We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from Ideal...more like a nightmare”
Review of Hotel Ideal Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ideal Tower
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed December 12, 2011

If this hotel shows up on your travel agent's list of choices, do yourself a favor and choose a different hotel. The hotel was obviously built and furnished on the smallest budget possible, judging by their choices of furniture, sprigs of plastic flowers hanging in the hallways, strange room layouts, thin walls and especially the mold and mildew which permeates the entire hotel lobby and rooms. I felt really bad for the poor room boys who looked ashamed to bring in the "extra bed" that the receptionist/manager promised. if you don't believe how terrible this hotel is, please look at the photos of the extra bed.

If the man at reception was in the least bit polite, accomodating, or apologetic for theproblems we experienced, it might have at least been worth just a good laugh at how terrible the hotel was. But his rudeness and insulting remarks just left a really bad feeling for us. Luckily, our first choice hotel had an opening the next day and we were able to check out.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MangoMunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ideal Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 199 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2011

ugly lobby full of dusty plastic flowers, cheap fluorescent lighting and overwhelming smell of mold. The room was no better even though we got a superior room. More plastic plants, shabby amenities, and dingy towels. We needed twin beds but got a king sized bed, and when we requested a change, the man at reception was extremely rude and unhelpful. An extra bed was sent up to the king room, but it was a piece of plywood and a 2" piece of foam. We shared the big bed, and after a mediocre breakfast where there was a ridiculous platic toaster that wouldn't toast, we checked out and moved to the Ramada.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jajanbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We had landed in Delhi and came straight to Varanasi. We had arranged a pick up from the airport (flight delayed, but pick up there) and we came straight to the hotel, where our room was available (around 1pm).

Rooms were comfortable, slightly out dated, but overall generally well maintained and cleanish, though not spotless. However, it was fine - and we had no problems.

The breakfast buffet was varied, though the quality was average. The hotel is located around a 20 minute rickshaw ride from the centre / ganges - which means having to travel through the thick pollution to get to the areas to see. However, there are some good restaurants in the area, which compensates - and probably makes it a slightly more relaxing option to staying in the centre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samueldev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

For India and Varanasi conditions, this hotel is doable. I recommend shower shoes as I was very glad I packed some when we got here. The listing advertises and rants about the importance of wireless internet access in this day and age, but there is only a business centre, absolutely no wifi, which was unfortunate since our phone provider allows us to call/text/surf for free as long as there's a wifi spot. :(

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galinhim04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Oh my, this place is something! At first glance the lobby is well maintained and suggests some attempt at opulence. Once you step into the elevator you’ll notice the filth on the walls. Can someone please clean them? They upgraded us to a suite that was enormous, but who cares when you don’t want take your shoes off, sit on the furniture or use the bathroom! Our suite had balconies that overlooked something, but they were inaccessible because they had windows not doors! My husband and I just laughed at the oddities in this place. 18 light switches! Décor was mid 70’s; bed was like concrete with a thin piece of foam on top. Didn't have any other options in Varanasi, as there was a carpet convention and everything was booked. By the way I had read in a review on TA to dine at the Radisson next door, probably better than Ideal’s dining, we did and the options were better, but not great.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metalligal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed at Ideal Tower for a Night 29/30 nov 2011 for a short visit to Varanasi. Although it was not my first visit to varanasi. I like the huge size of the Rooms at Hotel with all basic facilities. since all these hotels are next to each other you will find easily transports to reach at Ghats for Ganga Aarti and old city. if you are going to do the sunrise Boat in River you need to fix your transport ( Taxi or Auto Rikshaw in Advance)

I stayed with my Austrian Group of 27 people and our arrangemnet were with a Coach.
friendly staff of hotel welcome you at your arrival in Ideal Tower. they seems ready to help I met with Vijay at front desk & advised him to keep at least two hand towels in rooms for a double occupied rooms,. action was taken quickly.

Room Tip: Rooms backside and 5th floor rooms are quite, check the room and if you need Minibar advised them...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank udaipurmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We booked 5 rooms for our group after seeing and reading detail of this hotel through different web-sites. Honestly, it is not too bad if you just want a place to sleep!
Out of 5 rooms we booked 3 had very strong smell of dampness and some has damp showing through the walls. It felt like these rooms had a/c but the windows were never opened. Mosquitoes would have been another problem if they did open the windows!! If it wasn't for the smell then the rooms were basic and clean. Lobby area was clean but again too many mosquitoes.
At least 2 coaches full of foreigner were arriving everyday and even then staff were not trained to meet their needs. Not very customer friendly. Infact we heard one reception guy shouting at a customer !! Over all very bad staff attitude.
Breakfast was very basic and poor service. Took so many attempts to get a decent cup of tea!! If you can stretch your budget then try Radisson or Taj for comfort and good service. We had afternoon tea & snack at the coffee place in Taj and it was wonderful service and good food !! Value for money.

Room Tip: Check the rooms before you agree as some rooms smell badly of dampness !!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ganesh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeeVerma, General Manager at Hotel Ideal Tower, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Dear Sir

thankyou for the feedback, we have done a thorough inspection of the room in which you had stayed. We have taken the corrective measures to ensure that the dampness does not arise in the same room.

As far as the shouting on some customer by the reception staff, it is really not digestable as we have checked the cctv footage of the reception area & nothing of this kind of action was portrayed by the reception staff.

Regarding comparing our hotel with other 5 star hotels are concerned, i think this should be avoided as the comparison of apple with an apple is required & not apple with an orange.

We are not of the same category, nor we charge the same prices.

However, we again thankyou for the feedback & will ensure crisp service for our guests

regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#10 of 79 in Varanasi
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 79 in Varanasi
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Amayaa
The Amayaa
#28 of 79 in Varanasi
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silk City
Hotel Silk City
#47 of 79 in Varanasi
21 reviews
2.9 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideal Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideal Tower

Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $50 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ideal Tower, located in the calm and serene surrounding is a newly constructed modern hotel. This hotel offers extensive conference and banquet facilities for smooth conduct of meetings and functions and provides all the modern amenities and services that a hotel of this class offers. Accommodation at Hotel Ideal Tower, Varanasi (Benares): Hotel Ideal Tower has 58 elegant, comfortable, furnished and well-appointed rooms including suites and deluxe rooms. All rooms have individual air-conditioning, luxurious bathroom, satellite television and international direct dialing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ideal Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing