We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotels in Varanasi are hit or miss. The Hotel Surya is a solid hotel. You get clean accommodations, a nice restaurant, and a clean bathroom for a reasonable rate. It is about 20 minutes from the city via rickshaw or cab which is not a bad deal. We reserved a cab for a day which was a good deal for us. It is better to eat here or at the Gateway hotel during your stay than anywhere else in Varanasi. The food is not sanitary in many places, but is here.
The staff was helpful and provided us with whatever we requested promptly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We're glad that you can count on us to provide you with a high standard of accommodations and food. It is wonderful to hear when our guests are comfortable and happy concerning their experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    289
    118
    57
    44
See reviews for
145
217
88
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our agents booked us in at Surya during the Holi festival. It may have been difficult for them to find accommodation. The hotel was just adequate, but much the poorest one in our 15 day tour. Early difficulty was to ensure the hotel reception gave us the rooms we booked for well in advance and not the more basic ones. The only troublesome reception/ management we had in our whole visit. Rooms were not very fresh . Meals were of fairly good standard. Restaurant was across the garden courtyard.Other staff generally helpful. Our TOUR and guide in Varanasi provided a wonderful experience, Ganges at dawn, Holi festival a wonderful inspiring experience, friendly atmosphere at Holi, with a good sense of fun. Sadly NOT what we experienced at reception/ management .

Room Tip: Got to be better hotels than this one. Book somewhere early to get better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are always looking to improve, and will use your feedback to help further train our reception staff. Thank you for this opportunity and we hope you will give us another chance to serve you if you visit Varanasi again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location has its pros and cons.

Varanasi can be very overwhelming and hectic , this hotel is at 10 kms of the center. So it is a nice cut after a busy time in town. However it takes long to reach the town (15 minutes by car or 25 by tuc tuc).

The hotel has a travel agency, which provides you with tours and car services.
The tours are affordable (350 roupies). They offer morning and evening tours + 1 tours in the afternoon in Sarnath. I recommand these tours.

They have a nice restaurant where food is good and afordable. There is a bar and a cafe , mainly locals and outsiders go there.

The spa is nothing special.

Now, the room service there is really bad. In 3 days they did not clean our room a single time. When people would leave their trays with leftovers in the corridors, it would take the staff 2 days to collect them.
The rooms are old and very basic. It is more a hostel than a hotel. So no good value for money.
At the time I booked the other hotels were full, so as a plan B it is fine but I would not recommend it to my friends if they can find better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christophec638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our different dining choices. Mangi Ferra Cafe, Canton Royale Restaurant, and SOL Bar give our guests a variety of options within our hotel. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience with housekeeping and room service. I appreciate the chance to address these issues based on your feedback. On a positive note, all our Deluxe rooms are currently being updated as the Superior and Premium category rooms were previously. We hope you will come visit us when in Varanasi again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We didn`t stay at this hotel but since it was within sight of the Radisson we went over for a drink and dinner.
The cocktails were first class - and in Happy Hour too. The dinner was acceptable but we ate alone as there were no other diners.
The gardens are very well cared for and make for a pleasant evening stroll.
As a matter of interest for a possible future visit we asked to look at some of the rooms and asked the price. The most expensive room is the Premium which was far better than anything we had seen in the Radisson - and the price was less than half that of the Radisson!
Algun.

Room Tip: A "premium" room looks to be excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We're so glad that you came to visit us even though you were staying at another hotel. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us next time you are in Varanasi. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked deluxe room online for a four night stay. Checked into a room that was not nice (no natural light, bare florescent tube and orange bulb, mosquitoes, stale & airless, no toilet paper). Next day upgraded to a "superior" room (with difficulty from reception even though several rooms were ready and available). Superior room was much nicer, well worth the cost (natural light, balcony, air flow, roomier, renovated bathroom). Service varied by the day:Fine on the weekend and Monday, poor mid week. Cleaning service came early one morning so we said no need to clean, then the next day they didn't show though we hung "please clean my room" sign on the door. Pool was nice - open to people not staying at hotel. One morning, restaurant phoned, woke us before 8 am- to say the buffet was closing, come immediately if we wanted breakfast. Daughter called reception to verify and was told breakfast would indeed be available until as scheduled, but we were already awake...) Arrived to find no coffee, no clean juice glasses and half the regular food selection, a few other grumpy guests. Hotel location pleasant and quite, 20- 30 minute ride from the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisbeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate the communication about the housekeeping and restaurant confusions that occurred during your stay. We are working to ensure that these problems don't occur again. We are glad you enjoyed our Superior rooms. Our Deluxe rooms that you checked into first are currently being renovated and will be up to the same standard as the Superior and Premium ones. We do hope you will choose to stay at Hotel Surya when back in Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked the hotel with good reviws from a collegue. The travel desk was good and guided us well and saw that we had a memorable tour and darshan. But the rooms were a big dissapointment, filled with mosquitoes and broken latches in washrooma and poorly maintained hygiene. The food is too expensive for the quality provided. Not advicing a stay for such a price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SrijanaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We're very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and take your comments very seriously. We are looking into the concerns you have brought us. Thank you for staying with us and I do hope you will give us another try when in Benaras. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

On previous visits to Varanasi we've stayed at the Ramada, which is a really nice hotel but quite expensive. This hotel is around the corner and a third of the price, and we decided it was worth trying. A hotel isn't the entire holiday, and sometimes it's better to spend you money on other things.

Approaching the hotel down the side street, it doesn't look like much, and you wonder where you're going to park. No problems, they have quite a bit of parking out the back, and a reserved area across the road. When you get to see the full hotel it's impressive, with beautiful grounds. Every room has a balcony, so there's no problems if you have smokers with you. The balconies look over the lawns surrounded by flowers where they normally serve breakfast - a beautiful setting.

The rooms were clean enough, although the furniture was basic - all chipboard, no fridge or safe, or even drawers. The TV was fine, though I was in a position to watch Hindi channels and DVD's on a laptop.

The one big downside of this hotel was the long, echoey, corridor, the rather thin walls, and the fact that the bathroom's vent was onto this corridor. It meant that having a shower was kind of like being in a communal shower block, you could hear everyone else having their showers too. Shutting the bathroom door at night is a good idea, and shuts off the noise from the corridor to some extent, though not entirely. I'm a light sleeper, and this was a negative.

The breakfasts on the lawn were great, if a little eccentric. You were never sure what you were going to get, and the sauteed idli was ... interesting, especially if you were expecting them to be potato. The downside here was that they never quite had enough tables, and you had to muscle in on someone else. When the rain came and breakfast moved indoors the choice became rather limited.

There are two bars. The one opening out onto the lawns is great in the daytime, but I think get rather full of lads in the evening, and then the lawns get rather full of mosquitoes as well. The bar above the restaurant (the Sol bar) has a nice ambiance, and do decent snacks.

The restaurant was fine. Didn't try the pool, spa or fitness centre.

In summary, a good hotel, well worth the price, if a little noisy.

Room Tip: I think getting a room that is not just above the reception will give you a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobMcMahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. We're so happy that you chose us and hope you will continue to do so on future visits. We are planning a remodeling of the rooms you are speaking of, which should alleviate the issues your mentioned. Thank you again for reviewing us and staying at Hotel Surya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 77 in Varanasi
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 77 in Varanasi
1,416 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing