We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice property, if you have time on hand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Pune, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A nice property, if you have time on hand!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Don't get fooled by the facade, this one is a big property with spacious rooms and bathrooms, nice lawns, amazing pool, handicraft shops, spa, travel desk, ample parking space and nice restaurant. You will get to see all this once you are past the reception.
The manager, Mr. Ajay Mishra, is a warm person, ready to help a guest in need. The staff in general is courteous and the property is neat and clean thanks to the cleaning staff who is on its feet all the time. The travel desk (travel planet) is another plus point as it gives you in-house cab service with excellent drivers like Mr. Nand Lal.
But there are some things you will have to put up with like old bathroom fittings, delayed room service. mixed orders and boring buffet breakfast. So, if you have time on your hand and ready for little adjustments, this is a little green paradise in the bustle of the city!

Room Tip: avoid 108 & 107.... the rest are good rooms..... also, if you can afford it, take a room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deshanupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are very appreciative of your review and have shared it with our staff. They were happy to hear that you enjoyed their service. We hope you will visit with us again when in Varanasi. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    282
    116
    56
    44
See reviews for
142
213
87
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived almost at midnight without a reservation and so we were grateful to find helpful and welcoming staff who checked us in quickly and efficiently and even made sure we could still get room service at that time. A really nice and relaxing hotel built round a lovely lawn area, with a great breakfast buffet and although we had fairly basic rooms, they were clean and comfortable with AC and decent bathrooms. We particularly appreciated having a secure parking area where we could leave our vehicle without worry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alongwayback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience with others. We are grateful of your patronage and hope to see you at the hotel soon. Namaste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is fine, clean room and good restaurant With good breakfast (a little high prices).
It's strange to pay a wi-fi service. We paid the service for 24h and the signal was not strong in our room. After one hour, due to the rain the wi-fi just stopped working for all the 23 hours left (we called the reception to let them know the problem).
The day after we asked not to have our money back but to have just two hours free to call home via Skype and to send two email for work. Denied. Bah....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovanniCeccarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. We have shared your experience with our front desk staff and trained them how to handle such a request. When our wifi is down, we typically refund the fees to the guest. I'm sorry we did not handle your request for additional time better. I hope you will visit with us again when in Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, away from the main road help keep noise down to nothing, We ordered room service this was fine, we used the pool which was very welcome in the heat and we ate in the restaurant most night and the food was lovely.
We had breakfast every morning, this was a great set up for the day.
Servicing of the rooms was everyday if you wanted it, some time the sheet would have small stains on but nothing to bother about.
Over all I would go back and tell other to do so,
I knew people that also used the hair dressing and beauitie department there and were very happy with what they got.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about Hotel Surya with others. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Surya provided 5* service from the minute I walked in reception. Every member of staff I came in to contact with was friendly, welcoming and seemed very happy to be there. Throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I stayed in a deluxe room which was quite simple and a little out-dated but the bed was extremely comfy, good shower, coffee facilities and international tv channels. Also, a nice little balcony with views over the gardens.
The hotel has a good sized swimming pool with relaxing music and a poolside bar with food and drinks available.
The main restaurant is stylish and has a huge choice of international food and just next door is the Sol bar which offers cocktails, wines and bar snacks. It has a good happy hour offer from 4-7pm although a single foreign female may feel a little uncomfortable because it is often full of groups of Indian men that like to stare....but the same menu is available in the restaurant as an alternative.
The Cafe set in the gardens offers great coffee, cocktails and a range of flavoured shisha (hookah).
We ordered room service and it was very efficient, they even allowed us to order something that wasn't on the room service menu.
The girls in the spa were really nice and I was very happy with the waxing, massage, pedicure and henna that I got during my stay. I recommend a visit there!
The only thing to watch out for is the added tax and service charge. The prices in the menus are before tax and so if you forget, you might be shocked when you get the bill!
Overall, Surya provided a great experience and a very relaxing holiday-feel stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed staying with us. Your detailed and informative review will be very helpful for our future guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope you will come back to Varanasi and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singrauli, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It's a nice hotel with a very beautiful garden and swimming pool. There is a spa which is so great, staffs are so good, atmosphere is awesome, but 1st day a room-service boy told me it's timing 11am. to 8pm., in evening i know the actual timing 8am. to 8 pm. so i miss spa 1st day and enjoy only 2nd day. Food is good specially breakfast(cake) was so yummy. Room service is very bad, morning i ordered a glass of milk for my baby and a tea/ coffee kit but i was wait approx 1 hour for this( i call room service 3-4 times but there is nobody to attend the call.) and when i ask the waterier for tea/coffee kit he say that u call housekeeping for this........ . In evening i ordered a whisky in bar then there is no ice........ But except this i enjoy here a lott. This is a great hotel with all facilities, good staff. room service and bathrooms need spl attention.

Room Tip: Rooms with Balkony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepakagarwal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about the hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the opportunity to improve our room service with your suggestions and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We passed 4 nights at surya. This hôtel is just a shame. Bugs everywhere in the room. Bed sheets very dirty. The staff is absolutelyno friendly and tthé swimming pool is non clean everyday and smell bad. People from out from the hôtel have acces to the swimming pool for a very cheap price so it's absolutely no quiet and some days you can not have a sunbed. Internet acces is not free and very low. There is Many hotel in varanasi don't come here. If you want to come here only for the swimming pool it's better to stay in an other place and go to swimming pool for the Day. You can see other comment. Be aware if you choose to stay here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chacunsontour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I sincerely hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip in India and choose not to view this country through such critical eyes. I clearly remember we did everything to go out of our way to accommodate you. You told us before booking that "We have a famous travel blog and will be happy to recommend your place." It is a shame that because we did not provide a room rate only found in backpacker hostels that you choose to badmouth us. As a company, we feel lied to and cheated. I do hope that future guests read the other reviews that are based on true experiences and not individual negative attitudes. Please enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
3.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
1,158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#13 of 73 in Varanasi
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing