We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay very far from Surya hôtel... The baddest hôtel in varanasi” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #11 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay very far from Surya hôtel... The baddest hôtel in varanasi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We passed 4 nights at surya. This hôtel is just a shame. Bugs everywhere in the room. Bed sheets very dirty. The staff is absolutelyno friendly and tthé swimming pool is non clean everyday and smell bad. People from out from the hôtel have acces to the swimming pool for a very cheap price so it's absolutely no quiet and some days you can not have a sunbed. Internet acces is not free and very low. There is Many hotel in varanasi don't come here. If you want to come here only for the swimming pool it's better to stay in an other place and go to swimming pool for the Day. You can see other comment. Be aware if you choose to stay here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chacunsontour2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I sincerely hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip in India and choose not to view this country through such critical eyes. I clearly remember we did everything to go out of our way to accommodate you. You told us before booking that "We have a famous travel blog and will be happy to recommend your place." It is a shame that because we did not provide a room rate only found in backpacker hostels that you choose to badmouth us. As a company, we feel lied to and cheated. I do hope that future guests read the other reviews that are based on true experiences and not individual negative attitudes. Please enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    278
    116
    56
    44
See reviews for
141
210
87
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Whenever you visit Varanasi, the land of temples and the land of spirituality you are amazed by the joy among the crowd, you are amazed by the energy this city has. And fortunately, apart from the above I was also amazed by the hospitality and beauty of Hotel Surya.

On a business trip, it was a short stay of one night. When you enter the hotel, it will look like you are entering a palace. The place is serene and beautiful. If you don't want your mood turned off, ignore the reception and the receptionist, it looks like a bad patch on this beautiful property. It could have been bigger, brighter and some cool guys/girls handling the reception. However, I was quickly appointed a room of my choice on 2nd floor, room was quite spacious, tee coffee maker was inside the room, bathroom was clean and nice. View from my balcony was amazing, neatly mowed lawns beautiful heritage building (I was told by one Auto guy, that the some part of the hotel land belonged to the king of Nepal). Everything about it was cool.

If you want to eat something, at-least spare good 20-30 minutes as the restaurant is in other building. Better to go and eat there. Food was nice, served well, good in quality and quantity. Breakfast to was well spread and tasty.

Hotel has a swimming pool, which is very nice and well maintained. I spent almost 3-4 hours in the pool with a beer. Hotel is a hit with foreign guest, even the most nosy foreigner would fall in love with this hotel. Had a great sleep and good fun and good business. Highly recommended property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepshukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are honored and grateful for your review of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear about your experience and we hope you will choose to stay with us and visit Varanasi again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my second stay in Hotel Surya in last 1 year. Hotel is located in Cantt area just 400 metres from JHV Mall & Hotel Radisson.
Its a grand property and give a feel of a palace. Check-in was quick. Got 20% corporate discount on the Premium room which is the highest catagory. We took 2 rooms (1 single occupancy (3100 rs & 1 double occupancy 3600 rs). Both rooms were inter-connected which is a good part.

Beds were cozy, LCD was 22 inch and diagnal from the bed which does not give a very good view. The balcony opens to the palace which is soothing to eye. Washroom did not have bath-tub which is standary in other 3 star hotels. Room size is above average.

Service is pathetic. The kitchen is located in a different building hence it takes lot of time for waiters to bring food. Specially the second servings makes the gusets to wait endlessly. Food is Ok and priced decently.

Mostly foreign tourists were staying in the hotel. Swimming pool is good. They also have Spa facility from 8 am to 8 pm. Complementary breakfast is average. Parking is ample.

Overall decent stay but serivce needs improvement.

HOTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE DENTAL KIT, NOT EVEN ON PAYMENT! STRANGE!!

Room Tip: Choose room 212 and 213 (premium catagory) which are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nariyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you decided to come back and stay with us as a return guest. We are thankful for the feedback you have brought up and will work on your concerns. Thanks to your comments, dental kits are now available to our guests upon request. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Is a beautiful hotel in Varanasi, good gardens and good restaurants and even some rooms are good but rooms in old wing are not in good shape and room service almost doesn't exist, you don't even get water forget the tea.

Room Tip: Go for a room in new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YogeshS0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments as well as your constructive feedback, which can only help us improve. We hope you will choose us again when in Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night during a business trip to varanasi. Got to know about it from my travel agent, The rooms are ok and do not offer much luxury, however, were spacious and clean. I was given a room in the slide lobby, which is not very good. I think the rooms in the main wing are good and have private balcony as well. There were lot of mosquitoes outside the room,however you cant help it, they will be everywhere during the season.

The food was marvellous, the interiors of the restaurant are nice. Other than that they have a cafe as well which is designed artistically. They have in-house travel agent, who can arrange everything in varanasi. The location is good, with many good hotels around.

Overall, i must say that it is good value for money, given that it is difficult to find affordable rooms, in varanasi, during the peak seasons.

Room Tip: Take room on the main wing with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Varanasi. We are happy that you liked the food and our other services that we offer. We hope you will stay with us again when visiting Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice location of rooms , good atmosphere,nice food, friendly staff, WiFi, every room having own balcony, really very nice stay there ,am fully satisfied to surya hotel varanasi. And also this hotel is very near to railway station and shopping mail and cinema hall for evening enjoyment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratanDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Surya. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

the rooms where ok, not more, not less. Comparing to the cost it was bearly ok. BUT There is a swimmingpool :) So all together its walue for the money. We didnt try the restaurant for lunch or dinner but we did eat breakfast since it was included in the roomprice. There was quite a lot to chose from so i give tha a strong 3+.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are thankful that you chose to stay with us and hope you will do so again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
3.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 76 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#13 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#7 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing