We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alka
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Buddha(Varanasi)
$31
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$51
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$30
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$68
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ganpati Guest House(Varanasi)(Great Value!)
$22
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,288)
Filter reviews
1,288 results
Traveler rating
466
512
177
74
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
512
177
74
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal viewthe rivermukesh sharmameer ghatthe hotel staffprivate balconyold citytrain stationhotel restaurantexcellent viewnarrow lanesspecial thanksairport pickbudget hotelfantastic locationhot waterboat ride
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,288 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Alka had a lovely view over the Ganges from the terrace however the rooms weren't amazing. We were staying more budget and were in the basement where the room smelt a bit damp and the bed sheets didn't smell too clean.
We initially asked to see the shared bathrooms which as a warning are quite at away from the rooms and don't have a western toilet.

Overall it's not a bad place but it's the location and view that would bring is back.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Epatton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This a nice hotel. Like most in Varanasi a little out of the way to get to. It has a nice central communal area for eating and viewing the Ganges.

The meals that we ate here were very good and the service was also good.

A very relaxed atmosphere.

I have rated 'Fitness Centre' in error, there isn't one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverfoxMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

So it has a good location and the price is not too bad for their cheaper rooms.
But our shower was cold sometimes, some of the hotel personnel were unfriendly (especially toward women) and my girlfriend and I got sick of the papad masala we ordered at their restaurant.
If you keep these things in mind and be carefull about uncooked food, you'll enjoy their terrace and find that it's an excellent base for exploring this crazy city.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravellinJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

hotel is simple but good, location is just perfect, near ganga, you just have to go down few steps and you are near ganga; overview of ganga when you eat at the restaurant on terrace, for me it was very important; people now this hotel so if you are lost you can ask everyone they'll know the hotel (which is important !)
Food is good, indian and continental, staff very ok;
Only negative thing is that they hadn t clean my room when i came back despite i let them my key and request for cleaning ; they had all day to do it..
Careful also hotel is closed after like 9h30 10 pm, so you have to wake up staff if you come back a litle late;
You ll pay more if you want a room with ganga view, what i did; so i haven't experienced the most lower prices rooms, but the one with ganga view is ok, bed ok, tv, no complain :); careful i saw rooms on ground floor that gives directly on retaurant terrace, i wouldn t have liked this, no privacy and i imagine it can be noisy; mine was on high floor, so quiet and perfect, and you have a little terrace linked to your room where you admire the view and smoke a cigarette :) you can use their computer with internet, but i find it expensive, and also expensive if you want to print something; you can connect your phone on their internet network, works fine; i really liked this hotel, felt good and secure as i was traveling as a single girl it's important!
Careful: you have different yoga training centers near hotel; one is apparently good and recommended by guide books; i apparently did a mistake and went to another one.. the guy tried to touch me on body parts i can t mention here to avoid this being censored .. i ran away and wanted to go to the police and i was so shocked i didn want to come back for my money refund (i paid the guy day before in advance) so this horrible guy had 1000 roupies from me ..hopefully i paid in advance only 1000 rupeed, he wanted 6000;;
Be careful which yoga training center you go to!
You have also the best lassi in vanarassi and may in all india called "blue lassie", very close to the hotel, 3 minutes walk; please don t miss it, it's fantastic, to die for!
to sum up: good good hotel :)

Room Tip: no ground floor on terrace and restaurant, looks noisy and no pivacy; ask for a high floor; ganga view with a little terrace is great (a little more expensive, but think it's worth it)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHANNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Varanasi. The location is perfect with immediate vicinity to the ghats and Ganges. In addition, the view from the garden/eating area over the river is stunning. The rooms were very cleaned and well maintained. Visited in Feb 2013 but didn't write the review until now.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gl893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews