We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I give them 1 star "thanks" to the stuff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Meraden Grand
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I give them 1 star "thanks" to the stuff”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Actually the hotel is not that bad as it seemed to us, but the stuff at reception made everything to ruin the impression - we'd never stay here again!

They have wi-fi only at lobby area. But those 3 days we were staying there they had no connection at all. Have no idea why, maybe they didn't pay. Well, it happens, right? But what is the problem to say the truth to guests? Nope! They just observed us coming down every other hour for checking the connection, smiling and didn't say a word they had problems. I came to them every time asking when it would be solved. And they said there WAS internet, just some problems with my phone and laptop. A girl even showed me her telephone with working internet saying "You see? No problems with connection at all!". And this is what made me really furious - are you making a fool of me??? she showed me NOT wi-fi. Actually this lie made me so angry that I complained to our guide and only to him they admitted they didn't have any internet for 4 days!!! Try to imagine - they smiled every time we came down and checked it! They smiled and tried to persuade us we were stupid and couldn't get any wi-fy while they "had it". It is VERY disappointed and unprofessional, they wasted our time and made fools of us.

As for food - breakfast was ok, but I wouldn't recommend to go for dinner there. Maybe they cook indian food well, but we're tired of it and wanted some pizza, and what they brough us... well, wet dough with a bucket of tomato paste. Disgusting! Never tasted anything so terrible!

As for rooms - could be ok, but not very clean sheets. It was all (with the exception of the stuff) compensated with normal and hot shower :)))))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oksanchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    83
    56
    18
    16
See reviews for
38
70
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,842 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,155 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed two days in Varanasi , we love the place but we were happy to get back to our hotel after a day in the turmoil of Varanasi !
The hotel is far from the Ganges river but close to the train station and the commercial center . The surroundings are not attractive but this is common in Varanasi !
The hotel itself is a bit old-style , the decoration is kitch but overall it has personnality and generates a nice atmosphere .
The food is good and not too expensive if you avoid the continental cuisine ! The chinese plates were particularly good ! breakfast was not bad with a good choice!
The rooms were comfortable , the bed on the hard side but this is how we like it !
WiFi is free in the lobby and the connection was good !
Not the best hotel we had in India but we recommend it !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Safe location off the beaten path and throngs of people. The hotel is quiet and the lobby is very nice. Lunch off the menu is decent, but the buffet is not very good. The rooms were somewhat musty and the bed was hard as a rock. There were no toiletries when we entered the room. Overall the staff was indifferent or rude. We tried to make alterations to our plans and the staff did not want to help. The front stairs are also quite slick. I slipped on them and had a bruised back for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miles28270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst holidaying in India. I have to say this hotel was a welcome sight when we walked in and by far the best hotel we stayed in in India. We arrived very early (about 5:30am) as we had come off a sleeper train and although a room was not available we were given a spare room in which to shower and change. A hot breakfast was also most welcome. The lobby is a nice size and has a relaxing atmosphere and we could have stayed here until our room was ready but we chose to walk the 20 minute walk to the hotels sister hotel, here for only 100Rs we were able to use the swimming pool and lounge in the gardens. We also had a massage each which was really very good and worked out all the aches and pains of the sleeper train.
The rooms in the hotel were a reasonable size and clean. The water was hot and although it was not very powerful for having a shower the bath filled up quickly. We had room service both nights in this hotel, the first night the food was delicious, the second it was not so nice and they made a slight mistake with our order and had to return with missing items but it was still very nice food. One of the best things about this hotel after a few days on the road was being able to get our laundry done. If given by 10am they had it back, spotlessly clean by 7pm which was a god send. One draw back I would note is that we had to pay for everything by cash when delivered to the room (laundry, room service etc) and could not charge to the room and pay off when checking out. This was a bit of a pain as they had to take the money and return with change and it used up our smaller notes. It would have been far easier to pay all at once. I would suggest when you go out it is best to leave your room key at the front desk as they keyring is really heavy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Travelling through India i had expirienced a wide range of standards but this hotel was bar far the best. Very welcoming and helpful staff, spotlessly clean, very modern, and very comfortable and the Food here is wonderful too. Very close to the railway station and main part of the city but far enough away to offer peace and quite away from the chaos of everyday Indian life. highly recommend this hotel, for me faultless.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahameHportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good Hotel-Good Property-Professionally Managed Set up. Nice Location as per Varanasi standards. Service Quality-House Keeping /Restaurant are not upto mark though ok and compensated by yummy food and settings. Dealing service staff should be bit more pleasant & courteous. Restaurant Food is gerat-2 though a bit costly. Housekeeping definitely needs improvement in terms of providing basic items like hand towels, tea/coffee refills (e.g providing a single set of team coffee refill for double occupancy does not make sense either,2nd day stay towels not changed, neither bath mat give, no refill for soap etc.). With all its small limitation the hotel ranks good on value for money and nice/comfortable stay.

Room Tip: You Can Find Good Options for City Tour Through Auto Rickshaw and Taxi standing near Hotel. Negotiat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cprabhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a very good hotel, if you want to be near the railway station and/or away from the mayhem of central Varanasi. The rooms are comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is superb, but the bar seemed a little too much like a traditional male enclave (complete with clouds of cigar and cigarette smoke, with an armed guard on the door!)

A cycle rickshaw is resonable and takes about 25 minutes to get near the central ghat and the ganges itself. Visit the central ghat for sunset and the evening blessing of the river, as well as taking a boat out at sunrise. This is a very moving, fascinating and spiritual place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hindustan International (HHI) Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#12 of 79 in Varanasi
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
#34 of 79 in Varanasi
348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Varuna
Hotel Varuna
#37 of 79 in Varanasi
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meraden Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meraden Grand

Property: Hotel Meraden Grand
Address: 57 Patel Nagar Cantt | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meraden Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meraden Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meraden Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing