We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, concierge was very helpfull”
Review of Hotel Alka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alka
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed At Alka Hotel for 3 nights. I have overall great experience with service personal, they were very helpful. If you need city or boat tour to book to do it through hotel is recommended.
Location of the Hotel is excellent, right on the river Ganga, walking distance to main Ghats and shopping area. My room has A/C but never tried it. Because my window was open, in the evenings I could hear people talking on the porch area. Overall would book this hotel again for next visit.
Greg from Florida USA

Room Tip: I payed 1200 IRP for room with master bathroom,unfortunately hot water lasted for 10 min only. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

We came to Varanasi with much apprehension after being told by our friends about the various religious ceremonies and flocks of animals (and their poo) along the river. We were also warned how photos of the hotels can be misleading compared to the actual situation. Hence, we were fearing for our health and safety when we reached Varanasi.

Much to our relief, the driver from Alka Hotel was very friendly and introduced to us all the various places/buildings along the way. We were very mesmerized by the busy night street markets but the young porters were very responsible with our luggages though we were lagging behind.

We found our room to be cleaner and fresher than we expected (very different from horror stories we were told!). The hotel staff were very helpful in giving advice readily. We had a wonderful guide who accompanied us on our night walk (9-10pm) along the streets. He could not speak much English, but he was very gracious in ensuring our safety in the midst of the busy traffic. The manager was also very friendly - he came by during our meal time to make sure we were satisfied and went on to explain aspects of the Indian culture to us.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineseahzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and I have to say that we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was really friendly, the location is amazing and the rooms were clean (not spotless but clean). The only small downside is the prize- compared to other places we visited in India it was quite expensive.. but I guess it's all about location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnAn1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent location with terrace overlooking all the action on the Ghats. Very good value, efficient laundry service and help with getting a SIM card & special thank you to Sanjay for getting our train tickets to Gaya against the odds. Overall a lovely 3 nights and relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some rooms around the Terrace so maybe not as private as the ones on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. It was my experience first experience of Indian hospitality. Very helpful staff - from booking train tickets to taxis to wise local advice. Really useful when arranging things are a little complicated (understatement!) Great location on Ganges in old city. A happy experience in the heart of Varanasi. We slept like babies but some people may chose to take a room on the 1st floor instead of ground floor. We'd happily return. Oh, and great menu!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joost L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Location is very close to Ganga Aarti venue of Dashameshwar Ghat and Shri Vishwanath Temple. Terrace restaurant overlooking the river is absolutely fantastic. Food is testy. People are very good and always eager to help and guide you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunilJoshi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The staff are very friendly with great customer service skills. The manager made time to say hello to everyone in the morning and ask how we were and knew everyone by name. The day tour was very educational and interesting with no hassles or rushing. Great advice given by the staff.

Overall a very friendly atmosphere and felt very taken care of.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanyaSakharov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 87 in Varanasi
2,190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#24 of 87 in Varanasi
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 87 in Varanasi
277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#15 of 87 in Varanasi
312 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alka

Address: Meer Ghat D 3/23 | Dashashwamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range: $11 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alka, a synonym for customer-oriented services from years, believes in providing an adorable environment to its guests, where not only they find peace in dwelling but also experience a the highest degree of dedication from the staff. And what more can one ask for? Hotel Alka is located right in the core of Varanasi, a place where even holiness is re-defined. Its evidently a must visit place for all in life. Varanasi (the ancient Kashi or the medieval Banaras) is one of the oldest cities of the world and is considered to be favourite, of even the almighty. Varanasi's prominence in Hindu mythology is virtually unrivalled. Mark Twain, the celebrated English author , who was enthralled by the legend and sanctity of Banaras, once wrote : "Banaras is older than history, older than tradition, older even than legend and looks twice as old as all of them put together." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Alka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alka Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing