We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveler rating
253
337
133
66
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
337
133
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool sol bar canton royale cantonment area buffet breakfast pizza hut balcony overlooking travel desk an oasis indian food tuk tuk hot water the river railway station spa ghats lawns
Filter
Updating list...
538 - 543 of 837 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our tour group stayed at this hotel for two nights and to this point of our trip it was one of the best hotels that we stayed at.

Our room was comfortable as was the bed. We had no issue with our bathroom, it was clean and the water was hot, all I could ask for.

My wife and I enjoyed the dining room and we certainly appreciated the friendly service we received from the staff.

The buffet breakfast was good, though Indian cuisine dominated. However, if spice and heat are not your choices then there were enoughf options for a plainer start to the day.

Lunch and dinner choices are good and if you want to stay in, then you can eat well and comfortably.

To get to the Gatts and the Ganges requires a taxi but remember the train station is close, but taxis are not expensive, just the normal frantic traffic to negotiate.

There are a few shops within the hotel, postcards and stamps plus some well priced clothing were our purchases, so do have a look.

There is also a small but upmarket mall 200 metres up from the Hotel. It was a good place for an ice cream or a coffee, and it certainly was a quiet place.

If you go toward the city centre you can access local stalls and shops, including a pharmacy if you need. We did and they were helpful and efficient.

I like the look of this Hotel and when we go back to Varanasi this is where we will stay.

GordonR

Room tip: There is a service lift at the rear of the hotel, there is more room and is not as heavily used. Find it.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your compliments and positive review. It makes us very happy to know that you had a nice time while staying at our hotel. Your review is very detailed and will definitely help our future guests with information to know before staying with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for four nights last August and loved it. The only hotel where I felt myself and my belongings were safe. Super clean, super air conditioned, amazing nights sleep.

The pool was wonderful and the staff couldn't have done more to help. Eating dinner out on the lawn was just magical. Excellent. Thankyou!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We are so honored and grateful for you review of Hotel Surya. It is really a pleasure for us to receive such a great review. Thank you so much and we look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is located 10 mins from Varanassi Junction railway station. The staff on check in were excellent and friendly. The rooms were clean however the bathroom could do with upgrading. The buffet breakfast was average and served in a very nice dining room. We organised a couple of trips on the River Ganges with the excellent in house travel firm located directly behind reception. One of the drivers, Raju, was excellent and we used him for all of our journeys. He is a credit to the hotel. The swimming pool was clean and the pool staff were very attentative. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetervCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We're also glad that your experience with the staff was memorable and that you could let us know who made an impact with you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a wonderful colonial-feel hotel. The Swimmingpool is excellent and a welcome sight after a day out in the heat of Varanasi. The hotel is centrally located and the restaurant top notch and quite affordable.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrutusWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Now is the perfect time to cool off at our pool and get away from the heat. We offer cocktails and our food menu poolside, so you can enjoy the pool all day. We provide a day pass for visitors of the city who aren't staying with us, but would like to come take a dip. We hope you will continue to visit Hotel Surya. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I wonder if we arrived a day earlier, a room was provided Disposition us immediately. The staff at the hotel, as well as that of the restaurants was absolutely great. Also, the pool staff were very helpful and friendly.
For my next visit, certainly my first address!
Supper we had a great stay.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank bijoux64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us while in Varanasi. Thank you for taking a moment to review us on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews