We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Property, in Cantonment Area, Varanasi ( Benares )”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Meraden Grand
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An Excellent Property, in Cantonment Area, Varanasi ( Benares )”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

An excellent facility, in the quiet Cantonment area, with expansive Entrance Lobby, & Central Atrium over Coffee Shop, giving a Five Star like inviting Entrance. The road is like a Hotel District. Comfortable Rooms, choicely furnished, and well laid out, with efficient Central Air-conditioning.
The Toilets are adequately sized, hygienic with Shower Area/Bathtubs.
The Starters at the Bar are excellent, though the service in the Bar is a bit slow.
The food in the Dining Restaurant, which also doubles up as breakfast place, is excellent, serving local cuisine, besides the Regular Menu.
Some of the Rooms, abutting the inner side of central Atrium, are a bit too small and cramped though, other rooms are of good size.

Room Tip: Avoid taking Rooms facing Central Atrium. Higher Floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satishcdhupelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeradenGrand, General Manager at Hotel Meraden Grand, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Sir ,

words of appreciation from a valued customer like you is really heartening which make us believe that we are heading in the right direction. we are eagerly looking forward to your next visit.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    82
    55
    18
    16
See reviews for
37
69
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was a great hotel. From ambience to great and hospitable staff, this is where we will head to, if we go back to Varanasi. They had a wide choice of breakfast. Lunch and dinner was equally excellent. Good job. Keep it going.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaluShalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeradenGrand, General Manager at Hotel Meraden Grand, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest ,

we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. its the comments like yours which tells us that we are heading in the right direction. we would like to welcome you back and look forward to your next visit.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014

A perfect place with all facility and services to stay. Helpful staffs, quality of Food is excellent.Well decor in Lobby area , I love this place.We will definitely stay here again in our next visit as price also reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashanta Kumar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeradenGrand, General Manager at Hotel Meraden Grand, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Sir ,

thank you for the lovely comments . it is the comments like yours that make us believe that we heading in the right direction.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK and Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice, spacious rooms. Make sure you get a room on the back of the hotel otherwise it can be very noisy on the street side. Restaurant for lunch and dinner was very good and reasonably priced. We also appreciated the garland of flowers upon arrival.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyanka00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeradenGrand, General Manager at Hotel Meraden Grand, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest ,

we thank you for the lovely comments . its the comment like yours that make us believe that we are heading in the right direction.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel was great - lobby with wifi, restaurant, nice and large rooms, good front desk staff. Only problem was that there were two giant cockroaches (still alive) in our room, which they promptly removed once I notified them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeradenGrand, General Manager at Hotel Meraden Grand, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Mam,

it was a pleasure to have you with us. we are happy that you were overall pleased with the hotel and apologise for the discovery you have to have in the room . we assure you that pest controlling is foremost with us and this was an one off case. we hope that this would not stop you from visiting us again and give us a chance to serve you .

warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is one of the better hotels in Varanasi. When in the city, would pick Gateway Taj, Meraden or HHI (newly renovated rooms) for stay. Staff is courteous and prompt in sorting out any issues. Rooms are small but well-furnished and clean. Bathrooms also small but clean. Toiletries were average and had not been replenished but didn't use those so didn't matter.

Rooms are not very sound-proof and noises from the corridor can be bit disturbing but the problem is not as severe as in many other hotels.

Food in room service is not too good so would recommend looking for other options. Cable channel options are very limited and none of the paid channels are available. Since I wanted to relax in the rom and watch television, this was bit of an annoyance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kv052214b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeradenGrand, General Manager at Hotel Meraden Grand, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Sir ,

we than you for patronizing us. we have noted down the issues highlighted by you and assure you the me and the team are working on them. we hope that you would keep on patronizing us in the future also.

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I don't recall much about this hotel except that it had a very comfortable bed and a great menu. I was travelling with G Adventures [not recommended by the way unless you are a youngster wanting to party] and their policy is to "eat local" and support local business. That's fine if the the food is good but often it was not. This hotel was one of just two places in a fortnight where I really enjoyed the food. Good variety and good curries!

The rickshaw ride to the Ghats is scary but a must at least once to understand how people survive in this crazy city. The hotel is not within walking distance unless you are very keen.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pippa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMeradenGrand, General Manager at Hotel Meraden Grand, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Guest ,

at the onset we would like to thank you for liking our hotel.
we would like to welcome you back in the near future .

warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Madin
Hotel Madin
#16 of 73 in Varanasi
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hindustan International (HHI) Varanasi
0.6 mi away
The Amayaa
The Amayaa
#25 of 73 in Varanasi
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#10 of 73 in Varanasi
1,386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meraden Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meraden Grand

Property: Hotel Meraden Grand
Address: 57 Cantt | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meraden Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Meraden Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meraden Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing