We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with swimming pool but no free internet”
Review of Hotel Ideal Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ideal Tower
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel staff is friendly, breakfast and dinner is delicious, variety is more than enough. Rooms are big and clean. There are two elevator. There was a wedding party during our stay, which was a little bit noisy, but ended at around 01:00 AM. You can easily discover Varanasi from here. The whole neighborhood is pretty clean, it is not so much crowded as in the center.
As usual, there is no free internet at this level of the hotel stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 199 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

This probably used to be a very good hotel. But in very past times.
It is situated in a very nice location, in Cantonment, which is some kind of a military area in Varanasi. The whole neighborhood is pretty clean, it is not so much crowded, both, with people, cars and everything else what is common in India. It is very safe to walk outside, almost no one will bother you, etc. Outside the hotel is a close by shopping mall with good food court. It is 5 min walk from the hotel.

However, the hotel needs to be renovated asap, in order to benefit from this location.

The rooms are spacious, but worn out, the floors, walls, old furniture etc.
The bathroom is totally malfunctioning with flush systems, old taps. Everything seems very much exploited and at the end of it's lifetime. The elevators are old.
Adding to this bad image is no free WiFi anywhere!! Instead, the highest rates for it of all the hotels visited on our trip.
The breakfast and the pool are OK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B1714D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at this place when we visited varanasi for an official trip, Hotel ideal tower is aptly named as its ideal for short business trips and vacations.. The hotel has an excellent location in the Cantt area of the city and all near visiting locations.. The staff is very courteous and are prompt in their effort..
The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and has an extensive Ala-carte menu too.. The hotel boasts of a clean pool and a well maintained bar.. Would definitely visit the place again..

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

this hotel is a good option for Varanasi. However, it may not full guests expectations. We had booked a junior suite. The hotel is located 2km outside the city center, which, in my opinion, it was a positive fact given the traffic and noise in the center. The reception guy told us, while coming with us to the room, "oh madame, this room is big, very big". Actually it was a big room but perfectly to be classified as a 2 stars European hotel. there were three windows, one of which with no glass but one side of a box; the second one led to a terrase, but you could not get into the terrase... you could only see it. Imagine how clean it was. The third one offered fantastic views to a courtyard with a goat and an old black bathtube. Despite the surroundings, the stay was normal, quite clean and comfortable. The bathroom was from the 80's, blue bath and toilet, it needed an urgent renovation. Nonetheless, it was clean.
The outdoor swimming pool was dirty, totally dirty, green water. Breakfast was ok but for lunch or dinner, I would recommend to go to Hotel Surya (main entrance, then left, and the first on the left, walk 50 meters) which offers a fabolous restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bio_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 13-15 Nov 2013 for a personal visit. The rooms are clean, well arranged and decorated. Provision for sunlight is also in the architect design.The property is well located and away from busy roads but very nearby to the visiting locations. Room service is good and so are the staff to serve you any moment. Time schedule is also followed. Resteurant have good buffet breakfast variety and very tasty grilled food for dinner . A visit to pool and massage parlour is refreshing. Best return for money in city like Varanasi.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side give good morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

While we packed our bags and set afoot the train for a 10 hour journey from Delhi to Varanasi, our hearts ached and hoped that we find a place which would help us reminiscence the luxury of a more hospitality-oriented city. Gods be favouring, we were blessed!

The hotel was recommended by a friend of a friend who had heard about the place from another friend. The long chain was expected to distort the quality of the review, but when you hear that 'the place is just fantastic' from three connections down the line, it has got to be worth it.

On the outset, let me compliment the management committee - The hotel was being renovated (rather upgraded to its sister establishment next door); and the two days I stayed at here, I couldn’t even hear a distant hammer strike. It was superb - the way they handle the extra work - not an anomaly in sight. The only time I did come to know about it was when I ran into the owner in the lobby. Kudos!

The hotel entrance is good - hoisted and clear enough to avoid traffic and bottlenecks, and by my understanding, they have the biggest parking space outside on the strip - amongst the other bigger industry names.

The lobby is welcoming - with neat upholstery lining the furniture, it gives you that crisp and welcoming look that always pleases the eyes. With the reception fully equipped and well placed, the bell desk in reach and the elevators dotting the lobby's corner, the entrance is a welcome change from the chaos of the city. Trust me, you will miss the serenity once you are outside!

The rooms are just great! For the price they come at, they are well in place for all the luxuries you will be looking at - I spent a day each in a regular and a suite(reserve the suite for special occasions or head of joint families), and they were bang on the mark. Though being on opposite sides of the hotel, both of them had an amazing share of sunlight during the day. Another check in my list.

Room service is one of the most promising factors of this establishment. Dedicated, humble and prompt - they actually cater to the experience you would want out of a Hotel of such standing. Food – MY most prized requirement – was outstanding. Trust me when I say that you will have to look around for a while (if you are lucky) to find better food. There is a shopping mall a stone’s throw away, but I seriously didn’t bother to get out of my room. Ample space, fresh linen, upright service and exquisite sunlight was enough for me to walk out only for my field trips.

Highly satisfied with the place, I had to see what more these guys had to offer – and I stepped next door to Rivatas. Despite the price tag, I couldn’t resist but transfer my luggage there for the remaining one day – perhaps an experience best to be put up on the other hotel’s page.

I recommend a stay at the Ideal Tower - and perhaps a split to Rivatas if you fancy. But as a standalone unite too - A fantastic experience and my regards to the management and staff alike.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good share of sunlight, If travelling with parents\in joint families, do make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhinav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hideous rooms, old and uncomfortable. Useless internet, horrible dining room and no hair dryer, no conditioner and a safe the size of an envelope. Such a disappointment. Glad it's only for one night. This is not a four star hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#10 of 79 in Varanasi
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gupta Inn
Hotel Gupta Inn
#29 of 79 in Varanasi
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Amayaa
The Amayaa
#28 of 79 in Varanasi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal Tower

Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $88 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ideal Tower, located in the calm and serene surrounding is a newly constructed modern hotel. This hotel offers extensive conference and banquet facilities for smooth conduct of meetings and functions and provides all the modern amenities and services that a hotel of this class offers. Accommodation at Hotel Ideal Tower, Varanasi (Benares): Hotel Ideal Tower has 58 elegant, comfortable, furnished and well-appointed rooms including suites and deluxe rooms. All rooms have individual air-conditioning, luxurious bathroom, satellite television and international direct dialing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ideal Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing