We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“premium location but bad maintenance and bad service - uncaring management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace on Steps

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace on Steps
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
hospet
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“premium location but bad maintenance and bad service - uncaring management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

we were there during the last weel of july2011, arriving there from gaya by a hired vehicle. there is no road to this hotel. so we had to wait at the nearest point as directed by the hotel person by phone. the road is so busy that police did not allow our vehicle to stay there until the hotel person - vicky showed up.

the rooms had an amazing view of the river ganga but it looked like they were just setting up their business then. the rooms had no geysers, no tv and no telephone. the hotel had no restaurant. the bathrooms had no foot rugs to wipe your feet off moisture as you come out of the bathroom. the lobby was shabby with the construction material. the route to the hotel from main roads is pathetic - littered with dung and thrash and walking on the rainy wet days was horrible. we had bath in cold water on both days we stayed there as there are no workers or helper boys attendeding to us when we want them to . in the name of snack, they brought us few slices of bread that made sandwitches just with a few pieces of tomato and cucumber which were not fresh and we were charged huge amounts for that.

positive aspect, apart from the beautiful view of the river (in fact it is like living right on the bank), was this hotel person, a charming vicky . he would come with us where ever we wanted to go and would not expose us to any outsider. he arranged morning darshan for us at 4 am and sent us in through some connections of his. ofcourse there were rip-offs every where - but i learn that is the name of the place - varanasi.

in our experience, but for this fantastic person vicky, rooms on the bank of the river, the hotel had nothing to offer - not even the basic minimums of whatever has to be called a lodge.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank sankar1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    125
    62
    38
    71
See reviews for
91
102
76
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed in this hotel as a last resort option as my first choices were all booked out. The one and only great thing about this hotel is the location (although it's almost impossible to find) as my room had a stunning view over the Ganges. That same room however has millions of mosquitoes around the windows at night, which by the way do not have curtains, no air-co, paint coming off all the walls and the ceilings the minute you turn on the prehistoric ceiling fan. The small balcony of the room is visited by monkeys at night which urinate there. The bathroom was extremely small, dirty and run-down. The staff are utterly disinterested in their guests and never bother to clean the rooms. The good food at the (insect-infested) rooftop restaurant and the free wifi in the lobby don't make up for the abysmal quality of the hotel itself. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varanasi hotels

Pueto Madryn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We ended up staying here as a bit of a last resort. We wanted a view of the Ganges and were willing to pay a premium for it given we had just become engaged. Promised a view, ac and a tv over the phone we agreed to go and have a look. The price quoted was 1,500 rps. When we arrived we were shown some very basic rooms for a minimum of 2,500 rps. Too tired to go anywhere else and stuck in a maze of back streets we agreed.
On closer inspection, and of course after we had paid we found: The sheets were dirty, the toilet was on continual flush, no hot water, a broken ac, and non existant tv. Plus breakfast which was "free" was then added to our final bill.
We have been in India for 2 months now, and I would rate the quality at around a 200rps room . We got charged 3,000!

Room Tip: river views pay a ridiculous premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samtillett1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Varanasi is a must-see when you are visiting Nord-India. It is a very
old and holy city. There is a lot to do and to see.
People in the hotel were very friendly and helpfull.
We recommend a guide from the hotel to show you all the nice places. Varanasi is a
real labyrinth to the first-time visitor . Somebody who guides you is
really helpfull! We were really pleased with our guide Manoj! He is
very friendly and doesn't push tourists. He knows Varanasi as one of
the best.

Ken & Sara
Belgium

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ken_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

View from our room of Ganges River very good!! Excellent guide facilities who are most helpful!! All staff incredibly helpful even in difficult circumstances. Anything we asked of the staff was given up-most importance. Room was neat and clean with good shower and 24 hour hot water!

Our guide, Ajay was excellent. Would highly recommend him as he did everything he could to show us the sights we wanted to see.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

If you want to get a real experience of one of the most incredible and spiritual cities in the world by staying at one of the most comfortable, clean, and friendly hotels, this is the place! This hotel is located at the heart of most of the attractions that need to be seen.
The hotel rooms are located right next to and overlook the Ganges river which make it a perfect place to appreciate the sunrise over the river that the inhabitants base their lives about. The hotel offers a boat ride through the river where you will be able to see some of the most important Ghats and will even take you up close to Ghats where burnings are going on.
The hotel is also a walk away from some of the mayor temples in Varanasi, namely the Hanuman and Shiva temple. The walk from the hotel to the temples and the ghats will give you a real taste of life in Varanasi.
The hotel's rooms are newly remodeled with very clean installations, furniture and bathrooms. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and will even offer to take you around town and show you the sights. Ask for Ajay! He was my guide from the hotel, and was very helpful in setting up visits, travel tickets, and restaurants. Couldn't have done half the things I did without his help.

Room Tip: Room 206 has a panoramic view over the Ganges, amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jizongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

From this motel one can just take a short walk down the steps and catch a boat ride anytime, sunrise is the best time for photos as the sun in behind you and you will see some amazing things.

The staff are always friendly, helpful and speak great English.

My room was small but charming, had a walk on balcony and several Windows that opened out overlooking the Ganges, which is practically right below me.

I felt so lucky to find this place and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curious24seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ajay Guest House
Ajay Guest House
#39 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace on Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace on Steps

Property: Palace on Steps
Address: Rana Mahal Ghat D - 21/11 | Bangoli Tola, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace on Steps 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varanasi a mirror of ancient spiritual India and a destination swinging to the of India,s vibrant culture is a must visit for any traveler wishing to experience real India. To experience the real essence of Varanasi it is essential to discover and explore the ''old city' and the ghats the steps leading to the holy Ganges and the ghats the steps leading to holy Ganges. The hotel Palace on steps ,located at a prime location in the holy city, holds the distinction of having the maximum number of rooms offering an unparallelled view of the Ganges. Besides the hotel is a true balanced blend of luxury and comfort for the travelers ready to experience Varanasi in all its glory interestingly the hotel is designed aesthetically with a touch of true Indian history as showcased in the castle design which dates back about 400years. therefore the guest have an attraction of experiencing the splendor of medieval Indian architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace on Steps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace On Steps Hotel Varanasi
Palace On Stepss Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing