We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here as part of our Geckos tour. Overall it was a very nice hotel out of the caos of Varanasi where you could really just relax. Nice pool area and salon was very good. Had a full body massage which was really nice and fantastic value. Service was very very slow in the main restaurant and generally had to ask for everything at least twice but the food when you good it was very good and good value. The cafe bit was really nice - good hooka pipe menu and bar snacks and some unusual drinks. Nice way to spend an afternoon with friends - try their espresso lemonade from the mocktail menu for something different!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were able to take advantage of some of our services. The Mangi Ferra is a cafe that sits at the base of a mango tree where we serve some specialty drinks. Thank you for your constructive criticism about our restaurant and we will look into the concerns you brought up. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 738 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here as part of the Geckos tour and it was our last destination before returning back to Delhi.
The place was good as it had a bar, cafe/bar, salon/spa, restaurant and a pool.
The room was small compared to other places I stayed in India. The bathroom was also small and was the type where shower has no enclosing. They have a balcony which was really nice!
The cafe/bar had loud music and cricket always on tv. They weren't very good at making cocktails.
The restaurant had good food but service was slow.
The salon/spa had very nice people working there. I had a head massaage and a pedicure. The massage was great but many of us thought their mani/pedis weren't great.
Pool was clean and plenty of sunbeds as no one besides foreigners go in, however be warned that you will be stared at. After a few minutes there were about 10men in a group staring by the pool and little kids in vacant buildings overlooking the pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level don't have a balcony so try getting one on the first floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney-meeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are happy that your overall experience was a positive one. Unfortunately the vacant building that is next to us is not on our property. We have created shade structures to try and give our guests more privacy in the pool area in other areas that look over the pool. If you are uncomfortable in any area of the hotel, a manager will be happy to assist you. We hope to see you at the hotel again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Staying at Hotel Surya was overall very peaceful and relaxing. We found Varanasi to be quite an intense city and it was important for us to get a little bit of calm in during our trip. We definitely enjoyed the pool, dining in the garden, and hanging out in the cafe. I hadn't had a real cappuccino since coming to India, so that was a treat! The ambiance was lovely at the hotel and the staff were very welcoming and attentive. The menus offered some things that I haven't seen anywhere else in India, cocktails and apps and stuff. Also took full advantage of the packages at the spa, and super glad we did. The ladies were great and took such good care of us. We thought it was a little far from the ghats, but when the girl at the spa suggested we check out the Buddist site on the other side of the hotel, the location made more sense. The best thing about the hotel was that it really gave us time to ourselves to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We decided to stay at Hotel Surya as a one-night resort stay. We had previously stayed in the middle of the old city.

Although it was nice to have a pool, overall the service was far less than the money it costs. The hotel staff couldn't speak very good English, the food was ok, and the rooms were low quality. Also, everything was way over-priced.

We could have payed a third or 1/2 less and enjoyed the same service in a better location.

The pool was certainly nice. We got crappy massages that we expensive, too. Although the henna was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicholasMucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. If you would like to provide us with anymore feedback such as what massage services you took or what dishes you had that you weren't satisfied with, please email me at director@hotelsuryavns.com. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed two days in this hotel. The facilities of this hotel was not great, but general experience was good. The hotel allowed us to check out around 2:00pm without additional charge. We also booked a morning tour and evening tour from the hotel. The morning tour was great but we regreted to take the evening tour. The car supposed to leave at 5:00pm but it was late for 30 mins. We arrived Main Ghat too late so our boat was far away. We could not see anyting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiaofeng_Wu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and have communicated your concerns about the late departure for the evening tour. We hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Impeccable service, food, English tv channels, clean Ed and bathroom great brekky. All and all fabulous.
Location isn't the best but most will have drivers or will be on a tour so this isn't an issue. Restaurant is delish and pool so refreshing!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jldowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Good Part of the hotel:
--------------------------------------
1. Has a nice restaurant and the food served is also good. (We tried only veg food)
2. Although the cab drivers and the restaurant staff couldn't speak fluent English, they were soft spoken and knowledgeable about the tourist places around Varanasi. (We knew conversational Hindi and so didnt have much trouble communicating with them).

Now the OTHER side of the hotel - The Rooms & the management:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had booked two premium rooms online for our 5 night vacation stay at Varanasi, India paying a premium price of 3500/- per room as daily charges and requesting additional bed for a child. The additional bed was NEVER provided during our stay. More over to our dismay, we found the rooms in a very poorly maintained state that does not even warrant a "1 - star" category for this hotel. The hotel management never bothered to address any of our concerns. They made a promise to change the room after the first day, but never kept up with the promise during our stay. There were so many problems the day we checked-in that I called MakeMyTrip customer associate, who listened to our concern and tried to contact the hotel on another phone but she could not reach them during my conversation with her. Below are some of the problems we faced during our stay in that hotel.

1. Very poorly maintained rooms
2. No extra bed was provided although it was booked at the time of making the booking.
3. Toilet was not clean on the day we checked-in
4. A/C was not working
5. There were stains on the bed cover that made us buy a temporary bed spread for our rooms.
6. Telephones were not working all through our stay in our room.
7. There was no shower curtain in one of the two rooms we booked.
8. The wood work and electrical fittings were very shabby for a so called "premium room"
9. The used food plates were kept outside of the room in the walk way and were never removed for days. We had to bear with the stinking smell all through the stay in this hotel when we had to pass by it to use the elevator.
10. Cockroaches, paint smell near the beds in our rooms and paint fallen on cots kept us unhappy all through our stay.
11. One of the two rooms was provided with two separate beds (We were 2 adults & 1 child in that room) that we had to join ourselves as nobody from room service department seemed to bother to our concerns.

Overall this is not a good hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Will not recommend to book this hotel online and spend a vacation at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subramanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGautam, Owner at Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate that you shared both what you like and what you didn't at the hotel. We have taken your detailed list of concerns and addressed them with the appropriate departments. We hope that you will choose to give us another chance when staying in Varanasi. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
1.7 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#9 of 80 in Varanasi
512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 80 in Varanasi
681 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 80 in Varanasi
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#10 of 80 in Varanasi
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace

Address: S20/51 Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace The Mall Road | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range: $54 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cantonment area, the Surya Kaiser Palace is accessible to the airport and railway station, as well as the Buddhist holy site Saranath and numerous Hindu temples on the holy river Ganga. Surya sits on a historical site of an ancient Nepali king's palace built in 1818, named Kesar Castle. Newly restored, this palace is for you to enjoy. A fine dining multi-cuisine restaurant, a unique cafe and juice bar, full service bar, banquet halls, and a swimming pool are all available. Each hotel room has a balcony with a view of the palace and the gardens, where you can dine facing this beautiful building. Surprisingly affordable hotel accommodations will delight and pamper you. Four unique levels of rooms allow you to decide which accommodation suits you best. Each room package has a complimentary breakfast buffet served daily and 24-hour room service. All guests may have full use of the pool, and access to the spa. At Surya Kaiser Palace it is our desire to provide a paradise where guests can relax, rejuvenate, and enjoy their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing