We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven”
Review of Shiva Ganges View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shiva Ganges View
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A peaceful haven”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

After 2 weeks of travel from the south and experiencing mostly dirty , noisy and sub-standard accommodation which was nothing like described in the guide books , it was a delight to be collected from the station and arrive at Shiva Ganges View.The rooms were spotless , we had no problems with the air-conditioning, hot water was plentiful. Mrs Tandon's cooking was wonderful , the food fresh and tasty and she even made special Indian dishes not on the menu which we asked to try. We had 2 adjoining rooms , high ceilinged and full of character .From the balconies we watched monkeys and mongoose in the trees and the amazing parade of life along the Ganges. There may be cheaper places to stay but we were happy to spend a few extra dollars for the unique experience of being in a traditional family home rather than an impersonal hotel.The staff were friendly and helpful. I note others' comments about "hard sell " etc. My suggestion is you make clear what your budget is for "guided tours "and If you do not wish to visit shops or silk factories just say so . We found Mr. Tandon-Ji kind and helpful and Mr. Gopal went out of his way to arrange everything that we wanted to experience .Also highly recommend the deep tissue / ayurvedic massage from Mr. Pradeep Sharma.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    92
    32
    17
    14
See reviews for
35
110
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The location is great, right on the river with balconies and views. The rooms might have a little too much character - we were lucky enough to get a Mickey Mouse Cuckoo Clock and a number of over loved teddy bears in our room. Unfortunately guides arranged through the hotel are no less hassle than on the street, with much time wasted "passionately negotiating" to get to where you want to go, as opposed to a string of stores they want to take you to - I would recommend making your own arrangements. However we found transfers to and from the hotel to be hassle free and reliable. Try the Lotus Lounge next door the hotel, the food is safe, fresh and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiao-heilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2010

stayed on new years eve, got a great deal on a 2 night stay w/breakfast in the morning. the breakfast was outstanding, not normal hotel food at all, even better than any indian breakfast. location is great, plenty to do,. staff very friendly, rooms were good, nothing spectacular, room had all amenities ....and place place of the hotel is the Balcony from each room .....awesome view of ganges..............
The rooms were neat and well kept. I think this is the best place in India for stay.......and tondon is a kind and very nice person ...............he arranges live music concert for us .....and that was free........awesome....i was reading all the review abt this guest house ....and i didnt understand why people are complaing .......this is India man ..........here nothing is superficial or fancy ......this is the place where emotions exists...love exists care exists ..........and I found everything in this guest house .........Tondon jee is very caring and Lovable person .....and he made our india visit just Awesome !

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

The service here is pretty good and it's also pretty clean. The rooms are also pretty cute. The man running it is straight forward, honest and very helpful.

For the price, 2500 rupees, the rooms and beds aren't very comfortable, there are some bed bugs and mosquitoes, and there's quite a bit of humidity in the air, and breakfast was not included, but I guess that's the way it goes in India. There is no internet service at all. We liked but but it's certainly overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malmn1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We're a young couple in our late 20s and we stayed here over christmas... the guest house is perfectly okay and it's location is great.
However, it is expensive for what it is and we found that the owner is out to rip you off.
We didn't have any hot water - COLD SHOWERS the whole time. - if this happens to you make sure you ask for a discount off your room.
DO NOT take a guide from the guest house - we did and it was HOPELESS. they couldn't speak english and were expensive.
The food is terrible - i would advise to go next door to the Lotus Lounge for breakfast - really good.
Varanasi is a really interesting place and worth a visit but i would honestly advise that 2 days is plenty to explore the ganges and a few other sites around the city.
Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pingpong2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I stayed in shiva ganges view on dec 28 to 1st of jan2009,
the guest house is in the wonderful location just near the ganges ghat .I enjoyed a lot .the home made thali was just amezing! i always remember tandonji smils and his caring atitude.
the guest house is very old constructed look like a palace kind of big cieling big balcony overlooking ganges.its value for money !

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank abhi_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We staiyed 2 nights in AC rooms. Views are ok, thas the only good point.
Bathrooms where probably the worst we have seen in our 20 day trip to India. Most of the time in cheaper hotels/guesthouses. The toilet expulse water every time you use it!. The shower inundate the bathroom and even the room.
The owner is allways with a fake smile advising you not to be cheat for 'man in the street'. The fact is that he wants to cheat you by himself: 2 hour boat trip for 4 people=1.000 Rs at the hotel, the same is 400 Rs before bargain at the ghats!!! Lucky we ask first.
A couple of boat men and shop owners close to the guesthouse advice us about beeing cheated by the owner, thats the reputation he has.
It's very overpriced, 3.500 Rs. We met a friend of us at Ganpati guest house who was paying half with the same views in a beautifull house.
The roof terrace is empy except 4 chairs and a table in very bad conditions. No shade.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 79 in Varanasi
1,183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 79 in Varanasi
2,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 79 in Varanasi
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
0.5 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Ganges View

Property: Shiva Ganges View
Address: Mansarovar Ghat B - 14/24 | Near Andhra Ashram, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Shiva Ganges View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Ganges View Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing