We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Meraden Grand
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Travelling through India i had expirienced a wide range of standards but this hotel was bar far the best. Very welcoming and helpful staff, spotlessly clean, very modern, and very comfortable and the Food here is wonderful too. Very close to the railway station and main part of the city but far enough away to offer peace and quite away from the chaos of everyday Indian life. highly recommend this hotel, for me faultless.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahameHportsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    83
    56
    18
    16
See reviews for
38
70
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good Hotel-Good Property-Professionally Managed Set up. Nice Location as per Varanasi standards. Service Quality-House Keeping /Restaurant are not upto mark though ok and compensated by yummy food and settings. Dealing service staff should be bit more pleasant & courteous. Restaurant Food is gerat-2 though a bit costly. Housekeeping definitely needs improvement in terms of providing basic items like hand towels, tea/coffee refills (e.g providing a single set of team coffee refill for double occupancy does not make sense either,2nd day stay towels not changed, neither bath mat give, no refill for soap etc.). With all its small limitation the hotel ranks good on value for money and nice/comfortable stay.

Room Tip: You Can Find Good Options for City Tour Through Auto Rickshaw and Taxi standing near Hotel. Negotiat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cprabhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a very good hotel, if you want to be near the railway station and/or away from the mayhem of central Varanasi. The rooms are comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is superb, but the bar seemed a little too much like a traditional male enclave (complete with clouds of cigar and cigarette smoke, with an armed guard on the door!)

A cycle rickshaw is resonable and takes about 25 minutes to get near the central ghat and the ganges itself. Visit the central ghat for sunset and the evening blessing of the river, as well as taking a boat out at sunrise. This is a very moving, fascinating and spiritual place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I use this hotel quite often when ever I go to Varanasi. Its good hotel, very near to Railway station and near Cantonment area. The hotel has a good lobby and the restaurant is also very good. The rooms are clean and the staff is very supportive and helpful. Its 30 min away from Ganges ghats and one can hire rickshaws from outside the hotel.
Recommended to all. Good 3* property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Expertoviajero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel has a very grand and impressive reception looking bright and clean. The reception staff and door men were polite and professional and very welcoming. We were on the 5th floor and only one lift worked efficiently (the other one was very hit and miss if it opened the doors). The room was clean, cool and spacious. A walk-in shower was a delight and good flow of water and nice soft towels. There were tea-making facilities but no cups. The fridge made some strange noises and had to be turned off. there were a few lights not working but they weren't vital. The beds are typical German style - very very firm with very slim mattresses, a little too hard for my bad back but I know a lot of people find these very comfortable. The first night was noisy with constant horn blowing, and dogs barking made sleep a little sparse. The second night was slightly better.
The restaurant 'Chef and I' was pleasant surroundings and a reasonable choice of dishes from Indian curries, Chinese sweet and sour, Italian pastas and good ol' English fish and chips!!
The waiter service was poor, they spent far more time on their mobile phones and chatting than tending to their customers. We found we had to ask for extras twice and the coffee was stewed and bitter. The following meal time was a little better in that the coffee was drinkable, and the food was hot. Breakfast was basic, for the Europeans there were boiled eggs, and juice otherwise it was all curried base food, which we enjoyed but it may not be to everyone's choice. But you won't go hungry there was plenty of food.
We are vegetarian anyway and I believe this helped to avoid the traditional tummy upsets that most travellers experience. The water looked pretty good and most good hotels now have filtering systems but I would still err on the side of caution and use bottled water when cleaning teeth.
Overall, the hotel was reasonable value for money with plenty of food available and choices with pleasant staff even though they would rather be busy doing other things than give the customer priority.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back to avoid the constant traffic noise and horns
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witchypooSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

really well set hotel situated not too far away from the bustle of the main city.
well kept with comfortable rooms and pleasant and friendly staff
a good selection of choice for their breakfasts which would cater for both Indian and continental breakfast preferances

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELFUN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our room was very nice and clean. Floor staff were attentive and responsive. The lobby is spacious and has Wi-Fi although it was not always working, and the front desk staff were not helpful with our concerns about this or other questions. The breakfast was quite good - lots of choices - and the evening meals were excellent. The restaurant staff were exceptional and we really enjoyed being able to watch the kitchen staff as they worked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#5 of 79 in Varanasi
643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hindustan International (HHI) Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
Hotel Surya, Kaiser Palace
#11 of 79 in Varanasi
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
#33 of 79 in Varanasi
348 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Varuna
Hotel Varuna
#37 of 79 in Varanasi
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meraden Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meraden Grand

Property: Hotel Meraden Grand
Address: 57 Patel Nagar Cantt | Cantt, Varanasi 221002, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meraden Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meraden Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meraden Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing