We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poisoning, disinterested staff, room ok”
Review of Hotel Haifa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Haifa
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed April 5, 2013

While trying to check in staff didn't bother to look up or even acknowledge us, they were busy on their mobile phones and counting money. They seemed annoyed that we had turned up and interupted them.
We had a room on the first floor where the wifi worked. Room ok, we had hot water and it was clean, but we had booked an a/c room and ended up with only a fan room. It wasn't that hot so it didn't matter but they should give you what you have paid for.
We only ate in their restaurant.and ended up with severe food poisoning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bron02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 246 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was definitely not the greatest value. . . it was quite expensive compared with its competitors. But it was nice, the room was clean, we had a great balcony, and the mediterranean breakfast was delicious (but not free).

It's in a very quiet neighbourhood about a half-hour walk from the main action in Varanasi. This is a bad thing if you're looking to be in the heart of things, but a very good thing if you want to avoid the heightened chaos that is Varanasi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Worst place I've staid in India - we booked the executive room which was double the price and I was allocated a standard room - only after talking to a manager and saying that our room is not anything like the photo on the website we were moved to a different room in an annex which was still under construction- the room was a bit better - we had no hot water one day and had to move room once again - the staff were not friendly at all - we booked a taxi to the train station and was told 300 rupees and when i went back to pay was asked for 500 - this was the attitude - even for money changing -
The location is good - walking distance to the river.
If you are taking a boat trip be prepared to pay around 600 rupees x boat -
Near by here is a good pizzeria overlooking the Gange - food was good and resonantly priced.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank fabrizioparmeggiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lived nearby for a year and got to know the staff. Honest and helpful. Best value by far in Assi area. fillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfillfill

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zachrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location and is reason enough to stay there. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though slightly overpriced. The quality of rooms can vary so ask to see several and choose the best one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indiatravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

For the price we were placed in a room which is still under construction, the room was much overpriced.

Stuff unfriendly and always on phones and mobile phone which leads to forgotten orders etc...

Room was in an annex which was still not finished

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishnadehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed for a month at the Hotel Haifa. It is a clearn, well-run hotel in a great location. I went there because I needed wifi for work, and was assured via email that rooms had wifi. HOWEVER, when I arrived, I was told wifi was only in the office, which is dark and often full with tour groups. The staff, though, found a way to accomodate me by putting me on the first floor near the office where the wifi came through very well. The room was clean, and had a balcony which was very nice. However, the staff, while very competent, is not very helpful or outgoing (at times, the lobby feels almost unwelcoming and needs to be renovated). Moreover, while the location is extremely convenient and near good food and the river, it is on a major street so that in February, there was the almost constant blare of music or loudspeakers and fireworks for weddings and various festivals. I was actually fine with this, as I am a fan of loud Indian celebrations, but I heard many people complaining about it. Also, you could hear people in the rooms nearby quite clearly. I woudl definitely stay there again, but might look for a better value if noise were a concern. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEdleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ganesha
Hotel Ganesha
#22 of 79 in Varanasi
196 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gautam Hotel
Gautam Hotel
#36 of 79 in Varanasi
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Divya
Hotel Divya
#64 of 79 in Varanasi
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn
Hotel Heritage Inn
#15 of 79 in Varanasi
529 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sarweshwary
Hotel Sarweshwary
#24 of 79 in Varanasi
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivera Palace
Hotel Rivera Palace
#18 of 79 in Varanasi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haifa

Address: B 1/107, Assi, Varanasi 222005, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range: $19 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haifa 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Hotel Haifa And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing