We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bueno bonito y barato”
Review of Hotel Alka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alka
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bueno bonito y barato”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We got the room with ac & no balcony. But there is no need for it, considering that their terrace is very nice, and has an excellent view of the ganges.
Everything was clean, comfortable beds & Good service.

Getting there is a little tricky at first since u have to walk, but if u ask around everyone will guide u and there are signs on the streets

Ps. their vegetarian restaurant is very good!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    472
    158
    65
    56
See reviews for
215
361
219
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Alka is an excellent option for a short stay in Varanasi. We were asked to look at a few choices for rooms, a nice touch (but indicative it was not the high season) and selected a side room on the top floor. Our small balcony overlooked the Ganges River and several ghats, including the major Dashashwamedh Ghat. Getting to the hotel is a major challenge unless you have arranged for someone from Alka to meet you at the main road. We didn't, and got completely lost in the maze of alleys that is the old city. The Blue Lassi is better signposted!
Courtyard restaurant was fine for food and service, staff were most helpful, and the place was quite busy for high summer season. Everything worked in the room, except of course when the power is cut, a ubiquitous event in India nowadays. A good, honest accommodation property, not flash but neither is Varanasi.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and choose a top floor room for the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwonderful07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Alka had a lovely view over the Ganges from the terrace however the rooms weren't amazing. We were staying more budget and were in the basement where the room smelt a bit damp and the bed sheets didn't smell too clean.
We initially asked to see the shared bathrooms which as a warning are quite at away from the rooms and don't have a western toilet.

Overall it's not a bad place but it's the location and view that would bring is back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Epatton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This a nice hotel. Like most in Varanasi a little out of the way to get to. It has a nice central communal area for eating and viewing the Ganges.

The meals that we ate here were very good and the service was also good.

A very relaxed atmosphere.

I have rated 'Fitness Centre' in error, there isn't one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverfoxMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

So it has a good location and the price is not too bad for their cheaper rooms.
But our shower was cold sometimes, some of the hotel personnel were unfriendly (especially toward women) and my girlfriend and I got sick of the papad masala we ordered at their restaurant.
If you keep these things in mind and be carefull about uncooked food, you'll enjoy their terrace and find that it's an excellent base for exploring this crazy city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellinJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

hotel is simple but good, location is just perfect, near ganga, you just have to go down few steps and you are near ganga; overview of ganga when you eat at the restaurant on terrace, for me it was very important; people now this hotel so if you are lost you can ask everyone they'll know the hotel (which is important !)
Food is good, indian and continental, staff very ok;
Only negative thing is that they hadn t clean my room when i came back despite i let them my key and request for cleaning ; they had all day to do it..
Careful also hotel is closed after like 9h30 10 pm, so you have to wake up staff if you come back a litle late;
You ll pay more if you want a room with ganga view, what i did; so i haven't experienced the most lower prices rooms, but the one with ganga view is ok, bed ok, tv, no complain :); careful i saw rooms on ground floor that gives directly on retaurant terrace, i wouldn t have liked this, no privacy and i imagine it can be noisy; mine was on high floor, so quiet and perfect, and you have a little terrace linked to your room where you admire the view and smoke a cigarette :) you can use their computer with internet, but i find it expensive, and also expensive if you want to print something; you can connect your phone on their internet network, works fine; i really liked this hotel, felt good and secure as i was traveling as a single girl it's important!
Careful: you have different yoga training centers near hotel; one is apparently good and recommended by guide books; i apparently did a mistake and went to another one.. the guy tried to touch me on body parts i can t mention here to avoid this being censored .. i ran away and wanted to go to the police and i was so shocked i didn want to come back for my money refund (i paid the guy day before in advance) so this horrible guy had 1000 roupies from me ..hopefully i paid in advance only 1000 rupeed, he wanted 6000;;
Be careful which yoga training center you go to!
You have also the best lassi in vanarassi and may in all india called "blue lassie", very close to the hotel, 3 minutes walk; please don t miss it, it's fantastic, to die for!
to sum up: good good hotel :)

Room Tip: no ground floor on terrace and restaurant, looks noisy and no pivacy; ask for a high floor; ganga vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHANNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Varanasi. The location is perfect with immediate vicinity to the ghats and Ganges. In addition, the view from the garden/eating area over the river is stunning. The rooms were very cleaned and well maintained. Visited in Feb 2013 but didn't write the review until now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 77 in Varanasi
2,071 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 77 in Varanasi
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 77 in Varanasi
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#12 of 77 in Varanasi
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 77 in Varanasi
426 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alka

Property: Hotel Alka
Address: Meer Ghat D 3/23 | Dashashwamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#2 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alka, a synonym for customer-oriented services from years, believes in providing an adorable environment to its guests, where not only they find peace in dwelling but also experience a the highest degree of dedication from the staff. And what more can one ask for? Hotel Alka is located right in the core of Varanasi, a place where even holiness is re-defined. Its evidently a must visit place for all in life. Varanasi (the ancient Kashi or the medieval Banaras) is one of the oldest cities of the world and is considered to be favourite, of even the almighty. Varanasi's prominence in Hindu mythology is virtually unrivalled. Mark Twain, the celebrated English author , who was enthralled by the legend and sanctity of Banaras, once wrote : "Banaras is older than history, older than tradition, older even than legend and looks twice as old as all of them put together." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Alka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alka Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing