxi from Hotel Surya to the narrow streets and paths close to the river. The hotel can arrange a fixed tour including a boat to the river, or you can ask for Baba, the taxi-driver, who will probably wait for you outside the hotel, - or even at the airport. Then he will know were to take you.

The buildings are tastefully forming an atrium with a great lawn in the middle. The rooms have a balcony facing the lawn. In the evening you can choose to have your dinner in the fashionable restaurant or out on the lawn. The food is excellent, especially the mutton masala.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear4022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed staying with us and took the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the restaurant tips for our future guests. We hope you will visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My three-night stay at the Hotel Surya in the cantonment area of Varanasi was from 31st August to 3rd September 2013. I had previously stayed here in April 2011 and choose to return because of my good experience then. While it is a large complex, on both occasions it was not heavily booked. Staff members were efficient and pleasant. The restaurant had an extensive menu. Especially good was the buffet breakfast. My room, while small, had a good view over the courtyard and was clean. The only drawback is the distance from the Ghats on the River Ganges. However, hotel staff members readily organised auto-rickshaws, the price for which were always equitably reasonable. After two experiences here, I can confidently recommend the Hotel Surya.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Transcontinental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are very happy to hear that you are a returning guest to the hotel. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

It could have been a great hotel. But there's a long way to go! The staff wasn't hospitable. I'm not sure if it was a case of North Indians looking down upon South Indians, but the attitude was appalling. We had booked a premium room and were initially given a deluxe room. On complaining (arguing) that the room was full of insects and that there was no water coming out of the taps in the bathroom, the Manager shifted us to another. But this room was better than the previous in every way! Better, but not Premium for sure. The first room was definitely 'standard' and the second was 'deluxe' at best. 'Premium' is a term that has been used loosely with regards to the rooms. The bathrooms weren't all that clean. I saw three rooms and stayed in two others. All of them had paan-stained shower curtains and dirty towels. The food was ordinary except for the khichdi, which kept me going for 6 meals! The Manager was not too friendly and did show some attitude. I persisted on knowing the owner's name and number, and I was finally given the number of Mr. Abhimanyu. I didn't bother calling because honestly, I was glad to just leave the city. The bellboy was probably the most pleasant and friendly person in the entire hotel. With regards to location, almost all the hotels in Varanasi are located within a 2 km radius of this one. So there's no point cribbing that it is far. All of them are! It takes half an hour to reach most places of interest. Final verdict: a decent place (6/10), take a look at a few rooms that are available before you check in, avoid room service and save yourself the trouble of getting rid of pesky waiters!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totem_41_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are located in the Cantonment area, among other hotels. The best part about this location is that in one direction is the ghats, and in the other direction, Sarnath. Both are important sites to visit while in Varanasi. Some of the issues you have brought up, have fortunately been taken care of since your stay. Thank you for the positive comments about the bell boy. He was very happy to hear your appreciation. Please contact me at director@hotelsuryavns.com. I am happy to directly work with all our guests, present, past and future and regret that my contact information was not given immediately when asked. I look forward to speaking with you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

You can tell whoever is running this place has a lot of big ideas, with a wonderful eye for design. We really enjoyed many aspects of our stay. The hotel had a street food fair, allowing guests who didn't want to risk eating many foods prepared on the streets to try many wonderful foods not necessarily offered in restaurants. The food was delicious and a lot of attention paid to making it a beautiful and authentic experience. The grounds and rooms are very nice. What we did not enjoy was the repeatedly surly service we received from the front desk. After being spoiled by homestays with excellent hosts, the front desk service almost ruined my stay here. A smile goes a long way. The bar was closed during its advertised happy hour and we could not get coffee in the place that advertised coffee and looked like a coffee house.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed the Street Food Festival. We had a lot of fun putting that on and will definitely do it again. We appreciate the feedback you have about the front desk staff and have taken care to change the staffing. Mangi Ferra now opens at 10am, so guests are free to enjoy their espresso drinks anytime after that. We hope you will come visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, Jharkhand, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, with a big lawn, a beautiful cafeteria and big enough rooms and one of the finest restaurants in town . These are the good points.
Bad points: the Staffs are not so courteous with the "Desi"/Indian Travellers. On the other hand they are extremely friendly and helpful with the Non-Indians. Yes i may sound somewhat irrational, but this was what i felt !!

an example : it was 10:25 am, breakfast timings were till 10:30, almost all the service pans were empty and when we entered they said "sir you are late, so we cant re fill the pans" !!
So we helped ourselves with whatever option we were left with. Suddenly at around 10:45 am a group of american travellers entered for the break fast and amazingly all the waiters and managers comes at their service and within a few minutes all the service pans are filled just the way it would had been a couple of hours ago ... !!
So, if you are a non Indian, and want to vist varanasi, I definitely think this is the place you are looking for, they dont over charge for anything, they wont lie to you like the others, and above all they are very helpful and friendly.
I think its very good and also a great business strategy to welcome the non-indians as per our customs of "athiti devo bhava " , and even i support it !!
But still i felt a little bad with the differential treatment .

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We have shared your experience with our restaurant staff in our last training. Your communication only helps us to improve. I hope you will choose to stay with us again and see a difference in the restaurant when you return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here on 1st Jan & 12th Jan 2014. The hotel was full of foreign customers. The hotel was beautifully lit in the evening. It has ample car parking, a multi cusine restaurant and a swimming pool. The rooms on the 1st floor appeared to be bigger than the ones on the 2nd floor. Overall a very nice experience. Just one bit of caution - the guy at the front desk is glum and most unobliging - infact should be in hospitality business in my view - just clinically incapable of even smiling which a the most basic trait required here. This hitch apart, the hotel is fine - it even has an internet cafe, a spa, a travel desk and boutiques to pick up souveneirs from.

Room Tip: Take 1st floor garden facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your compliments about the hotel. We thank you for the helpful comments about the staff at the front desk. We will use this information to improve our future guests' experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
3.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#12 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing