We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in varanasi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Meraden Grand
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in varanasi”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed 2 days in Hotel Meraden Grand with my family. It was a wonderful stay with delicious foods and good room facilities. There was a bit of a problem with hot water facility but other than that it was a pleasant stay with a comfortable room. Lobby area was beautifully arranged and the staff members were so friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vindya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    83
    56
    18
    16
See reviews for
38
70
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and our fist impressions when seeing the lobby were amazing. However, the room were only ok as the bathrooms were a bit tired. Mine shot water out of the handle every time I flushed the loo causing a bit of a flood! The food was very good and you could see it being prepared as the kitchen had a window wall from the dining room. The waiters were a bit surly though. The noise from the traffic horns was very loud at night for rooms facing the road. Over all, in the context of Varanasi this was a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerhols101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A good location and hotel is in good standard.Food is tasty and has different choices.

But do not change foreign currency in this place. The rates are very low and add service charge also. The guy at the reception tries to keep money for him too.

The restaurant staff is not that friendly to customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We reached here late night, after our holy dip at the Maha Kumbh, first of all we asked them to give us the higher category of rooms, there was a marginal difference, so we opted for the better room, on reaching our room, we saw it was really small, n cramped, and were wondering if this was the higher room category then what must be the one we had initially opted for. Anyways, it was late, and we were gonna check out in the morning, so managed. Later figured the AC was not working, they kind of got it rectified, and yes no flat screen tv. Morning had breakfast and checked out. The breakfast was not bad. Overall yes, it's a clean place, but could do with some sprucing up.

Room Tip: Go for the highest category of room...there's a marginal difference....and worth it for whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karishmagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golan Heights
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

You can tell the hotel is old by the size of the fish in the aquarium. Huge
Reception was very good, the greeter very accommodating.
A/C in the room was antiquitated.
WIFI was in the lobby and always available.
My big disappointment was in the dining room.
Service was slow and dinner and breakfast not great. Ate there only one night.

Room Tip: I had a side room. Perhaps the front would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiracheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The good - The hotel was neat and clean and located near Varanasi Cantt. Free breakfast and it was good.
The bad - No hot water (it was very lukewarm) - got an excuse that the heater was bad - if it was bad, it would be cold not lukewarm. No flat screen TV. Small beds. Looking at the other reviews it looks like hot water is a perennial problem.
The ugly - Very poor customer service - people do not pick up the phone when I called the front desk, or room service or houskeeping etc. There was no one to take names at the entrance of the restaurant and no one inside to seat people. I waited for 10 mins and then went and called that guy.
Bottom line - Please avoid this hotel as it is very expensive and has very poor customer service and no hot water.

Room Tip: It does not matter if you do not get hot water even in early feb. Please avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harinibrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have just stayed at the hotel for 3 days/2nights. The lobby is very inviting but the room smelt musty possibly due to the fact no windows could be opened. We had no hot water for the duration although we mentioned it to the reception staff on 3 occasions. Perhaps it is because it is India!!

However the restaurant staff and the food were excellent so this made up for the cold showers!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ene4620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hindustan International (HHI) Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#12 of 79 in Varanasi
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
#34 of 79 in Varanasi
348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Varuna
Hotel Varuna
#37 of 79 in Varanasi
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meraden Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meraden Grand

Property: Hotel Meraden Grand
Address: 57 Patel Nagar Cantt | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meraden Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meraden Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meraden Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing