We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and average.”
Review of Shiva Ganges View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shiva Ganges View
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overpriced and average.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We left after our 3 days at this hotel not very happy. We had one of the top floor rooms in the hotel which cost us 5,000rps a night for what we were assured was a 'great view'. It turned out that the rooms on the top floor seemed to have the worst views in the hotel. Each of the rooms had a side on view on the river which was not what we were expecting for 5,000rps a night. The cheaper mid floor rooms had views straight over the river which seemed far superior.

The hotel itself is well located just off the ghats and the room was large, clean and came with mosquito nets. The hotel had several faults though. The room didn't have a phone which when you're 4 floors up is a problem if you'd like room service or any help. The shower was a dribble and sometimes not even that. The wifi didn't work in the room and sometimes just didn't work at all. We had lunch at the hotel when we first arrived and lets just say that we didn't eat in again (nb. the Lotus Lounge just next door does great food). None of these points would matter much in a basic hotel but this hotel costs a lot of money and therefore I'd expect more. The lady who runs the hotel is lovely but her husband is pushy and verging on rude (think Victor Meldrew). It says above the front door 'Guest is God', this is defiantly not the vibe that the manager portrays. It seemed to us like the manger was just after our money and that customer service was too much hassle.

The boat ride which is suggested to you when you first arrive costs 250rps per person this is over double the cost of what we found when speaking to local boatmen (100rps per person seemed about average). I wouldn't believe it when the hotel tell you that if you organise your own boat then the boatmen will rip you off and ruin your experience by hassling you, this is not true. The several boat rides that we arranged ourselves were great and much better value.

I would not recommend this hotel mainly due to the attitude of the manager and the over exaggerated price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonLadyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    91
    32
    17
    14
See reviews for
34
109
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olching
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I´ve been staying for 6 nights at this place, and although it is probably a bit pricy, it´s a very clean and well kept hotel with a friendly and helpful management.
When I became ill, the manager called a doctor who arrived at the hotel within 10 minutes! He also helped me to organize a car rental.
Surely above average.
A great terrace restaurant, especially for breakfast, is just around the corner, right of the hotel.
It has a fantastic view across the Ganges river.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are not as nice as the upper level rooms, but cheaper....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kugelspinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was on the ground floor. It was spacious and very clean. The owner, was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. It is a real retreat from the hustle and bustle of Varanasi. The location is great, near restaurants and the rooms all have a view of the Ganges. We would definitely stay at this guesthouse again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pc3245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here for three nights on my trip to India. It is a clean, traditional and well run property. Location is excellent, close to the River Ganges. Varanasi is full of alleys and narrow streets. I think the best of enjoying the city is to stay near the Ganges. The owner Tandonji helped us a lot in exploring the city & also explained the history of this ancient city..... just be aware of local touts who will be always looking for tourist business...
so just take a boat n experience sunrise.\ and evening Aarti....

Room Tip: Try to take the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_apple_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Tour of India included Varanasi. Our stay at Shiva Ganges View was a nice addition to our trip. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and food was very good. Location is right on ghats with spectacular view of river. Tandonji, the owner and godfather, was friendly and a wealth of info about what to do and see. Contrary to some of the reviews, he is not pushy. He arranged our morning boat ride as well as a couple of excellent massages. I have read the recent reviews and am very surprised at some of the complaints. This is INDIA. Of course, the staff will try to solicit business, and why should the rooms be ultra-cheap. Politely take it or leave it. I have traveled across India for more than 25 years. Shiva Ganges View is a chance to experience a wonderful Indian flavor guest house.

Room Tip: Top floor is best if you don't mind the walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthursmith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I'm writing this review, at the owner's request. My husband and I stayed at Hotel Ganges View for 2 nights in February 2012, choosing it because it was a Lonely Planet 'our pick' and in the midrange price category. The location was great, right on the ghats and adjacent to where there were lots of boats. As well, right next door was a great restaurant, the Lotus, where we ate dinner. The view was very good, although it wasn't as good a view as what what I'd hoped and wasn't as good a view as what we got while sitting on and walking along the ghats. As well, the chicken wire that surrounded our balcony, no doubt to keep the monkeys and pigeons out, spoiled the view a little. While we would have preferred a room on the main floor, as the cost of the rooms goes up with each floor, when, in advance of our trip, I added a night to our stay, we could no longer get either the main floor or even a 2nd story room. This made our stay the most expensive of our 51/2 week trip. Compared to other hotels, this one was definitely overpriced. The room itself was sufficiently roomy and was very clean and bright, as was the bathroom. We ate lunch at the hotel one day and had breakfasts in the morning, eating at a private table just outside our room - which was very pleasant, and found the food to be delicious and serving staff to be very friendly. What made this hotel very different from any other hotel we've stayed in was the owner. Another TA reviewer called him 'godfather-like' and that's exactly what he was like. Most of all, we figured he was interested in getting as much of our tourist business as possible. Prior to our trip to India, we had arranged for a driver for our entire stay in India. When the owner found out about this he told us how disappointed he was that we had made arrangements for a city tour with a non-local tour operator, as he also arranged city tours. He repeated this again on our departure. He also suggested on several occasions that he could arrange a boat tour for us, but as we wanted to pay our boat operators directly so they'd benefit the most, we declined and when we went out in the early morning for a boat ride felt we had to slip out quickly to avoid any conversation with him. He was certainly not your usual friendly hotel owner, that's for sure. As for whether we'd recommend this hotel, I'd say if you could get a room on the first or maybe second floor and if you are willing to put up with the less than friendly owner - sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iris237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

After traveling in India for two month, this was the worse and most expensive guest house. The room was not clean, the toilet dirty, but the view was great. The owner was terrible unfriendly and told us to leave after we tried to give him some feedback. Most expensive place wie stayed in two month and really Not worse the money! There are many other nice guest houses which we discovered on our last day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 74 in Varanasi
1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 74 in Varanasi
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.4 mi away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#16 of 74 in Varanasi
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Ganges View

Property: Shiva Ganges View
Address: Mansarovar Ghat B - 14/24 | Near Andhra Ashram, Varanasi 221001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shiva Ganges View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiva Ganges View Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing