We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real India??”
Review of Palace on Steps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palace on Steps
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friends and I stayed here in Feb this year. It was a dirty and dismal experience. The rooms that we were given were no more than cells with no natural light, broken toilets, misbehaving showers and an unwelcome visitor in the shape of a mouse that shared my room for two of the three nights that we managed to endure. We were eventually moved to one of their sister guest houses which whilst basic and with the usual dubious electricity and bathroom situations was acceptable. This was certainly budget accommodation but not budget prices. The food in the 'dining room' on the terrace was ok although hygiene was very questionable. No effort was made to clean or tidy even after the monkeys had broken in (the area is caged) and wrecked the tables to get at the sugar. It is a great shame this accommodation is of such a poor standard as the location is fantastic and in the right hands would be a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The sister guest house the Elena is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place was pretty standard for budget accommodation in India, the only issue was that it was nearly twice the price. I am not sure if this is because we arrived right after Shivaratri (a huge Hindu festival) ended or this is the standard price?

The location was ideal, but the room (again for the price) was pretty sub-standard. Our toilet seat was broken, the bed was lopsided, we didn't have a window and the internet was touch and go.

Having said all that I was happy we even found a room, as many of the hotels had been booked up!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan_Tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My title of the review more or less sums up the experience. Whenever i look for hotel then i fix some basic criteria depending on my purpose of visit. This visit of mine to Varanasi was to catch up after 28 years and get the feel of the ghaats and the Ganges. Though i negotiated with some star hotels but those are not on the Ganges. I selected this Elena hotel of Palace on steps cluster just for one reason and that is to get to see Ganges all the 24 hours. well room number 507 gave me that. I must admit as per the standard the room rent is pretty pricey.This room 507 is a round one with 3 windows facing the Ganges.Though the Guest House arranged pick up and drop from the airport for 1500 bucks but one has to board the cab on a road for which one has to walk a distance of 600 to 700 meters through the narrow lanes. No car can reach the guest house. I guess for backpackers it is not much of a problem but for those who are habituated staying in star hotels will have problem.
The room is minimal,even hangers are not there. The bathroom is neat. Though the staffs are friendly and helpful but the supporting infrastructure is not compact. I had to go out for my morning tea.Room service is a tad slow.
Sanjay Pandey ,the in charge is pretty helpful. Pandeyji at the help desk is available 24 hours to help. Ramesh in the roof top kitchen rustled up a pretty good dinner of yellow daal,egg curry and roti on the day we reached.Most of the time we ate out.
This is bang on Rana Mahal Ghaat,there is a steep stair case which directly lands at the ghaat but as i said this is again for youngsters who are physically fit or otherwise one has to go through the winding narrow lanes to Dasasswamed ghaat.
To sum up i can say that i came back satisfied because of being near the Ganges all the 24 hours. The views of Ganges from the narrow balcony or for that matter from the room itself is breath taking. We could see the sun rise from our room, we ignored the discomfiture due to minmal support structure which we are habituated in stay away from home. The staff were friendly and helpful.Dubey the cab driver brought us from the airport and dropped us back. next day we took the Sarnath tour for which again he was the guy taking us around. A friendly well behaved youngman.

Room Tip: Chose room number 507 which has 3 windows facing the Ganges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We found this place while wandering about the ghats and booked in for a few nights.
It has a good location about 5 mins walk through the streets or along the ghats to the main road.
We booked the double room with balcony and a/c. the room was a good size and had a fridge and cable TV (flat screen) and a comfortable bed and free wifi (from the restaurant) and internet. The balcony was glassed in and offered good views over the ghats and river. We had moved here from the Hotel Alka (see our review) and the room was a huge improvement for two thirds of the cost. The staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant served the usual tourist type fare and was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkandGaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms seem to vary from a couple with great river views, to grubby boxes with dodgy wiring and NO windows! And all variations in between, located over a number of equally dirty buildings (? hotels all with different names) When we arrived the surly 'manager' couldn't have been less interested in us if he had tried. In fact the only friendly staff were the waiter and a young man who carried our bags when we arrived, but he ignored us as soon as we declined his offer of a guided tour. We were not put in the room we had booked and paid for and were only "upgraded"after my complaint and involvement of our tour rep. From there the managers became alarmingly unctuous and I was very relieved that I wasn't a young single female traveller. Bottom line is, if you are desperate for a bed in Varanasi and not fussed about conditions, stay here, otherwise forget it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckylynno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My overall experience of the hotel is good. The person on the checking desk Sanjay was very helpful. He provided me with the best view room and we had a deal about the whole arrangement. The food was ok but expensive. But to find the hotel was a big task. They should put more signs on the main road as its pretty far from the main street but very near to the ghat rather its on the ghat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chin2sood12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked into aircorn and was not given one until I complained.
Beware of the tours. They promise a price and upon completion a tip for the driver and the tour guide is demanded which I refused to pay. The aircorn tripped in 40 degree weather, the toilets did`nt flush. Not the cleanest of places. If you need a beer, its charged 4x the normal rate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adi298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 80 in Varanasi
2,155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#22 of 80 in Varanasi
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
0.8 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#14 of 80 in Varanasi
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#46 of 80 in Varanasi
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Steps

Address: Rana Mahal Ghat D - 21/11 | Bangoli Tola NEAR DASAWAMEDH GHAT, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range: $16 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace on Steps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varanasi a mirror of ancient spiritual India and a destination swinging to the of India,s vibrant culture is a must visit for any traveler wishing to experience real India. To experience the real essence of Varanasi it is essential to discover and explore the ''old city' and the ghats the steps leading to the holy Ganges and the ghats the steps leading to holy Ganges. The hotel Palace on steps ,located at a prime location in the holy city, holds the distinction of having the maximum number of rooms offering an unparallelled view of the Ganges. Besides the hotel is a true balanced blend of luxury and comfort for the travelers ready to experience Varanasi in all its glory interestingly the hotel is designed aesthetically with a touch of true Indian history as showcased in the castle design which dates back about 400years. therefore the guest have an attraction of experiencing the splendor of medieval Indian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palace on Steps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Steps Hotel Varanasi
Palace On Stepss Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing