We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a rip-off!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sita Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sita Guest House
Ranked #41 of 206 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a rip-off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Location was ok but around it there many other guesthouses.
The only and very good thing about this guesthouse was the restaurant, food was amazing and very cheap, and the staff was nice.
Prices are extremely high generally for the conditions, it was very dirty.
Dada, the old man, was very rude, he kept asking for money for everything and would charge way too much. He was nice and friendly at the beginning but became really harsh when he realized we weren't rich and naive.
The atmosphere was always negative, we felt like we could not wait to leave!
Very bad experience, I would not recommend it. The relation price/quality is a total rip-off!

Room Tip: 1500-2000 rupees per room per night are not worth this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    117
    58
    29
    23
See reviews for
29
124
66
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hallstahammar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

we spent a week in Varansi living at the sitahotel a nice place with a helpful and custom minded staff. The room was a bit small but sheep. the breakfast was ok. We can recommend it as a good place to stay at

Stefan andConny from Sweden

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postisHallstahammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We would hope that this place remain with the courtesy and atmosphere in 8 days-stay, where we werw surprised by the things essential, simple and a perfect location.
All members of the staff nice and friendly, especially the owner and Dada, our nice adoptive father of us travellers.
Thank's for all from Francesca and Marco

Room Tip: mother Ganga view essential.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was a terrible experience! Rude and unwelcoming staff, the hotel is undergoing extensive renovation so the noise is unbearable, the rooms are old and dirty, and there were huge lizard-like creatures and a full grown monkey in our room (that got in through the balcony).

We just couldn't stay there and ended up moving to another hotel!

STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Let's begin by saying it is Varanasi, and you are staying in the belly of the beast. It is a city to be experienced hands on and aggressively and you are presumably there for a reason: to get a real experience of the city. For that purposes, Sita is a fantastic place to say. If you are very picky about comfort, it is not for you, but then nor is Varanasi for you. But the bed was good, the location PERFECT (right on the Ganges and a few minute walk to the main ghats), and the staff was among the friendliest I had in all of India.

I didn't try the rooftop restaurant but it was something special to stay so close to the river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rufustfirefly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The guest house is well located between the main ghats, very close from one of the main ghat where you can particpate to some ceremonies every evening. Not really lively but it's overviewing the Ganges, the room was clean and basic as the place. The staff was nice, there is a terrace on the top floor with nice view but it looks like a bit abandonned..
Rooms are a bit overpriced thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lamona21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night because Kedareswar Guest House didn't have room for us for just one of the six nights we were in Varanasi.

It is not remotely up to the standard at Kedareswar and while I'm sure there are plenty of grimier hotels in Varanasi, this one could use a bit of a scrub. That said, the bathroom was sparkling clean even while the bedroom looked like it hadn't seen a broom or a mop in a decade. The sheets were a bit frightening too---threadbare by any standard.

Nevertheless, we found the management and staff here to be extremely nice and we could've done worse for our one day away from Kedareswar. The top floor restaurant has a passable breakfast but a lovely view. I don't remember what we paid, but it seemed on par with everything else along the river.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisapdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#39 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kanha Paying Guest House
Kanha Paying Guest House
#21 of 206 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shivakashi Guest House
Shivakashi Guest House
#8 of 206 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sita Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sita Guest House

Property: Hotel Sita Guest House
Address: /16 Hotel Sita Guest House Chausatti Ghat | Dashaswamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sita Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is considered an embodiment of the divine. Sita Guest House is ideally located on the Chausatti Ghat near the Ranaghat. This is only three minutes walk from the main ghat, far enough from burning ghat to avoid smokey smell. Sita Guest House is also within walking distance of the major tourist walking streets. This is a very peaceful place. There are no motor vehicles. You can only hear the sound pilgrims coming to bathe in the Holy Ganga. Life continues as it has for many centuries. Most rooms have a view of the Holy Ganga. Rooms are newly renovated and very clean. Location Situated in the heart of the ancient Chausatthi Ghat of Varanasi. Walking distance from Dasaswamedh Road. 20 minutes from Railway Station/Bus Stop, Airline Offices, 45 minutes from Varanasi Airport. Sita Guest House comes to you with facilities that help you relax and enjoy during your visit to Varanasi. (The City of Ghatt's).BANARAS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sita Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sita Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing