We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Meraden Grand
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$127
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
Radisson
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$30
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$33
$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ganesha(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$13
$12
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$22
$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
40
90
61
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
90
61
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelpaneera lot of noisecantonment areacomfortable staythe wi finice experienceroom was spaciousbooked this hotelbudget hotelholy cityrooftop restaurantold citylobbyghatsoccupantschaos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 231 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2008

The hotel was good and the tarrif not to extravagant but the the food price in the restaurant was overpriced. I would recommend the hotel the restaurant not so much.
The staff was friendly but the management esp the lobby manager could use a crash course in being pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank roaming_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on 20.03.08. We were in a Buddhist Pilgrimage Tour group originating from Sri Lanka. The doorman was charming and cheerful, so braced ourselves for more of the same. What a dissapointment! Most replies and responses at the front were were vague and negative. But the top scorers were some of the waiters.

Whilst they showed scant respect or regard to most of us the European guests were listened and attended to with disgraceful grins and bows almost like crawling. Even when they were taking our orders at the diner they did not hesitate to run to the aid of the white guests if the latter as much as looked at them. I gathered later that this hotel was booked regularly by the organising agency for all their tours. So that meant they got good money, regularly from these tanned guests. It is therefore dispecable to say the least that they discriminate against people of their own skin colour.

Judging by the shop signs in Sinhala language(Sri Lankan) in the area, there's pretty good business they make out of people who come on pilgrimage tours. Yet they are being treated disrespectfully by at least some staff at this hotel. Shame!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank agnostic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Aside from the fact that we paid far more than even the published rate on their website (we had no internet connection at the time to check the cost) we had a very bad experience at the Meraden Grand Hotel in Varanasi with a very rude and rigid front office manager who handled our complaint about having no air conditioning (it was between 85 and 95 degrees outside) for the first night of our three night stay. He sited "technical difficulties beyond the hotel's control" when the person at reception had told us that the AC had been turned off on our floor because someone complained that it was too cold (after our complaint the next mornig, the AC was turned on). He was unwilling to give us more than a 15% discount on our bill for that one night and promised better service on our next (!) stay in the hotel. Our friend had become sick from lack of sleep with no AC and the sound of a large generator next to her bathroom. He was totally lacking in compassion for her or for us.

We believe that this hotel kept the AC off to save money since we and our friend were the only guests on the 4th floor. We finally left the hotel after the first night not wanting to experience another miserable night. He was certainly penny wise and rupee foolish since we had and would have continued to spend lots of money in their bar and restaurant to say nothing of the fact that we were probably paying more for our rooms than any of their other guests.

Judith R. Sanders Florence, MA

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taliesgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

With an evening to spare, waiting for the overnight train to Satna, we called in here, with our luggage for a drink and evening meal. We were welcomed, our luggage labelled and looked after. With each drink in the bar, a plate of nibbles were provided. In the restaurant we had three main dishes plus rice and nan, two beers and a double rum, total cost 840 rps. We had excellent service from all the staff. Wish we`d stayed here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews