We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace on Steps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace on Steps
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Egmond aan den Hoef, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in one of the most expensive (round) rooms with a balcony view over the ghats and ganga. This part of the hotel is a 16th century palace. The rooms are clean and the personnel is helpful and friendly. One of the guys joined us during a walk at the ghats and gave us insight information abou Varanasi, the ritual burnings and other cultural traditions. Room was clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaReep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    126
    63
    38
    72
See reviews for
92
102
77
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
191 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautifully located over looking Ganges few rooms have direct view. However the restaurant is well located and accessible by all residents. Would surely recommend and sure there are no reasons to be disappointed. Pretty decent service. The rooms with a view over ganges are charged marginally higher, but worth it.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms with a view to Ganges. It's a great experienxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMILRAJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in October 2013 for a few nights. Yes, there is a 'bit' of a walk from where a taxi might drop you off on the main road to the door of the hotel, but it really is not an issue. It's what Varanasi and the Ganges is all about, narrow alleys etc. Reception is a little slow at times, but they are helpful. The restaurant served good food with a smile. We had a double room, a little worn, but with a balcony overlooking the Ganges which was outstanding and fully recommended for it's views. The location of the hotel was very close to the major ghaats thus ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Ganges......... you can't beat waking up to a sunrise on the Ganges!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

location is best.Room constructed too old and broken mirror and walls are dirty.Mouse comes often in room.Staff is nice.Service is ok.
In free breakfast only butter toast and egg omlet.
Price is high i think its only location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank anonymousnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Bangalore, India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The walls were chipped without proper painting, one of the window was not there and I had to manage it by closing curtain. The towel provided by them was torn and they did not even provide water for drinking. I feel the price was too high for the quality of the hotel compared to the cost of living in Varnasi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Manjunath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I had an amazing experience in Palace on Steps. I stayed between 15 nov and 22 nov 13 - and I would say it has been one of my best experience in life. The hotel managers like Sanjayji, and others like Pandeyji were amazingly good. I had aged parents, they took care of taking every bit of care needed.
My room was on the ground floor, facing Ganges. I was able to witness Karthik Purnima very well from the balcony.
The breakfast had been very nice , consisting of bread, omelette and tea. The occasional lunch which I had was also good. I loved my stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Ganges are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anir8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

If I was paying $100/nt, I would have a different expectation though their value approached the $100 value mark if in USA. The price seemed very reasonable after shopping others in area and having stayed at another here a couple years ago. Management & staff were outstanding. Examples: Because the drivable roads do not get to this part of the river front, several workers met our driver at the road to carry our bags (I believe that is probably standard in the area), we were shown several rooms and given our option of which we preferred. Management was ready to answer questions about sites with a ready map. They suggested a private tour guide which would work for whatever we offered to pay (more about him below). Every time we walked by the office or another employee saw us, the staff was eager to see if we needed anything. We paid for our last night and airport shuttle before going to bed (planning an early departure), management realized that we would be in a slightly smaller vehicle so they sent a 100 inr refund to us, impressive as we probably wouldn't have noticed the difference. We already spent much of the day in the car as we toured.

Room was cleaner than our hotel in Delhi, very nice enclosed porch and balcony off of our room which was overlooking the Ganges. Sufficient hot water and very good AC. Roof top restaurant was good, most was enclosed behind wire fence which kept the monkeys off of our table and food.

Many reviews on hotels in this area reflect a serious power problem, however they have a huge power generator which came on within moments of power failures.

Our tour guide was Vikky. He was exceptional. We talked with him the evening we arrived to check his English communication skills and we were pleased. Vikky is very knowledgeable of the culture, history, and religion. He did fine with all our questions, which were many over the 13.5 hour day. He arranged our sunrise boat ride, a vehicle (supplied by hotel) when we needed one and was adept at moving around town via rickshaw as well. Normally in settings like this the tour guides are taking you to many shops where they get a commission, Vikky had more respect for us and our desires than that. We did ask to see a recommended silk shop, the one he took us to was also respectful and didn't chase us to get a sale. Vikky was proactive in protecting us from motorcycles in narrow walkways, recent cow dung, low arches, steps, aggressive street salesmen and beggars. Having a private guide is a great way to go, you decide what you are interested in, how long you want to stay, plus have a friendly personality along the way.

If you choose to visit Varanasi, stay at one of the Palace on the Step properties and I recommend asking for Vikky. In my previous visit to Varanasi, I stayed at a different hotel and paid more money, that was my planned stop this time but the one good room they have was booked, therefore I shopped. I have no regrets and Palace on the Step (which includes Ajay Guest House and Hotel Elora) will now be my preferred hotel in Varanasi.

Room Tip: Ask to see the available rooms, they offered to us. We stayed in a King room with river view, we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#43 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Steps

Property: Palace on Steps
Address: Rana Mahal Ghat D - 21/11 | Bangoli Tola, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace on Steps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varanasi a mirror of ancient spiritual India and a destination swinging to the of India,s vibrant culture is a must visit for any traveler wishing to experience real India. To experience the real essence of Varanasi it is essential to discover and explore the ''old city' and the ghats the steps leading to the holy Ganges and the ghats the steps leading to holy Ganges. The hotel Palace on steps ,located at a prime location in the holy city, holds the distinction of having the maximum number of rooms offering an unparallelled view of the Ganges. Besides the hotel is a true balanced blend of luxury and comfort for the travelers ready to experience Varanasi in all its glory interestingly the hotel is designed aesthetically with a touch of true Indian history as showcased in the castle design which dates back about 400years. therefore the guest have an attraction of experiencing the splendor of medieval Indian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palace on Steps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Steps Hotel Varanasi
Palace On Stepss Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing