We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alka
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Varanasi. The location is perfect with immediate vicinity to the ghats and Ganges. In addition, the view from the garden/eating area over the river is stunning. The rooms were very cleaned and well maintained. Visited in Feb 2013 but didn't write the review until now.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gl893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    461
    151
    62
    55
See reviews for
205
352
215
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved Alka, staff were very helpful and room was good, with amazing views. Location right on the Ghat was awesome :) Also met a great young boatman called Kelly who I would recommend, let us row his boat for a bit :) and was very open with his own story.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBarrett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a much overdue review of Hotel Alka in Varanasi. We stayed there for 3 nights in January and have nothing but wonderful things to say about our stay. We arrived early in the morning and were able to get into our room right away (this was about 7:30am). The location of the hotel was perfect, easy to reach the Ganges & great location in regards to the Old Town. The staff were all very kind and helpful (including reception, restaurant, travel help, buying tickets, etc...). This was the second place we stayed on our first visit to India and they did a wonderful job of making us feel comfortable here. One of our favorite parts of our stay here was the day trip we organized through the hotel. It was very reasonably priced and we really got a lot out of it. It actually ended up being spread over three days, a boat trip in the evening, a day trip through other parts in Varanasi and a final boat trip the next morning. Have nothing but great things to say about this tour. Would 100% recommend Hotel Alka & all of the services they provide to anyone travelling in India!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRKELLA,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

With a room and balcony overlooking the main ghat on Ganges, clean room, ours being a special one , good staff and home cooked food- we can't be more happier to provide excellent feedback for alka hotel. Munna is a dear friend now and a good guide.. Highly recommend . Do make sure u book room with balcony Abd inform hotel about ur arrival flight times - they help getting u through the streets of " downtown" Varanasi with volunteers to carry luggage as cars cannot negotiate the last 1km of the journey. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We chose Alka after reading other reviews and we weren't disappointed. Our room had a balcony overlooking the ghats so we could watch all the activity on the river. We were picked up at the railway station and brought as far as possible in an AC car after which we were met by more hotel staff who carried our bags the remaining 10 minute walk to the hotel.The restaurant seemed to be open all day and the staff were attentive and friendly. A special mention to our excellent guide Munna who put together a package of activities and sightseeing over the 2 days we were there. These included an evening and early morning row boat ride up and down the Ganges which were probably the highlight of our 3 week trip around India. Our room was basic but clean and we were grateful for the AC as the temperature reached 46 degrees on both days. For anyone who wants a true taste of India this is the place!.

Room Tip: Ask for AC with a balcony view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Good location...next to Ganga river was the best for me.
Walk to river in the morning and afternoon. or night to watch fire ceremony .
You watch sunrise also every morning from balcony of hotel.
But you have to walk 15 minuates to your taxi to airport.
Hotel staff helped me carring with my backpack.
Many foreign guests from all over the world...
True vegitarian restaurant .
Don't even think about one boiled egg...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myeongjin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewanee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Alka. We stayed there for 9 days in March and it may have been the best place we've stayed in over 4 months so far of our RTW trip.

When we all three got sick while we were there (not from their food), Raj (the head of the restaurant) advised us of how to take care of ourselves and what to eat/not eat to get better. He brought us special foods and concoctions and they even brought food and drink to our room- whatever they could do to help us. Muna, the concierge, was incredibly helpful with any information we needed- buying train tickets, taking tours of Varanasi, directions, etc. And Kuran was such a great waiter at the restaurant- he taught us so much Hindi! He would write down words each day for us to learn. Thank you, Kuran Bhai!

As for the rooms, they were comfortable, not luxurious. We stayed in their best room, the Heritage Room, for most of the nights; I recommend it if you have 3 people since it is large. Since we stayed longer than we planned, we had to change to three different rooms since they tried so hard to find us a place to stay there. After looking over all of Varanasi, we couldn't find a place that even came close to Alka's location and view and kind staff. We didn't want to leave! We did stay one night in a room without an attached bathroom, which was clean and bright but inconvenient. And our last few nights were in a second-floor room that was smaller than the Heritage room but had an attached bathroom and less than half the price; we probably liked it best.

But as for location, Alka is the best. We were there for Holi and because the balcony juts out over the ghats, it gives you a bird's-eye view of the ghats, the Ganges, and beyond. Just beautiful. We could watch the fun of Holi but not get bombarded ourselves. Great for picture taking.

The dining is all outside in the internal courtyard and it never got to hot (we were there in March). I highly recommend this hotel after finding nothing else like it in Varanasi. And be sure to ask Raj for a mixed-fruit lassi! Oh, and the food at the restaurant was incredible- all vegetarian, all delicious and fresh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 73 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#12 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alka

Property: Hotel Alka
Address: Meer Ghat D 3/23 | Dashashwamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#1 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alka, a synonym for customer-oriented services from years, believes in providing an adorable environment to its guests, where not only they find peace in dwelling but also experience a the highest degree of dedication from the staff. And what more can one ask for? Hotel Alka is located right in the core of Varanasi, a place where even holiness is re-defined. Its evidently a must visit place for all in life. Varanasi (the ancient Kashi or the medieval Banaras) is one of the oldest cities of the world and is considered to be favourite, of even the almighty. Varanasi's prominence in Hindu mythology is virtually unrivalled. Mark Twain, the celebrated English author , who was enthralled by the legend and sanctity of Banaras, once wrote : "Banaras is older than history, older than tradition, older even than legend and looks twice as old as all of them put together." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Alka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alka Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing