We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Varanasi
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Varanasi
from $18.53
More Info
from $13.00
More Info
from $450.00
More Info
Day Tour
8 Reviews
from $41.53
More Info
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveler rating
506
28
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
506
28
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour holy city chai behind the scenes flower market money well spent boat ride hidden temples amazing tour northern part old city great guide real varanasi great insight every corner his knowledge burning ghats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 541 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2020 via mobile

Our tour with Prasan was outstanding. Getting to know varanasi can be difficult and overwhelming on your own, but it was very smooth with somenone that really knows the city and can take you to unexpected and beautiful places. Moreover you can tell prasan really enjoyes sharing his knowledge of the city, its history and traditions.

Totally recommended.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Sel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky K, Owner at Varanasi Behind Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sel,

thanks for choosing Varanasi Behind. We also appreciate you review a lot!

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the tours with us and we could introduce to the beauty of this amazing city.

We hope that the rest of your journey was as pleasant!

Thanks and best regards in the name of the whole team

Ricky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

I have been traveling to India solo as well as with friends and leading tours for over 20 years. I can say that hands down Prasann is THE BEST tour guide I have had the privilege to work with. Prasann took us on a beautiful evening boat tour on the Ganges as well as an incredible walking tour through Varanasi. Having been to the city four times, I was astounded at the various hidden sites that Prasann showed us and took us to see that I had never seen before. Prasann is incredibly knowledgeable but also intuitive, compassionate and kind. His prices are very fair and honest. He is a very special person and he will be my go-to guide and also someone I consider a true friend from here on out. Thank you so much, Prasann!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank aslidevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky K, Owner at Varanasi Behind Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Asli,

thanks a lot for the trust you gave us. We also appreciate a lot the time you took for writing the review.

We are very happy to read that you had a great time and experience during our tours.
We are also happy to have found a new friend in you and we are really looking forward to meeting you again!

Thanks and best regards in the name of the whole team

Ricky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

Our group of 4 did several private tours during our 4 day stay in Varanasi. Our guide Prasann, known as "Happy" was excellent and had a great personality and was extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of the history and religious significance.
The company arranged our airport transfers, morning and evening ceremonies, city tour, north and south walks, sarnath tours and a food tour. We were picked up and dropped off our hotel for each of our tours by car and/or tuk tuk. Everything was arranged by email and the companys communication was excellent and extremely prompt. We would have absolutely no hesitation what-so-ever in recommending Ricky and Prasaan to anyone looking for a tour guide in Varanasi. Thank you Ricky and Prasaan for wonderful memories we will have of this city.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Colcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky K, Owner at Varanasi Behind Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colcoe,

thank you for choosing Varanasi Behind and thanks for the great review!

We are very happy to read that we could arrange the tours as comfortably for you as possible. We are also happy that you enjoyed the stories and secrets of this holy city.
We are also very pleased that you appreciate the way of communication.

We hope that the rest of your journey was as pleasant and we are looking to hearing from you again.

Thanks and best regards in the name of the whole team

Ricky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Our guide, Prasann, who we were lucky enough to meet one morning in a Cafe, was amazing! Our first tour with him was a sunset ride on the Ganges. It was beautiful and he was super knowledgeable. But for me personally, the walking tour we took the next day was what really impressed me. We weaved through crowds and alleys to the most incredible sites. Temples and rooftops overlooking breathtaking scenery. All the while we felt safe and taken care of. He fueled us with Chai and told us historical stories making Varanasi even more magical and special.

Beyond the tour Prasann was kind enough to translate and help us with things that were beyond his duties, like helping us arrange a car rides to Bodhgaya.

Basically we really appreciated what we received through his gift of being an amazing guide.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank nmcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricky K, Owner at Varanasi Behind Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mott,

thanks a lot for giving us the opportunity to serve you as a guide and thanks for the great review!

We are very happy to read that Prasann introduced you in the hidden germs and places and culinary specialties of the holy city.

We hope that your trip to Bodhgaya went as smooth.

We are looking forward to hear from you again!

Thanks and best regards in the name of the Varanasi Behind Team
Ricky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

My friend and I decided to do two day tours with Prasann after arriving in Varanasi. We would never find our way around the maze of small streets or seen the places we saw without a guide. You can tell Prasann is very passionate and knowledgeable about the history of the places he took us. Our day tour started with a walk behind the ghats visiting flower market, tea shop, temples and end in the evening with a boat ride on the Ganges. It’s money well spent with a thoroughly enjoyable guide who love what he does.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank WanderlustBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews