We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem. When we drove down the dirt road behind the Sheraton, we thought, oh no, until we walked through the door. What amazing people, gardens, pool, and rooms. And the food was good too! We were there on Christmas night and there was a great fire dancing show, dinner and just everything! Stay here. :) And we were lucky our travel guide lived right next door!

Room Tip: The rooms were so nice I have no suggestions. You can hear people singing in the shower due to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipsahoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so happy that you enjoyed your Christmas with us. We had a fun time planning and carrying out the holiday festivities. We will have something just as fun next year for Christmas as well as the traditional Christmas buffet. Perhaps make it a tradition to spend the holidays with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    289
    118
    57
    44
See reviews for
145
217
88
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very Nice lawn , that refreshes you through out the day, rooms are ok, service is nice, location is quite central near to rail station - 2 kms only .

found the cost little higher to the moneies worth, but may be due to Kumbh time , so overall a good & decent stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtulRanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Despite the small entrance to the Hotel, once you enter the main garden area and the main layout of the Hotel is v impressive with a lovely garden and flowers. The rooms are with a balcony overlooking the garden. The staff was v. good especially the Travel Advisor and staff of the dining room. Enjoyed our 4 day stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renumehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will choose to visit us again when in Varanasi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent hotel, would definetly visit again, awsome rooms(Except for the lowest cost ones), great front desk staff very helpful, the only problem is with the hotel staff not very responsive and keeps on forgetting the order when u place it in your room

Room Tip: superior rooms would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aamit_aks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback and are working to improve the issues you have brought up. We hope to see you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The grounds are lovely and the food in the restaurant is good. The hotel rooms were dirty and the noise from other guest was horrendous. The noisy marble stairs and floors made worse by guest running up and down the hallways and stairs at all hours of the night, added with yelling and screaming made for an unenjoyable stay. The day spa at the hotel quoted me on a price for a massage which included tax and when i went to pay, the man in charge had added more onto the total bill which i refused to pay Guest relations rang me 3 times a day to check on me and I found this annoying and an invasion of my privacy. I would never reccommend ths hotel for all of the above reasons.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I apologize that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. I understand the disturbance that other guests could have caused you. Based on room availability in the hotel, we would have happily moved you to another hall. I'm sorry that you found our guest relations invasive. We only call once or twice during your stay, and I apologize there was a miscommunication that you had already been reached. Issues like you had with noise are what we are trying to solve on those calls. Our prices posted on our menus are before tax. I'm sorry that this was not properly communicated to you. Thank you for your feedback as it gives us a chance to improve our services. I do hope you will reconsider, and visit us again when you are in Varanasi. Thank you for the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights here while visiting Varanasi and experiencing the Ganges. The Hotel Surya is a charming hotel from the era of the Rajs, with pretty garden with lawns and flowers. Our room was clean and comfortable with an actual double bed (instead of 2 beds pushed together). We enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the garden and courtyard. Breakfast is included in the room rate and was a tasty mix of Indian breakfast foods, eggs cooked to order and continental foods. We looked forward to dinners in the Surya restaurant and we chose Indian dishes each night, never repeating and all delicious. Travel Planet helped arrange boat tours on the Ganges.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kisberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back to Varanasi and choose Hotel Surya again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I only stayed one night but really enjoyed this hotel. Its 'days of the Raj' character, central garden and sensible prices make it a great choice if you only have a day or two in Varanasi and want something closer to the airport and station (you are a significant taxi auto-rickshaw ride from the action on the ghats though). It's worth getting a premium room with balcony overlooking the garden if your budget will stretch to it. To my mind this is much better value than nearby characterless international-style hotels, which are much more expensive.

The restaurant is good (if a touch expensive) and there's also a coffee shop, travel desk, spa and gift shops.

There were a few very minor maintenance issues in the room but generally comfortable and with helpful staff.

Room Tip: I booked a premium room online and was offered a choice of three. The first one didn't have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyJH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and chose to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope you will return to Varanasi and stay with us at Hotel Surya. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 77 in Varanasi
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 77 in Varanasi
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 77 in Varanasi
1,417 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Property: Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Address: S 20/51 The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing