We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Nearby Hotels
$30
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$51
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gautam Hotel(Varanasi)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alka(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$12
$10
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$38
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shiva Ganges View(Varanasi)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$27
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$27
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$33
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveler rating
216
319
129
64
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
319
129
64
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsol barcanton royalegreat poolcantonment areabeautiful hotelbuffet breakfastpizza hutbalcony overlookingtravel deskan oasisindian foodold citythalithe riverhot waterwi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 776 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Arrived in Varanasi via Delhi very jet lagged and tired was expecting a pick up from the hotel which had been arranged when booked, no show got a taxi at the Airport we was spoilt for choice ;-) cost Rs550 which wasn't bad about a 40 minute journey. Upon arriving at the hotel the reception staff was very helpful and apologetic for the confusion re the pick up, although in fairness i perhaps should of e mailed a reminder as the hotel had been booked months before. They upgraded our room for the night of our stay to make up for the no show and it was a very nice way to overcome the jet lag, we ate in the hotel that night the food was OK but over priced for what you got to be expected in hotels. The room was clean and very comfortable the bed was amazing having stayed in a lot of places in India i appreciate greatly a soft mattress. Over all i would recommend the stay its a bit of a way from the old city and the Ghats but not too much of a problem to get a Rickshaw outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest. We are again very sorry for the confusion about your airport pickup and glad you were satisfied with the room upgrade in order to make up for our mistake. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you at Hotel Surya when you visit Varanasi in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is an enormous hotel complex with several shops, a bar / café, a restaurant and a pool. Unfortunately it hasn't received proper maintenance and it shows...all too well. Our room was small and extremely worn, had no place to put things in the bathroom, the linens are grey, the beds small, yet comfortable... I don't know if I'd ever stay here again because I found it to be a bit depressing. If I were you, I'd try to get a room on the river, perhaps at the Ganges View, although you must reserve in advance and it's more expensive... and downtown Varanasi is the "real deal" with cows, cow poop, thousands of touts, corpses being carried down the street, mud and strong urine odor throughout. I'm glad I went but enjoyed the city best when viewed from our little row boat.

Room Tip: Try to get a larger room than those in the "deluxe" (scare-quotes) accomodations.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us and mentioning some important details about our hotel. Hotel Surya is located almost equidistant from the Ganges river and the holy Buddhist site Sarnath, making it convenient to see both while staying in Varanasi. We do have three separate room categories, with Deluxe being our budget option, and Premium being our highest category with spacious updated rooms. Our Superior or Premium category rooms may best suit you as we do hope you will choose to stay with us again. We appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place is nothing fancy, and the rooms are definitely showing some wear (mold in bathroom, etc) but it's perfectly adequate for a night or two. The food was excellent at the restaurant. Internet didn't work while I was there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwanawadunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for review. We're glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant. We just recently added some new additions to our menu. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights.
Rooms very basic and run down ie: chipped and ripped furniture, mould in the curtains, some lights not working, switches missing.
Walls are paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room, the hallway, and in the court yard.
One night we had staff talking in the hallway outside the room for hours, and the cafe in the courtyard randomly playing music really loud then turning it off.
Most staff at reception will give you basic info but are not friendly by any stretch of the imagination. There's fast wifi but you have to pay- 100 rupees for 12 hours.
Plus side was laundry service was good and the food in the restaurant was good ( especially the curries). Downside is you will wait a long time for service, including the basics like actually giving you a menu in the first place. It's not that cheap either.
There's a pool, fairly big one too. That's run down also and had mould in it.
Overall very average and tiring experience as we got so little sleep due to noise. This is a shame as the hotels away from traffic noise so has the potential to be alot more peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrixieHRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Guest. I apologize that you did not have the best experience at our hotel. We do appreciate your constructive feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share on TripAdvisor. We do hope you will try us again and give us the opportunity to make your next stay with us a wonderful one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everybody, taxi drivers, tuc-tuc drivers etc. knows about this hotel and its location, probably one of the main hotels in the city. Despite it's a 3 star, it was a nice experience to stay here: The colonial style building, the courtyard, the room itself, which was very clean and well equipped. On the other side of the courtyard (there is also a late bar, and table and chairs are put in the middle of the garden in the evening time) there's a restaurant and a clean swimming pool. We were impressed with the restaurant food (the menu a la carte for lunch or dinner) and the service, really excellent. And the breakfast was very nice too.
Near the hotel there is also a small (wastern style shopping centre and another excellent restaurant (Brownie restaurant). It's probably the only place I could recommend in Varanasi, despite I don't have knowledge about other accommodation in the city

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inabigcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose Hotel Surya next time you are in Varanasi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews