We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Alka - Excellant Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Alka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alka
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2011

After searching many hotels in Varanasi, I just zeroed in to Hotel Alka and believe me, I am absolutely satisfied my choice i damn good. I stayed with my family for 2 nights ( 21 - 22 May 2011) in a spacious ganges facing , pvt balcony , double bed AC room (Room No 112). The cleanliness is good, service is excellant (as the hotel is having its own restaurent), location tooo good. The hotel is in Meer Ghat and its a 5 min walking distance to the famous Kashi Vishwanath Temple. Take the services of the hotel staff if you want to visit the temple and also if you want a boat ride. (Rs 45 per person, no charges for the children) otherwise you may have to shell 400-500 rupees. I recommend that you should have a try at their restaurent also, the food quality is good but allow them a few minutes to prepare. In all, my overall experience is pretty good.

Room Tip: Room Number 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Alka for 3 nights in November 2010. It has a great location right on the river. We stayed in an "Alka Royal Room". Despite the name, the room itself was fairly basic, but comfortable. The best feature was a little balcony with a great view overlooking the ghats and the river. Perfect for watching the boats along the river at sunrise. If you don't have a room with a balcony, there are still great views from the rooftop area where they serve the meals. The food at the hotel restaurant was okay, but not outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garryoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

this place is no palace. But anyways, you wont find a palace near the ghats.
It has the best location and view from terrace. The restaurant is alright, we ate there a lot. They also serve cold beer.the service takes forever but there are very nice and friendly.
The manager is very nice, takes good care of clients and always great you by your name. A woman came in, she wasn't feeling well ( didn't like Varanasi) they took great care of her, arrange ( free) tour for her w one of the staff...
If you are looking for a fancy 5 stars, avoid. But they have a range of rooms that varry a lot. From simple, shared bathroom to big, comfy, balcony , ac, rooms. The prices are very fare.

I would go back there if i go back to Varanasi. And we met very nice ppl, from everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karine3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Alka in April for 2 nights. Suggest to arrange pickup from the hotel for arrival as it's not easy to find.

Location - good, few steps to the main ghat and walking distance to the main road. the patio and balcony overlooking the Ganga.. Small shops selling waters/ snacks and drinks just outside the hotel.
Room - average, air-con. basic room (no electricity sometimes, think it's usual in Varanasi) but the bed sheet was not very clean and no blanket was provided.
Restaurant - can find better outside.

Must book in advance as it's always full. I would recommend this hotel if for a short and budget stay in Varanasi

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The place has a good roof top restaurant and bar (serves beer) and is located well for sightseeing, but it is nothing special. The communal bathrooms are a bit dirty. I felt like I could have found better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James_N_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I picked the Alka from TA and was not disappointed, to say the least.
We booked by email about two weeks before we hit India and arranged a pickup from the train station. I would recommend that you book ahead for the alka. This is fairly important as the Alka could be a little hard to find (it's on the Meer ghat) if it's your first time in Varanasi. The train (Delhi to Varanasi) was 3 hours late but the guy was still there waiting and the pick up was a 100 rupees, money well spent indeed!
The hotel is situated right on the Meer ghat, which is about 2 ghats up from the Main ghat and about 3 ghats away from the burning ghat.
There are a variety of rooms you can stay in, ranging from 400 Rs for a fan room without a view and a shared bathroom up to 1700rs for a view over the ghats with aircon, own bathroom, hot water etc. Whichever room you get, you are only metres away from a sensational view over the Ganges. We lashed out a chose the 1700Rs room, which was sensational. It was massive, very clean and had its own little balcony from where you could watch the sunrise over the river. Something to note; if you look at the hotel pictures, you can see two "wings" jutting out over the ganges with rooms. If you stay at the top, on the left of the picture, you get the best rooms and the biggest balcony, but this is not a private balcony and is used by everybody as it has the best views. However, if you stay at the top on the right 'wing' you get your own small, but excellent balcony with great views. If you go in April, I suggest you spend the extra money and get aircon, you will need it.
All rooms look over a central courtyard/restaurant. LP said that there had been some problems with the food, though we ate there regularly had had no problems. You can get beer at the Alka, which is a bit of a rarity in Varanasi. You can't get alcohol in many places at all.
The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and were happy to answer questions and help out whenever they could. If you are going to stay here, i recommend that you book ahead. When we booked, they didn't require any payment up front, just when we checked out.
Like all hotels in india that we stayed in and booked ahead, I sent a number of emails requesting information and confirmation with dates, train times etc. I found that this tends to make sure that you actually have a room when you get there. Print out the emails and take them with you:)
Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laverysean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Good budget option with an excellent view of the Ganges... the hotel is riverside and the back patio overlooks the river and you can get some great sunrises there. Access to the ghats is right around the corner (2 minute walk) and staff is pretty good. Getting to the hotel can be an issue as taxi's/tuk tuks cannot make it there (streets too narrow, built pre-automotive) and the winding alleys can get confusing. The taxi that dropped us off ended up arranging for porters to carry some of our bags in the heat as well as lead the way because trying to find the place in the Indian sun carrying a bunch of bags would not have been fun..... at all.

Pros:
EXCELLENT location
Good pricing (depending on option you select)
Staff helpful (helped book train tix to Delhi)
Internet on site

Cons:
Food not that great
Local "flycatchers" outside hotel doors trying to sell you trips and boat rides just about every time you step outside

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gred78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0 mi away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 87 in Varanasi
2,207 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#23 of 87 in Varanasi
206 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Temple on Ganges
Hotel Temple on Ganges
#18 of 87 in Varanasi
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#12 of 87 in Varanasi
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Palace on the River, Rashmi Guest House
1.2 mi away
Hotel Buddha
Hotel Buddha
#8 of 87 in Varanasi
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alka

Address: Meer Ghat D 3/23 | Dashashwamedh, Varanasi 221001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range: $11 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alka 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alka, a synonym for customer-oriented services from years, believes in providing an adorable environment to its guests, where not only they find peace in dwelling but also experience a the highest degree of dedication from the staff. And what more can one ask for? Hotel Alka is located right in the core of Varanasi, a place where even holiness is re-defined. Its evidently a must visit place for all in life. Varanasi (the ancient Kashi or the medieval Banaras) is one of the oldest cities of the world and is considered to be favourite, of even the almighty. Varanasi's prominence in Hindu mythology is virtually unrivalled. Mark Twain, the celebrated English author , who was enthralled by the legend and sanctity of Banaras, once wrote : "Banaras is older than history, older than tradition, older even than legend and looks twice as old as all of them put together." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Alka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alka Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing